We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out place”
Review of The Angel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Had not booked, breaking a journey down from Scotland, so just called in as the outside looked so inviting. Staff we're very friendly & helpful & soon had us installed in a lovely double room with a view across the lake. Immediately loved the feel of the place. Downstairs is divided up into small lounges where you can just sit with a beer or coffee, read papers & relax. Restaurant is good & residents get a discount on all food & drinks. Central location but quiet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
There are newer reviews for The Angel Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

465 - 471 of 830 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

Perched on a hill in the sunshine the Angel Inn was very inviting. The staff were very friendly and informative. The room was big and bright, the bed was a queen size and the linens were very nice. The bathroom was big and clean. The food menu was good and so was breakfast, full English. We enjoyed our stay there and would do so again. Nice views of the Lake and the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely overnight stay here . Room was clean and comfortable,bed a little on the small side in room 6 .Full English was delicious . Great location close to pubs and restaurants .Hotel has a large carpark .Will definitely stay here again .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband had booked a weekend for us to stay in the lakes we were feeling apprehensive about staying in the angel inn upon arrival as it looked like a crowded pub chain.... We were soon to change our minds... We got there an hour early but had a very friendly welcome and were told that they would try and make the room available as soon as possible, we decided to have some lunch while waiting which was what we thought was going to be a standard sandwhich but was delicious and made us wish we had booked for dinner!!! After lunch our room was ready the room was very nice big double bed, nice bathroom and a seperate lounge much better than what we expected we had booked to go out for dinner (unfortunately) but had pre dinner drinks at the bar were the staff even though were busy took time to chat to us and helped me locate an umbrella for our walk into town to the restaurant in heavy rain!!! When we got back to our room the bar was very busy but we never heard a murmur!! Breakfast had a good menu and was very pleasant we even went back for Sunday lunch which was fully booked and no surprise why it was fantastic we can't wait to go back and stay at the angel inn!!! :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiejjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at Angel Inn beginning of November for three nights,staff on arrival very friendly and efficient,room was nice and clean and bathroom also,breakfast choice of buffet and or cooked breakfast,service friendly and food good.overall I would certainly return to this establishment,only downside was the uplift in the room rate on Friday,a midweek stay looks the best bet for value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be to the same high standard
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shetland62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for my partners birthday 8th and 9th November.
We booked room 14 in the coach house and are friends had room 15 in the same block.
Room 14 is lovely very large room with a siting area with settee and chair.
Very well furnished and lovely views.
Nice bathroom.
Very clean.
Nothing to trigger my dust allergy which is always a good sign.
Room 15 is nice but that has a separate lounge and bedroom and a very nice bathroom.
Room 14 is the best and I would imagine the best in the hotel.
The coach house is great for friends and there are only 2 rooms in the building.
We eat in the restaurant Friday night.
Food very good.
We all enjoyed the meal.
Good vege choice for one of our trip and she's not easily pleased.
Breakfast a very high standard. Gave it 9 out of 10.
Good produce.
All staff very efficient and friendly.
We had a lovely weekend.
Really enjoyed it.
Also Bownesss is very nice.

Room Tip: Go for room 14 it is excellent.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is our second stay in Bowness but the first in the Angel Inn, we arrived on 11th oct for two nights. After a very efficient and quick check in we took our belongings up to room 2, it was a lovely room the decor was lovely only thing that let it down was the carpet needed a good clean or replacing. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food and service was second to none . Breakfasts on both mornings were fab and the staff were very friendly. After a long day out walking its lovely to be able to sit in very pleasant surroundings even luckier if you can get in front of the open log fire. Already planning our next visit here next year definitely staying here again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $86 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing