We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food,great wine, relaxing music & dogs welcome”
Review of The Angel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bowness-on-Windermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Angel Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited for an early dinner last night with my dog. Dogs are allowed in front two rooms. Lovely place with wood floors and roaring fire. Very nice music being played. Food served from 5pm (not sure about lunch hours ). Treat myself to the fellbread fillet steak which was lovely , very tender, served with chips in a basket , onion rings (home made) , a tomato and mushrooms. Cost £23 and worth every penny. I has 2 lovely glasses of Chardonny and tap water was given freely. Nice service and I will visit again for a special meal. Views from place are also lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancslassPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 841 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited on the recommendation from our B&B in Windermere for our Saturday night evening meal. The food in the restaurant was beautiful and plentiful. Service was excellent and the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere. Would be happy to return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapm1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I decided to choose the Angel Inn because we have visited Bowness many times over the years but never stayed over night. We always go for a drink outside in the garden when the sun is shining when we visit Bowness so we knew the bar was nice. We stayed in room 12 over looking the garden and lake it was nice and clean and it had everything you need for a nice stay.Booked a table in the hotel restaurant after reading reviews on tripadvisor and i have to say it is the best food i have had in Bowness after eating in most places over the years. Staff and service was spot on. Cooked breakfast was also first class. Would recommend to everybody. Visited most pubs and bars during our stay and also loved the village inn bar & grill which as gone a major revamp since our last visit very trendy and nice lunch was had. Will be back soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jambo1978_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Angel Inn in october for our wedding anniversary after being recommended by friends who have been regular visitors to the hotel.our room was very nice with avery comfortable bed the bathroom was compact but everything you nneded. on the first night of our stay we ate in the hotel restaurent which was very popular with both guests and people not staying at the hotel ,the food was superb and the service excellent.Next morning we had full english breakfast which we could not fault All in all we had a lovely visit and would recommend this hotel which we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherineforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

A midweek stay at the Angel inn for me and my wife. We always pop in for a drink when we are in the lakes and always say we wanted to stay over. I was confident it would be ok as we have always enjoyed popping in for a drink but i have to say that our overnight stay was fantastic.

The staff welcomed us in and showed us to our room...wasnt expecting much but it was very nice and clean, the bed was very comfy and we were very happy about this because quite often the beds can be naff in hotels.

We didnt eat in because we have eaten there before...the food is very good so no worries there.

Breakfast.....Had the full english...it was brill ! exactly what i wanted, and HOT ! the lady serving us was very polite and kept bringing more toast, she couldnt do more to make our breakfast enjoyable...VERY IMPRESSED.

Overall the staff were extremely pleasent and helpfull which i find makes your stay much more enjoyable...theres nothing worse than rude/uninterested staff. Top marks to the Angel inn for this.

It was a treat for my wifes birthday and you made our stay fantastic, cant reccomend you enough.

Room Tip: we paid a little bit extra for bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSANCLIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

faultless from the start, easy to find bang in the middle of bowness up a quite steep hill but don't let that put you of. staff were faultless throughout the whole trip, bedroom was immaculate bed was so comfy, several little areas for quiet drinks during the day and night, the breakfast was spot on and helped cure a bad head from the night before, i would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: we had room seven, each room in hotel had different deco but if they are all same quality then there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrzy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have previously eaten at the Angel Inn whilst staying in self catering accommodation in Bowness and have often thought of a weekend break at the Angel. Well now we've done it and our impressions of the Angel as a restaurant are backed up as a place to stay. From check in to departure the thing that struck us was the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. You really get the sense that they enjoy their work and indeed customer service is taken as a given. I must make special mention of Michelle and Tarl in the restaurant and Simon behind the bar all of whom despite a very busy weekend seem to have the time to converse with guests and keep the atmosphere very relaxed and friendly.
The bedrooms vary in size - we had room 1 with views across the lake and some views of the Langdale hills and Fairfield - resplendent with snow covered peaks a few weekends ago. For those colder nights we were also supplied with an additional heater.
We will definitely be making another weekend break at the Angel - and pretty soon too.

Room Tip: When booking make sure you choose a room to fit your needs as each room is priced independently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,942 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,038 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Inn

Address: The Angel Inn Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $85 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Angel Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
The Angel Inn Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing