We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super duper!”
Review of Oakbank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakbank House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The superior room had wonderful views of the lake. The hotel was situated close to shops, bars and restaurants. Comfortable bed and couch in the spacious rooms. Shower had really low ceiling but was nice and clean. Breakfast is for early birds as it is served between 8.30 - 9.15 I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend and it was just as expected a lovely romantic weekend away.
Highly recommended and would stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay and I am pleased to see how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Oakbank House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

I booked up this hotel in a hurry just a few days before our holiday and had actually thought I was booking a different hotel - with very similar name - in the area; hence my puzzlement when I couldn't find the restaurant! However it was a good mistake. The location is excellent, near to the Lake, cinema, shops and restaurants. The place itself is an impressive older building and reminded me of the guest houses I used to stay in as a child, with a homely communal lounge for guests (although we did not use this during our three day stay, nor did we get a chance to use the pool facilities available in a nearby hotel). Our clean bedroom combined old fashioned charm with modern décor, and had a wonderful view of the lake. The bed was very comfortable and I slept well. Given the glowing description of breakfast on the website I did find the choices limited - but perfectly nice. My husband enjoyed his cooked breakfast and the breakfast room was pleasant. Danny, the owner, was friendly and very helpful in telling us about the area.

My only quibbles would be to do with the bathroom. They are not major but I feel an honest review needs to cover them. Our en suite was clean and well decorated but really small. Understandable given the style of house perhaps but I have only ever had such a small en suite in youth hostels and by the end of three nights my back was really aching from the contortions needed to get washed and dressed - and we are average sized people. The toilet had a hygiene seal, although the loo roll had only four sheets left on it and needed changing! I thought one of our face towels had been forgotten but Danny explained that the policy of the guest house was to provide one face towel (2 bath towels) between two to do his bit for the environment. I asked for another, which he immediately provided. I have stayed in many hotels all over the world but have never been asked to share a face towel before and I felt a bit awkward about it. Toiletries are provided but we realised too late had not been replenished the second day, leading to severe rationing! I must stress that I am sure if we had asked we would have got some but it was a bit late at night we felt to be bothering anyone. Condensation did build up in the en suite and bedroom and I can see this must be an ongoing problem for the owners and difficult to keep on top of. These are just minor quibbles but perhaps helpful to anyone planning to stay so they can ask for larger bathroom if necessary and perhaps take emergency shower gel!

All in all though, we really enjoyed our stay here and the atmosphere of the place, with a key to the front door enabling us to return as we wanted. It made a welcome change from impersonal hotels and the view and location could not have been better. Car parking was tight when the guest house filled up but even so, on the last day, Danny kindly said we could leave our car in the car park while we did a last bit of sight seeing. I would certainly recommend this place to others, with the proviso that they might need to be flexible if getting a small en suite!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view and check that your room is en suite, and if you would struggle with a small bat...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased that you found us and enjoyed your stay.
I do hope you visit again and we will use your feedback to improve our performance. Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

hotel very central but up a steep hill room was very good other than cobwebs on one part of the seiling.thay must of missed them.room was very clean staff happy to help at all times.food very good too would i go back yes thank you danny and staff

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very dissapointed with ground floor damp smelling room next to the car park.staff where as welcoming as the grim reaper on arrival. If you want 5 star don't stay here its a bog standard b&b nothing more nothing less.can't understand how it has rated so high.very misleading.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank stella1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

I am sorry you were bitterly disappointed with your room and our service.
We try to make our guests feel welcome but on this occasion we clearly failed. The Grim Reaper sends his/her apologies.
We will use your comments to help us improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

arrived at 12.30pm expecting to have to wait an hour or so to check in after the long easter weekend but were shown straight to a lovely clean bright bedroom with a beautiful view of the lake, the bed was so comfy i felt like the princess with the pea! really lovely clean hotel did not use the lounge but after seeing a comment on here about an old heater and dirty furniture popped in for a peak and saw neither. so close to all the shops ,restaurants and pubs. breakfast was amazing with endless amounts of coffee and toast should you want it - a bit early for me but my partner thought it was fine. if i had to say anything negative would be bath was too small (Im. 5 10) and kettle had to be boiled on the floor as the lead did not reach the table. lovely time stayed before and will return again. thanks Danny and the lady who looked after us on arrival and at breakfast. ps loved the pink Laura ashley wallpaper.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawny1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

i stayed here with KenR946 at this hotel/guest house and would love to stay again as it was absolutely brilliant. Danny and his staff are friendly they should all get a medal for their hard work. Spotlessly clean good food lots of generousity sweets, sherry perfect. had a great two break. Thanks to everyone at oakbank.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice77Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and i am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here.
I will pass on your comments to all of our team and I hope to see you again when you next visit the lakes. Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just got back from this little gem of a Guest House.
Danny and Co couldn't do enough for us.Spotlessly clean,nice food.
Loved the Sherry and Sweets and toiletries in the room.
Everything good including the price!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenR946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#17 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#31 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#16 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $112 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing