We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average with gimmicks” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average with gimmicks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ribs weren't 'sticky' and onions weren't 'crispy'. A totally average culinary experience. Great location and some quirky ideas. Nothing to go out of your way for. The waitress couldn't care less whether we enjoyed the meal or not- to be honest she didn't ask. Didn't feel the experience was worth the money. This place has the potential to be much better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCraik-Collins74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    238
    43
    26
    24
See reviews for
103
492
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Food is great, though not the cheapest, but quality does cost. The place accommodates children very well. Lovely location on the way up the hill out of town with nice views from the garden. Good for a pint or a bite to eat in summer, plenty room inside if the clouds move in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gavin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch and sat in the garden with our dog. The location was lovely and you get great views. The food was delicious and not too overpriced. The menu was really varied and had something to cater for all tastes. The inside looked lovely too, very welcoming. We will certainly return!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend and there were 6 in our party so had three rooms in total. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if it wasn't for the paper thin walls, we could hear everything going on in neighbouring rooms not to mention the maid who insisted on banging around in her cupboard from around 6.30 each morning. Breakfast was excellent, we also ate here one lunchtime and that too couldn't be faulted. Location wise it is very central but set well back off the main road with a lovely big beer garden. We had the smaller size rooms but there was enough room for a weekend stay, lovely toiletries in the bathroom as well as good selection if teas/coffees.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adeandwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at this place for a week in July 2013.The room were tidy and clean. The views was amazing the room were big enough and nice. Felt like being at my own house but with big and nice room. The staff's were nice and helpful. Only thing I hated is the food otherwise over all is a good place for holiday stay. I would rate it overall 3 because of the foods as me and my partner had to go out to eat everyday. Hope they improve the food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at here at the end of June to celebrate my birthday. Normally stay at the Wild Boar in Crook but wanted somewhere more central this time. Stayed in room 6 for 3 nights. Room was compact but had everything we needed. Bathroom again was small but well equipped and the shower was super. Breakfast was excellent with good choice of food and very well presented. Ate here the first night and enjoyed the food although it was quite expensive for what we got. Service was very good. Enjoyed coming back here at the end of the evening but as the restaurant was very popular we sometimes found it hard to get a seat-which as a resident was somewhat annoying. Also once the restaurant was empty then the place began to wind down so no relaxing over a bottle of wine unless you went to your room.

Room Tip: Some rooms are slightly bigger than others on the room plan. Bigger rooms are more expensive so depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindadx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed at the Angel Inn at the beginning of August for 3 nights, 2 actually in the hotel and 1 in the separate cottage (we had to change our original booking due to work commitments). The staff, food and hotel in general were superb. We had our first evening meal there; chicken, ham and leek pie with homemade chips and onion rings (the best we've ever had) what a start to a wonderful 3 days' holiday. The food was amazing, I tried everything at breakfast from the full English to salmon and scrambled eggs and was not disappointed. Hubby went for ham and eggs and was equally satisfied. All in all an amazing stay. Staff only too happy to help, will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing