We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous could not fault it”
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Overlooking the stream
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Dog friendly 3 bed lodge
Overlooking the stream
Outside living
Lounge, kitchen, utility room
Lounge/kitchen/utility room
Dining area
Master bedroom with flat screen TV and ensuite with freestanding bath
Master bedroom/ensuite bathroom
Ensuite bathroom with freestanding bath
Ensuite bathroom
second double bedroom with ample storage
Third bedroom with small double bed
Leisure Suite with heated pool, hydro-spa, sauna, steam room - complimentary use
Pool with lifeguard present
Games Room
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
Christmas at Twa Dogs Lodge
MARINA AT WHITECROSS BAY
Double room
Creche
Master bedroom with ensuite
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steven M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous could not fault it”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights with my mum, dad and my sister and also the two dogs.
We arrived at the lodge at 7.30pm to the lights on and a nice bottle of wine and a lovely welcome pack witch include local bread witch we all loved by the way and orange juice and milk and tea bags and dog treats for the dogs and poo bags the dogs also loved there treats. The lodge is in a great location just a we hop to the swimming pool and the shop at the club house.it was a miserable day so we decide to stay in and watch a DVD but the DVD player wasn't working so we e-mailed Margaret got a email back from right away from Margaret saying that she got in contact with Darren the on sight telly man came and fixed it. Then the next day Margaret came along the next day to see if the DVD was all fixed Margaret stayed and had a wee gab. The cleanses of the lodge is clean though out from the bedding to the bathroom could fault it one bit can't wait to stay in the the other lodge that Margaret has.
Margaret you do yourself proud

Lynn ,Steven,Eileen and Kelly and Mac Ralph the two westie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
thank you so much for such an amazing review. these reviews are invaluable to guests when choosing their accommodation and mean the world to us.
It was our pleasure to have you as our first guests of the season and we are looking forward to your visit in July to celebrate mum's 50th!!! Mgt x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janalibor
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect and Peaceful”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The lodge is like stepping into a four star hotel, everything is perfect, well thought out classy and spotless. Margaret and Graham take such care with their lodges that you just won't want to stay in another one, I think they are the best on the site by miles and so do my family. After trying a couple of other lodges on the site we were just delighted when we found this, and have already booked to come back. The site is wonderful for families or couples and is perfectly placed to enjoy the lakes . Book early as everyone who goes wants to come back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2013
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are delighted that you will be staying with us for New Year!! what a start to 2014!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susan5134
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fabulous place to relax !”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was our second visit this year to Twa Dogs.....it was just as fabulous as it was in March !! Margaret is a lovely person to deal with and the lodge is fantastic with everything you need, a real home from home !!
We will be back next year to try Lakeside No 9 !! Myself and family, ( and Benji the dog !! ), are already looking forward to our next visit !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything !!
Liked least: there was nothing you couldnt like !!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing Twa Dogs and so glad you had a lovely chilled weekend!! Can't wait to welcome you next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mommatree...
england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Home from Home”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed at this lodge to celebrate 60th Birthday, couldn't ask for anything else, welcome pack of bread milk etc, bottle of wine and balloons for the birthday boy, also this is a beautifully appointed well furnished lodge,
The lodge was spotless, the kitchen well stocked and right on top of Lake Windemere,
Everyone enjoyed their stay here just a shame we couldn't stay a while longer, even the doggies enjoyed it and they say a big thankyou for their doggie treats.
Would we stay again,, Too right we will.
Perfect weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2013
So glad the 60th birthday went well and you loved the lodge! would love to see you back again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jade A
Annan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“27th - 30th July (BRILLIANT)!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The lodge was gorgeous, loved it! Had everything in it you needed! Cant say a bad mark about it. We were welcomed with wine, bread, tea, coffee, milk etc & 2 balloons for myself and friends birthday! Loved the location it was in! Great for children swimming etc! Already been decided we will be booking for next year in this lodge! :) would strongly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliMcAlis...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for and more!!!!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

An immaculate extremely well equipped lodge. The pictures on the Web page look lovely, but you half expect the lodge to be a little less pristine bearing in mind the many different guests who have stayed before you, what a wonderful surprise to find everything exactly as if you are the first guest!!!!
We were spoilt also with this glorious weather, however the lodge did keep comfortably cool in the shade, offering dappled sunshine on the veranda!!
I would highly recommend this Lodge as a perfect location to view the Lakes, only 10 minute drive to Bowness and a 10 minute walk to Brockhole where you can purchase tickets or any of the cruises!!
Icing on the cake, HRH came to visit Windermere during our stay!!!
Thank you Margaret and hubby!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Lodge and Location
Liked least: The journey home!!!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2013
thank you so much for reviewing our lodge and you have really summed up how we hope guests feel on arrival at Twadogs Lodge! Really hope to welcome you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: free wi-fi and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: 3rd bedroom is a bit small
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing our lodge and so glad you had a great time. Hope to see you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing