We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected family get away....”
Review of Lakelovers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakelovers
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
1 review
“Unexpected family get away....”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife was fortunate enough to win a 3 night stay, courtesy of the lakelovers, in one of the boat house that line the shore of lake windermere. Just to point out I work over sea's and could not make the original date offered. A simple email to the lakelovers and they were only too happy to rearrange an alternate date. We have stayed with the lakelovers before and as before the property did not dissapoint. Walkers boat house has to be one of thier best properties, fabulously presented inside it is obvious no expense has been spared when the boat house was converted. Fantastic views of lake windermere and the surrounding area add to the charm of this property, and with the shops and resstaurants of Bowness only a short walk away this is an ideal location for and family or group break. I was impressed to say the least and as a true "lakeland lover" I will most definately be using the lake lovers again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review for others to share in your experience with us here at Lakelovers. We are really pleased that you were able to enjoy your break at the Boathouse and do hope that you will have the opportunity inbetween your overseas visits to come and visit us again in The Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    96
    37
    23
    33
See reviews for
282
230
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times. Once in mid winter and once in the summer. Hart Head Barn and location were great. Hart Head Barn is on the coffin route between Ambleside and Grasmere (just above Wordsworth's house) with great walking and views from the front door. Its peaceful and has a view of the lake from the first floor lounge. Sitting by the log fire in the winter was so relaxing we did not want to leave. Bedrooms and bathrooms are what you would expect in a 4 star hotel. The kitchen was really nice, well equipped and has a patio one side and a balcony view over the lake the other - great in summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMDebyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hart head Barn. We were so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed each of your stay's here. We hope that we will be welcoming you back soon and perhaps this time you could try another season - we love the Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed in this maisonette in September 2012. It was a chance to explore the lakes for the first time. Also it was our last holiday before our first baby would arrive.

The property was clean, well equiped and in a fantastic location to explore the lakes either by foot, public transport or car.

It is a two min walk to Bowness high street which has the Beatrix Potter museum.

The property is also larger than you may expect. Although it is a maisonette you do not hear the neighbours upstairs! One thing to bear in mind is there are a few steps to get into the property - but this didnt put us off.

The property was so nice and well equiped we have booked again for Sept when we will take our 6 month old. There is a washing machine, dryer and high chair so it will feel like a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hevarrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your holiday at Biskey Steps. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and took advantage of all the facilites and great location. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lakes, hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We travel to the Lake District at least once a year and this was our first stay using Lakelovers.Looking for a little retreat to hide away and re-charge our batteres we booked The Old Chapel near Bowness. The location was ideal for exploring the Lake District by car but so nice to come back in the evening to peace and quiet and a lovely welcoming pub just around the corner. I can recommend the food, not the cheapest, but fantastic quality and plenty of it!! Oh and a lovely log fire.
The cottage had everything we needed and absolutely loved the upside down arrangement of the bedroom and living room. The roll top bath in the downstairs bedroom a blissfull addition to the end of the day. It was cosy and romantic and just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Nangie1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Old Chapel in Bowness. We are really pleased you enjoyed your holiday and of course the Log fire. Thank you also for posting some great images. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lakes in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I got married in December and my husband and I (I sound like the Queen!), stayed at Valentine Cottage in Ambleside for a week. This is the 3rd property we have rented from Lakelovers and we weren't disappointed. Being the week before Christmas, we arrived to see the cottage lit from within with a lovely Christmas Tree in the window. A really lovely touch. The cottage itself was immaculate and the attention to detail second to none. It really was a home from home for the (very quick short week) we stayed there. The cottage was a short walk from Ambleside centre so we didn't have to use the car every day. The cottage was very near to the Golden Rule pub which is a lovely traditional pub with a lovely real fire to warm you up after a day out exploring.

The service from Lakelovers was very good, from the booking of the cottage right up to collection of the keys. Every property we have rented from them has been of a very high standard and good value for money. Would definitely recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbadjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Valentine Cottage in Ambleside. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments which we have passed on to our team and the proerty owner. We look forward to wecloming you back to The Lakes in the not too distant future. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We've now stayed with lakelovers in 4 different cottages & would recommend all of them. Great company, easy booking on website & small problem with blocked sink sorted straight away! Would recommend to friends & always use them. (The one time we didn't, the cottage was awful!!!).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fillic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor and share your holiday experience with others. We are pleased that the small maintenance issue was attended to promptly and that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to wecloming you back for a fifth time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 3 years running fantastic house took a small dog and teenagers.Left my sons walking boot they saved it for us 6 months later. Exceptionally equipped house with lovely views from outside would recommend to all x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angel1234091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeloversHQ, Manager at Lakelovers, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, following your holiday at Gale Lodge House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#28 of 108 in Windermere
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#64 of 108 in Windermere
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakelovers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakelovers

Property: Lakelovers
Address: 2 Victoria Street | Victoria Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 1AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Bowness-on-Windermere
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakelovers Cottage Holidays Hand-picked for you. Over 450 hand-picked holiday cottages throughout the Central Lake District Area. From cosy cottages to contemporary lake shore bolt holes. Lakelovers have something for everyone. Pets go free in many properties. No extra charge for towels. Many properties with free Leisure facilities. All properties graded 3 to 5 Star by Visit England. Awarded Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakelovers Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing