We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's better places than this in Bowness”

The Old John Peel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Postcode - LA23 3BZ
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There's better places than this in Bowness”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here for a late lunch and wasn't that impressed. Old and tired decor with a stale atmosphere. I had the veg/ Stilton crumble which was void of any blue cheese. It was bland and a typical uninspired veggie option. My partner had the fish and chips, it consisted of a frozen shop bought fillet which had clearly been warmed up in a microwave. Service was ok so looking at the other reviews not sure if it was just unfortunate timing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    129
    52
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pricey drinks - one to avoid.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

£7.00 for a pint and a bottle of alcopop. No redeeming features at this pub and sadly no positive comments to make. We'll not go there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buzz544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a really great little pub for proper food and a nice family-friendly atmosphere. The staff are friendly and the food was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charly_murg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good local traditional pub”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here one late afternoon and it was ideal for eating with children. the food was fantastic, the service was brilliant and my children were welcomed with 2 high chairs and staff that were helpful. Definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRichardsons18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional pub..Excellent”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I called by this pub once at night whilst having a couple of drinks, it was chilled, great atmosphere, reasonable prices, interesting decorated in the traditional pub kinda way.. The playlist/music in the bar was really good..it was really good.

The following day, after we had been out on the lake cruises, once we were back in Bowness we decided to get lunch here. I had the homemade soup which was blummin lovely! my hubby had the BLT sandwich which was also really nice (we had a taste to try the other meal).

when we take another trip in the future we will definitely call back to this pub, its canny!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V4935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old John Peel Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Old John Peel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing