We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent, good value, relaxed !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent, good value, relaxed !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

We tried initially to book a more luxurious room but none available but thats our bad of planning not the hotels fault we will book earlier next time. I think that is the thing about this hotel it has very good reviews so what they do must sell well. The service is very relaxed and calm so good if you thrive on that. On arrival we were greeted and given our room key not shown personally to our room but that is the relaxed attitude of this place. The room was spacious and spotlessely clean yes i am sad and check under beds etc. Great walk in warddrobe type space and modern bathroom. We had a side view of the lake room 2 and found there to be little noise from other rooms or corridor. Two tiny things that we felt would tip the room into extra special little things but did find them missing. Hooks for coats on doors and a hook in bathroom for dressing gowns. Full length mirror for us girls would be great there is one outside room 2 on landing but would be nice to see how you fully look before you step out the door. The bed appeared to be a double but even though we are a small couple we could not get comfy but could not tell if it was the matress or bed size ?? The runner on the bed when turned over has a coffee stain?? on it didnt disturb us but could another guest they need to check or replace things like this frequent travellers notice these things.Anyway the food in the restaurant was excellent as always and the breakfasts are to die for my husband worked his way through the menu and found them all to be delicious. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. The chocolate fondant was to die for. The lounges provided somehwere cosy to relax in winter with papers and magezines to read lovely touch.All in all a fabulous break and would stay here again and recomend to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikergoldcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    240
    44
    28
    24
See reviews for
104
499
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

All staff were very friendly and made you feel relaxed
the room was a bit small but very nice and had a good shower, no bath
the hotel is in an ideal place very near to shops, pubs, resturants and the lake is only about 500 yds
I would recomment this hotel and will be going back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueknight06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would recommend the Angel Inn to my friends.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilaz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Having spent many summer days in the beautifully landscaped garden, we decided to treat ourselves to an overnight stay to get rid of the January blues.

Staff were very friendly throughout. There is secure parking on site and our room (No.3) was nice and clean although the shower was quite tight for access - bi-fold doors would have been a better idea but that wouldn't stop us staying again although the pillows and hard bed may do so. Room rate included breakfast - which was faultless.

Lovely evening spent in front of the log fire snuggled up on the sofa in the main area, very relaxing. Lovely contemporary hotel. We didn't eat on the evening of our stay but have done previously and the menu / food is amazing.

Main criticism would be the noise within the hotel. Slept perfectly until approx. 4.30am then we became very aware of the airconditioning units. We could hear a young tot awake in another room but that can happen anywhere. The noise continued with staff members moving around and doors being unlocked/opened approx. 6am/6.30am then we had to listen to the wooden tables downstairs being dragged across wooden floors and so on - presume this was the cleaners or staff setting up the breakfast area. Unfortunately the fire alarms went off 8.15am so we jumped up, grabbed clothes only for the alarm to cease. No staff member came around advising us everything was okay but as nobody was leaving we assumed it was a false alarm. Again this can happen anywhere. As someone who needs sleep this topped off an unhappy few hours.

Having said all of that, yes we would recommend this hotel to friends and family but I'd suggest a room on a higher floor which might alleviate some of the issues we encountered.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saz18Northumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had a fabulous first stay at the Angel Inn, we stayed in the suite in the gatehouse, a double room, a sitting room and bathroom, all tastefully decorated & modern.

On arrival we were cheerfully greeted at reception area to receive info regarding evening meal if required and breakfast, the Bar is swish and modern, sitting areas with bar stools & comfy sofas, TV's to watch the rugby.

Staff were all happy and nothing was too much trouble, definately recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

A very enjoyable stay. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff gave me a very warm welcome and the quality of the food was very good. I thought that the cost of my stay was very well priced, my only slight issue is that breakfast was served from 8.30am which was too late for me and the fact also that there is no free internet access which I expect to have these days.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knotty1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Having visited The Angel Inn restaurant before we decided to try out the hotel. We found a great deal direct through the website and booked a suite for two nights. The hotel and rooms are decorated in a modern style but retain traditional elements such as the wooden beams and log fires. The service was excellent and the included breakfast delicious. However it was the staff that made the break so special for us, friendly and engaging they immediately made us feel at home and helped in any way they could with our newborn baby. We loved it so much that we stayed an additional night. Thanks to all at The Angel Inn!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broadm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing