We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Stay”
Review of Oakbank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakbank House
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK Stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2008

On arriving at the hotel there were no other cars in the car ark, but the spaces were very small and at funny angles - not a great problem though.

The welcome we got was quite indifferent, I think this was because we had arrived earlier than expected and I was made to feel a little guity abot this.

We were staying in a superior double which as a good size, but decor was very dated and bathroom was disapointing with a very weak shower.

The upsides of the property were the great location and stunning views from our room and public areas. The breakfast was also good with a good choice and generous portions.

Given the above this was an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cladrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    76
    45
    16
    9
See reviews for
11
213
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

We booked on the last minute and spent 2 nights at Oakbank.

We found it to be excellent with the team there very friendly and attentive.The room was lovely and spotless clean, choice for breakfast was great - all in all Oakbank seem to have a great team that all work well together to ensure guests have a great stay. Cant wait to go back again.

  • Liked — Location (The Angel Inn across the road is good for evenign meals)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonpetegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2008

We have been going to the same place in the lakes for 10 years but couldn't get in so I decided to try oakbank house. We are so glad we did. I had already organised flowers and champagne to be in the room on arrival as this was a surprise for my mum. The flowers were beautiful and the champagne was Lanson and all well organised by Margaret. We had booked 2 superior rooms. On arrival we were greeted very warmly by Danny. The hall way is beautifully done with the guest lounge on the left and the dining room at the end overlooking the lake. The property was well maintained and comfortably furnished. There was an ironing board and iron and free videos and dvd's to use. We had room 6 on the first floor. (Its on the website and is the pinkish/terracotta room with the big chair.) WOW!. The view was spectacular. The room was beautiful and spotless. The ensuite was a bit on the small side but had everything you needed and, lets face it you're not there for the bathroom, again it was spotless and tastefully done. The location is fabulous right in the heart of Bowness and easy to walk everywhere. Breakfast was lovely with a large choice and really good selection of condiments and preserves including marmite and peanut butter. There were sweets and free constant supply of tea and coffee in the guest lounge and sherry in the rooms. On the landings were baskets on top of the drawers that had extra tea, coffee and milk, I have never seen that anywhere before. What a good idea.

The room was tastefully furnished and had a big comfy chair to admire the view. The bedding was very good quality and the bed was very comfortable. I have a bad back and always get back ache when staying in hotels but not at oakbank. Our friends were in room 11 on second floor. Again the room was beautiful and they had a sofa and also beautiful views of the lake.

We ate at Jr's at the applegarth which was really good and the second night at villa positano which was very nice too.

The car park looked very tight but I can say we had no problems and it was good to be able to get free parking and just leave the car for 2 days. On checking out we were told to leave the car if we were going to the shops and get it later.

We will return to oakbank without a doubt, the rooms, the view, the food and the hospitality were second to none. Thanks very much Danny and Margaret and the staff.

  • Liked — absolutely everything
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2008

No way this is a 5 star rated hotel by AA. First of all, the parking was bad with limited tiny parking spaces. When I got into the room on the ground floor, there were dead flies lying on the floor everywhere. The glass door had been smashed and had cracks on it. Thinking that it was the only thing that separated us from the passerbys outside, it was actually pretty unsafe. Services definitely need improving by a bit more smiling of the faces of the staff. I had expected it to be more welcoming for the price that I had paid. Breakfast was reasonable but again the staff was fairly rude with literally no smiles and unnecessary comments on what had been left on our plates from the previous day. Shower was terrible with almost just dribbling water coming from it. I dare to say even the tap water was stronger than it. They didn't bother to replace any complimentary drinks for us on the last day of our stay. Shame of the Lakes!

  • Liked — Nothing at all, nearly walk out but everywhere is fully booked already
  • Disliked — Everything I guess?
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lance188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay.
You know that you sneaked two other people into the room and then didn't like it when I caught you and charged you extra.
I would advise you not to do this when you are travelling. If you are on a tight budget then please stay somewhere that all four people can afford. It is unacceptable to do what you did.
I see that one of the other people staying with you has also posted a bad report but TripAdvisor are happy with that as usual.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Checked into the Oakbank House with my partner for 3 nights on 11 Feb. Very warm welcome and a beautiful room (superior, room 11) with beautiful lake views. Room was beautifully furnished and we liked it so much we often came home early from the pub (Hole int' Wall - best pub in the lakes, 2 minutes from the hotel) and watched a DVD from the free library, while lounging on the comfy sofa! And believe me it takes a lot to drag us from a good pub.

Lovely breakfast room overlooking the lake. Above and beyond the usual B&B breakfast - aside from 2 styles of English breakfast, there were options of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, waffles with bacon and maple syrup, boiled eggs with proper soldiers, as well as cereals, fruit, yoghurts and pastries. Worth getting up for!

The little touches made this place stand out for us - free cafetiere coffee all day in the lounge, dishes of toffees/sweets in the room, and a carafe of sherry in the room which was replenished every day! Never seen that before - not a big sherry drinker, but was lovely to relax in the room with a glass after a day on the fells before going out for dinner.

Most importantly the place was spotless and beautifully decorated. Full marks - can't wait to go back; this hotel is a fabulous base in the Central Lakes and has wonderful walks on the doorstep. Didn't even use the car for the first two days.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warbosayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North England
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stayed in Room 4 at the Oakbank on Fiday and Saturday nights (2nd and 3rd of November). The room was classed as a Superior Double and everything fitted the bill! Very comfortable bed, tastefully decorated with a great lak view over the rooftops.

Breakfast was fulfilling and made fromfresh local produce.

There was a guest lounge (again overlooking the lake) with complimentary filter coffees and nibbles avaiable which was nice touch.

The owners are very pleasant and very efficient and were always on hand to assist and give advice about the area.

Finally, there is a leisure complex at the Windermere Hydro hotel available to guests of the Oakbank free of charge which is just 100 yards away and perfect for easing those aching limbs after a long hill walk.

We will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — Location, comfort
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEfromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary along with my 2 sisters and their husbands.
I'd read the previous reviews and looked on their website and I can honestly say the website is absolutely spot on.
The hotel was in a fantastic location smack bang in the middle of Bowness within easy walking distance of the lake, ferry and shops and restaurants etc.
The owner Danny greeted us and took us all to our rooms, which were all very nice and had lovely views of the lake. They were spotlessly clean and very nicely furnished, we had rooms 5, 7 and 10. They all ahd dvd palyers with a big free library of films to watch. Breakfast was great with table service and a range of things to choose from along with the full English, which was very nice.
Overall I found it great value for money and would not hestitate to stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireCat1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#38 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Property: Oakbank House
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing