We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog standard b&b”
Review of Oakbank House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oakbank House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very dissapointed with ground floor damp smelling room next to the car park.staff where as welcoming as the grim reaper on arrival. If you want 5 star don't stay here its a bog standard b&b nothing more nothing less.can't understand how it has rated so high.very misleading.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank stella1625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

I am sorry you were bitterly disappointed with your room and our service.
We try to make our guests feel welcome but on this occasion we clearly failed. The Grim Reaper sends his/her apologies.
We will use your comments to help us improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 302 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

arrived at 12.30pm expecting to have to wait an hour or so to check in after the long easter weekend but were shown straight to a lovely clean bright bedroom with a beautiful view of the lake, the bed was so comfy i felt like the princess with the pea! really lovely clean hotel did not use the lounge but after seeing a comment on here about an old heater and dirty furniture popped in for a peak and saw neither. so close to all the shops ,restaurants and pubs. breakfast was amazing with endless amounts of coffee and toast should you want it - a bit early for me but my partner thought it was fine. if i had to say anything negative would be bath was too small (Im. 5 10) and kettle had to be boiled on the floor as the lead did not reach the table. lovely time stayed before and will return again. thanks Danny and the lady who looked after us on arrival and at breakfast. ps loved the pink Laura ashley wallpaper.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawny1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

i stayed here with KenR946 at this hotel/guest house and would love to stay again as it was absolutely brilliant. Danny and his staff are friendly they should all get a medal for their hard work. Spotlessly clean good food lots of generousity sweets, sherry perfect. had a great two break. Thanks to everyone at oakbank.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice77Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and i am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay here.
I will pass on your comments to all of our team and I hope to see you again when you next visit the lakes. Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Just got back from this little gem of a Guest House.
Danny and Co couldn't do enough for us.Spotlessly clean,nice food.
Loved the Sherry and Sweets and toiletries in the room.
Everything good including the price!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenR946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a wonderful three day break at this lovely guest house for Valentines. Our room had fabulous views of the lake and the staff were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was delicious and again we had great views from the dining room. From the moment we arrived we did not need our car. You are moments away from the lake, shops and restaurants. We hope to book again in the Autumn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serendipity47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I booked this as a birthday treat - to have a bit of 5 star luxury. Having treated ourselves to 5 star before and knowing what to expect from such a high rating, I was really looking forward to it. I consider my reviews to be very fair and so I am going to be absolutely honest and put 'facts' in addition to my opinion.
I booked and paid 50% desposit in advance for a 'superior' room, so again expected the best.
The room had 2 windows, 1 with a view of the lake, which was very nice. However, there was damp and mould on the walls below the windows. I read on another review about the time the heating came on at 8am and the owner replied that it was 7am, not 8am. Our heating did not come on until after 8am, by which time the room was very cold and the single glazed windows dripping in condensation, hence the damp and mould on the walls. This is something they are obvioulsy aware of, as we were shown a convector heater kept in the wardrobe for use if we were cold. The room itself was clean and the bed comfy, but only 1 armchair between 2 of us and no table, just a dressing table.
The bathroom was extremely small, with just a toilet, wash basin, shelf and shower cubicle. The taps in the basin were the wrong way round, the plug didn't fit and the shower had no pressure. We were provided with 1 sachet of shampoo, 1 sachet of shower gel and a soap. But the real annoyance and something I find absolutely unacceptable, is being given 2 cheap, plastic disposable cups in a 5 STAR SUPERIOR ROOM. If i stayed in a 1 STAR, I would expect proper glasses, not plastic disposable.
The cooked breakfast was very nice and a good choice. The 'breakfast bar' however, was very basic with just 2 tinned fruit options (prunes and grapefruit segments), 1 type of juice (orange), no cold cuts or anything other that I would consider 'the norm' in a 5 star establishment. Additionally, the Marmite was a full jar, which everyone could use and had bits of butter and toast in it. But the real problem with breakfast, was the time slot, as mentioned in various other reviews. In order to get a cooked breakfast, we were told on arrival, we had to order between 8.30am and 9.15am. So we ended up setting an alarm to wake us in order to get showered and changed to get what we had paid £110.00 per night for. 45 minutes is not a long time and on a weekend break, it's nice to have a lie in and rise around 9am. Other than leaping out of bed and going down without showering, this was not possible.
All in all, I think it's very poor for a 5 star guest house and I'm not sure how it was awarded this status. The last guest house of this rating I stayed in, was immaculately clean, warm, had a 4 poster bed, separate living area with tv and dvd player, private conservatory and patio area, with luxury toiletries, including shower caps, sewing kits, shoe shine and a cream tea on arrival. Breakfast served from 8am to 10am (which surely is the norm?).
Overall, very disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank ck62a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

we booked this break last minute for and were very happy with what we found when we arrived. The hotel was in a perfect central location, which meant that when we were going out for walks, or shopping, or for dinner at restaurants in the evening, we could walk everywhere.

Danny at the hotel was really helpful, telling us where everything was in the hotel. Our room was nice, i was a little dissapointed as when i had looked on the website, the rooms all looked lovely, and the room we were put in-room 1, wasnt one that was pictured on the website and i found it to be a little dated. I also found the room quite cold so the extra blankets we had in the room came in handy. But to be fair, it was very cold outside so that will have had something to do with it. the room was a decent size with a shower room with sink etc, and we had a tv and decent sized wardrobe and dressing table so there was plenty of space to put our belongings. we were hardly in the room in the daytime so for what we needed it for, it was suitable. we did make use of the facilities at the hotel slighter further up the road, the pool and jacuzzi etc, so that was nice to have the access too.

the breakfast in the hotel was VERY nice. the breakfast room was nice and clean and had lovely views of the lake. there was a good variety of choice on the menu and you could pick whatever you wanted, my husband asked for something that wasnt on the menu, and they were more than happy to help.

there was a nice quiet living room area with games and books to read. what we didnt know was that there was drinks that you could order for room service if you wanted, but with a mini tesco being literally a 2 minute walk away, we werent affected by this.

overall we had a very pleasent relaxing stay and would deffinately return.

Room Tip: if you want a view of the lake, make sure you ask for that, we didnt so we missed out, but it wasnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley_k_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dannyt, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay and I am glad you enjoyed your visit..
We refurbish three bedrooms every year and I can advise you that the room you stayed in is due to be done this year.
Thank you and I hope you visit us again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#34 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#18 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $107 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oakbank House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Cumbria Quality Assured Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking Lake Windermere and the Langdale Pikes. 11 Of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities 150 metres away with a swimming pool, sauna, steam room multi gym and Spa. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing