We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Inn
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dene House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$148
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lonsdale House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$209
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$92
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$224
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$257
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$129
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westbourne(Bowness-on-Windermere)(Great Value!)
$130
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (874)
Filter reviews
874 results
Traveler rating
508
258
48
33
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
258
48
33
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspecials boardbeer gardenreal aleopen firelovely pubevening mealmain buildingmy partnerlovely viewexcellent stayfull englishlovely roomnight breakbreakfast was excellentcar parkcouldn't faulthigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 874 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great pub & restuarant, not what you would expect to find in a mad busy tourist area.

We ate here on Friday evening and enjoyed the fantastic local food and the real ales and fine wines. If you are lucky enough to get a table outside on a great summers evening even better, however we sat in the conservatory and had a great night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here numerous times. Had some lovely rooms.....recommend the rooms outside of the actual hotel itself ......very nice and roomy. Decor in the rooms to a good standard and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The food is good and breakfast is great too. It's in the very bracket for me as opposed to the excellent. There are no drinks served after midnight for residents which when with a party its a dampener and this seems a little odd for an establishment which is otherwise so accommodating. One hint......if the weather is hot sit and eat on the terraces as this is a fantastic sun spot .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

we have just spent a night at the Angel Inn wish it had been longer, room was great breakfast fab and nice to sit outside watching the world go by, and so near everything else in Bowness but in its own quiet spot, staff helpful and welcoming Thanks

Room Tip: room 11 quiet spot, comfy bed
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERLYN83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having spent the last day of our holiday exploring a dull, but thankfully dry Kendal, we returned to Bowness where we were based, with a promise of a meal at the Angel as our last night treat. It's one of our favourites both for a drink and for a meal. We were sorry to see the homemade burgers, a big hit with us last year, were no longer on the menu, but we managed to finally make our selections, my sister going for the chicken, ham and leek pie with a puff pastry crust from the specials board, and myself the Greek salad and a portion of chunky chips. We both agreed we had chosen well and thoroughly enjoyed the meal, to the point we couldn't manage a pud. Incidentally, we did think the puddings quite pricey in these tight times. If we're back next year holidaying we would both love the burgers to be back on, but with such a great selection on the menu and the emphasis on local, produce, I'm sure finding something at the Angel would not be difficult! The icing on the cake was a table on the terrace and the clouds clearing to give us a last sunny warm evening.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank AnnieDNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were in Bowness for the afternoon and needed to look for somewhere for our early evening meal. I thought I would have a look on Trip Advisor, and after reading a few reviews decided to head to The Angel Inn, I put the GPS on my phone and we headed straight there.
Loved the look of the menu and it was nice to see some homemade choices for children. We ordered some garlic cheese bread as a little starter, which was delicious.
I ordered the fish and chips, which was beautifully presented and tasted delicious (the chips were gorgeous), my husband had the rib eye, which was cooked to perfection and the boys had chicken goujons and chips and pasta with tomato sauce. We all really enjoyed our food.
The staff were very friendly. We sat in the conservatory and the views across the hills were amazing.
I would have no hesitation in recommending The Angel Inn and would definitely return the next time we are in Bowness.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RuthH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews