We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair Rigg Far Sawrey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakelovers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakelovers
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair Rigg Far Sawrey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This property is absolutely stunning, offering beautifully furnished accommodation, well equipped for all needs.

Te views are stunning and the location is peaceful yet in easy reach of many attractions and beauty spots. The numerous comments in the guest book speak for themselves several visitors return and all commend it for the home from home feel experienced while staying there. The local milk man is a gem delivering everything from bird food to kindling and coal. I have never stayed in better holiday cottage throughout many years of UK holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Fair Rigg, Far Sawrey. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased that you and your guests had a thoroughly enjoyable time. We love your tip about the local milkman who seems to supply just about everything. We look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    84
    35
    22
    26
See reviews for
251
207
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA U.S.A.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is my unconditional superb review of the LakeLovers Vacation Rental Management Company in Ambleside/Bowness-on-Windemere, United Kingdom. I rented the Birchcroft Cottage, # 3 Church Street, Ambleside through LakeLovers Rental Agency and could not have been more please with our 2 week stay in the wonderful 2 bedroom, 2 bath cottage in the heart of Ambleside in the beautiful Lake District of northwest England.
From my first contact with staff of Lakelovers until our check- out after a two week stay, we experienced very professional service. Our family has been visiting the Lake District for over 40 years renting cottages and private homes on each visit. Without question LakeLovers Management company provided me the very best service in vacation rentals I have experienced. The property rented was in superb condition when we entered, just as LakeLovers promised. Moreover, throughout our two week stay LakeLovers could not have been more helpful in responding to even the smallest request for information or assistance. In future whenever we visit the Lake District and require a self-catering rental property I will deal only with LakeLovers Management Company for my needs. I could not have been better served.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRIARTUCK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of Birchcroft Cottage. It is indeed a fantastic place to stay and many of our guests return here year after year. Your kind comments about the service provided are gratefully accepted by the whole team who are delighted that you chose to take time out to shout about your experience. We do hope that you and your family visit us again in years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

White Lion Cottage was a lovely cottage in a quiet location, personally I've always avoided this village as its over run with holiday homes but this cottage was tucked away near the church. We had beautiful weather and enjoyed sitting high above the cottage on the terrace during the late afternoon sunshine which overlooks the roof tops and local fells. The only real downside for us was the parking as it was on a first come basis, you can park three cars if people park thoughtfully! One final point if you have small children I would look for another cottage as the garden holds many dangers for little ones.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazyday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your holiday. We are really pleased that overall you enjoyed your holiday at White Lion Cottage,Chapel Stile. It is a lovely property and as you say is nicely tucked away from the hustle and bustle. You were indeed extremely lucky with the weather, although we have had a fantastic year so far. We hope that the parking of others didn't become too obtrusive for you and that you won't be deterred from visiting us again in the future. Once again thank you for taking time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I just spent a week at mountain ash cottage in coniston with our 2 cocker spaniels! Everything about the stay was great, location of cottage, spotlessly clean, beautifully equipped with all mod cons, fantastic views and just a 2min walk to the pubs and shops, perfect break.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are really pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Mountain Ash Cottage and would like to thank you for taking a moment to post your review so that others can share your experience. It is a fantastic property and we appreciate your favourable comments about all aspects of your holiday. We will hopefully look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Was unsure of what to expect when recently staying at the cottage as some of the reviews were
not that favourable. What i found was a nice place to stay , it was clean , had a well equipped kitchen , cosy sitting room though was on the slightly dark side if trying to be critical but not a problem,good sized bathroom and nice comfy bedroom with a nice double aspect.
The garden was a nice size and was good to have a gate that we could close as to keep our dog
safe. The walk into bowness was only five minutes or so as it was downhill coming back up was more challenging !!! Overall it was a very pleasent week.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review about Jessicas Cottage. It is indeed a lovely cottage, ideally located and extremely popular with those guests wanting to bring their dog with them. We have a range of properties to suit all needs and of course we accept that expectations vary from one person to another, so we were pleased to learn that tJesscias Cottage met all your needs and exceeded your expectations. Once again thank you for posting and we do hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We left it a little late to book a break away, but found a break in the week we wanted on the Lakelovers website. As we'd never been to the Lakes before, we were not sure what location would be best, but Ambleside seemed to be close to Windermere and many other places to visit.

Valentine's Cottage accommodates 2 people with 1 parking space and is only a few minutes walk into the main streets of Ambleside. There are plenty of places to eat within 10 minutes walk, and also easy to get around by car. 20 minutes walk to Lake Windermere where you can take a boat cruise.

As the name suggests, the theme of the cottage is romantic, so if you don't like heart shaped things, this is NOT the home for you!!! Definitely a great choice if you want to celebrate a special week away, like we did as it was our wedding anniversary, and from reading the guest book many honeymoons have been taken there too.

The cottage is a small house over 2 floors, ground floor has open kitchen/living room area and the bathroom (with large shower), and upstairs has a large bedroom with a 4 poster bed, a bath, and separate dressing room. There is everything you need at the cottage from the iron/ironing board upstairs, downstairs has a washing machine/dryer, all utensils/baking/cooking items you need, even picnic baskets and flasks. Also handy to have a couple of rucksacks & walking sticks by the stairs for long days out.

All in all we were very pleased with the cottage; the booking with Lakelovers went smoothly, and our special request for hypo-allergenic bedding was taken care of without any trouble.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VandA_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of Valentine Cottage - one of our favourites !
How apt that you were celebrating your wedding anniversary whilst staying there. It is indeed a very romantic cottage and has proved very popular with guests. We are really pleased that you throroughly enjoyed your first visit to The Lakes and hope you will come back again in the not too distant future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in Millers House, just outside Ambleside, very good location and the place was comfortable and well equipped. However if you are staying in the Lake District would you expect to see picture hanging in the cottage of the New York skyline!!!!!! We had a power cut one early evening, no power for 14 hours, could not heat any food, boil a kettle or anything even though there was a gas hob there was no matches or candles in the cotttage. We did not receive any information from Lakelovers about the length of the power outage so were compleatly left in the dark.......... Nil points for communication.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meriva2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your holiday at Miller Bridge House. We are of course sorry to learn that your holiday was marred by the unavoidable power cut which affected the locality in and around Ambleside during your stay. From time to time our rural areas up here in The Lakes do experience power outages and unfortunately we are unable to assist other than providing you with information as and when this becomes available to us. These are usually for very short periods of time. We do have a 24 hour on call service at the end of a phone to deal with any emergencies, albeit it is likely that you would have been advised only of expected times for the power to be reinstated unless there were reasonable grounds to take action either for your safety or continued enjoyment of your holiday. We have noted your comments relating to the picture of 'New York' in the property and whist we are always willing to accept any constructive feedback which would likely enhance a guests stay, we do feel that the choice of soft furnishings is generally subjective. In our opinion and that of many other guests who have returned to Miller Bridge House, the furnishings and facilities are all of a four star standard as advertised. Thank you once again for taking the time to comment and we do hope that you will not be deterred from visiting The lakes on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakelovers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakelovers

Property: Lakelovers
Address: 2 Victoria Street | Victoria Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakelovers Cottage Holidays Hand-picked for you. Over 450 hand-picked holiday cottages throughout the Central Lake District Area. From cosy cottages to contemporary lake shore bolt holes. Lakelovers have something for everyone. Pets go free in many properties. No extra charge for towels. Many properties with free Leisure facilities. All properties graded 3 to 5 Star by Visit England. Awarded Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakelovers Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing