We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attentive Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife & I stayed at The Angel Hotel, Abergavenny for a night in January 2014. From the minute we arrived, the personal service & attention to detail was excellent. Our room was spacious, very comfortable & clean. Our breakfast was excellent. William & Charlotte head a brilliant team.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    240
    44
    28
    24
See reviews for
104
499
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The best place by far to stay in. We stayed 3 nights and will definitely be returning. Excellent accommodation and fantastic food. The level of service is outstanding from all the staff especially Tarl, Emma & Lupe who are a credit to the owners. You'd be a fool to stay or eat anywhere else. K Whittaker.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevin12478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Initially we thought the menu was quite expensive but when the food arrived it was well worth it! The portion sizes were really big and the presentation and ingredients were lovely. Nice pint of ale too. We're considering going back to stay some time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Novemberwhiskey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Was treated to an overnight stay as a gift. On arrival ordered a beautiful light lunch and sat in the windows overlooking the gardens next to a gorgeous open fire. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Room was very pleasant and breakfast and restaurant staff were lovely. Several options for cooked breakfast not just bog standard English/ eggs, which ended the stay perfectly, before strolling around Bowness, and Windermere. Hope to return with friends soon

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 22nd December with friends and had a great time the staff where fantastic the food was also fantastic great place for waking and a great place for eating and drinking fantastic looking forward to are next visit thanks to all the staff for a great time

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ssrcmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just had 3 nights at the Angel. Everything good, ample free parking, lovely friendly staff. Cosy & warm throughout the hotel. Easy check in, room 5 small & cosy with a slight lake view. Room delightfully decorated & clean. Although the bed was on the small size compared to home one as it was a standard double, we slept very well as it was very comfortable. No noise from other rooms, a little bar noise below us upto 11pm but no issue with that. Great location with lots of shops bars & restaurants within a few minutes walk. Lovely food & drink in the hotel served to you with a smile. Fantastic breakfast. All in all a great place to stay that we will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We got stuck in a downpour as we arrived early for our table in the restaurant at 7pm on Sunday 15th December. We were greeted by a very jovial young waiter in a Christmas hat who immediately offered to take our outer coats so they could dry out. We initially sat in front of a roaring opening fire in some very comfortable chairs with a selection of daily papers that were readily available, very relaxing after a day’s walking. We ate in the restaurant and it was excellent. The food was fresh, tasty and very well presented so congratulations to the kitchen staff. The menu is varied and as well as having fish and chips etc, it also included some unusual dishes such as ‘Pigs Ears’ and ‘Pheasant Kiev’, which was delicious. The staff could not do enough for you and overall it was a delightful experience and the management should be very proud of their staff who really worked well and served a perfect product, which was excellent value for money. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing