We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright comfortable restaurant and good food”
Review of The Angel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
660 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“Bright comfortable restaurant and good food”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We picked this Inn for Sunday lunch on the back of Trip Advisor reviews so thank you all for recommending it. The restaurant itself is very pleasant - much nicer than expected for a pub. The menu is excellent with even more choices on the blackboard. We were spoiled for choice. The three of us had the sharing platter as a starter and it was delicious - oven baked Camembert, olives, breads, hummus, delicious sun dried tomatoes. The bacon chop with duck egg and lamb burgers with onion rings and fries were also delicious. The service is friendly and attentive even though it was busy. We were only disappointed we couldn't manage a pudding but we were left to sit for as long as we wanted with our drinks without feeling we were in the way. I'm happy to throw my hat in with all the other recommendations and hope to go back some time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    245
    46
    30
    25
See reviews for
110
516
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me & my husband stopped here for some food & a drink. It was very quiet but the staff were very friendly & the food was delicious. My husband had the steak which he said was cooked to perfection & l had the lanb burger which was huge & gorgeous! Lovely clean pub couldn't fault a thing. Defo recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesssez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Called in last night for a thirst quencher. Ideal place to sit and relax.
Very clean and comfy, will certainly call in for a meal next time we are in the area as we were well impressed with what we found.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and enjoyed everything the Angel offered. The staff were friendly and attentive, the room was spotless, with plenty space. The breakfast cooked to order and delicious. We ate here for one of our evening meals which was also faultless. The bar area does get rather busy for food but we didn't have a long wait. The only downside of the food is that they stop serving at 4pm, so quite a lot of people did get turned away in the afternoon. As we weren't staying in the main hotel it would have been nice to have breakfast in our room, but this is just a small niggle and nothing that would prevent us from staying again. The location couldn't be better, half way between Bowness and Winderemere, so a 5 minute walk to either destination. Fantastic beer garden, just need a bit more sunshine!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed at the Angel Inn on Thursday 9th May. Excellent value, £65 for a double, en suite room. When we arrived we were told breakfast was included. A very pleasant surprise.

Room was was clean, reasonable size and comfortable. The staff friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was terrific. A choice of cereals, toast and tea or coffee, followed by a hearty Lakeland (English) fry up (grill up).

The Angel doesn't do itself justice by not advertising that breakfast is included in what is already a very good price for a room in the heart of the Lake District.

We will certainly return again. It really is a great place, right in the centre of Bowness and grat value for money.

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Bateson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I staying in Windermere last month and popped in here for a quick drink, service was attentive and decor lovely. Nice spot ontop of the hill just at the beginning of windermere, nice seating area outside.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madagascar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here and it was excellent. The restaurant is very nice with a good ambiance. The food is pub grub with a twist- I had gammon with a duck egg and the most delicious basket of chips. The gammon was a little salty for my taste. My partner had the lamb burger but felt it was a little heavy on the cumin but its all about personal taste. Would recommend! Staff were excellent - friendly and chatty

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
922 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Property: The Angel Inn
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing