We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Hotel
Swindon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

We picked this place based on the location, the rooms looked clean and bright, the fact breakfast was included, the free use of a nearby recreation centre (in case it rains) and that a parking permit was included because we heard parking was difficult in Windermere, especially so that we were staying over the Easter Bank holiday period.

The location was perfect. The White House is hidden in the old historic narrow streets of Bowness. The parking lot is only two minutes walk away, the shops and lake are also a very short walk. It could get noisy during the warmer months only if the outside sitting area gets really busy.

The White House is a three-in-one act. It's a bar/pub, restaurant and bed & breakfast all in one building. The bar/pub section has a large outdoor sitting area and small indoor sitting area. The restaurant serves some nicely plated dishes and the food itself is decent. The breakfasts were the stand out though. Three choices; the typical English cooked breakfast, smoked haddock with a poach egg and grilled kippers. The smoked haddock was the pick but the poached egg was overcooked on the second day (different cook maybe?) The English breakfast was just right in size (not too filling), nicely presented and quite tasty. One thing to mention too was that the service was really good.

The rooms however were so so. We stayed in room 2, which according to our other party was slightly bigger than theirs (room 3). The bathroom was tiny and not designed well. The door to the bathroom should have opened outwards instead of inwards and the shower door should of been hinged on the left instead of the right. With these improvements then the bathroom would have been more accessible. The room was spacious but lacking a table and the cloak cupboard was too small. There are some rooms that are larger (as can be seen on the website) but we weren't sure which rooms they were. To be fair it is an old place so don't expect too much.

We didn't use the recreation facility but it's good to have in case it rains or you have run out of things to do! So overall, I would recommend it but if you are looking for a fancy room, then look elsewhere. Other than that, the service, breakfasts and the location were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    52
    45
    37
    63
See reviews for
32
169
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

We stayed one night and will certainly be returning. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food (dinner and breakfast) is great and the service spot on. There is a Welcoming and relaxed feel about the place and the White house has areas for relaxing with a drink from the bar or just coffee and papers.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seddon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

Lovely little b&b, ideally located to walk into Bowness. There is no parking but we were given a free pass to the local car park so that wasn't a problem at all.

The room was on the small side but very clean and comfortable.

Breakfasts were delicious. A great little b&b, we will recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

superb food.very friendly staff.good location and free parking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirepuddings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed one night at the White House, unfortunately, for us it was fully booked out the next night. Great little hotel right in the heart of town within easy reach of all amenities. The room was great and very clean only down side for me, the bed was a touch hard.
A realy nice touch was the rear entrance we could use which saved troubling others going through the hotel restuarant, made it feel like our own "wee" place.
Had a really good breakfast and well presented.
Will look forward to going back and staying again for longer.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ochils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

What a fab hotel. Fantastic location, just tucked away fro the main hustle, yet amongst it at the same time.
The bar/restaurant is decorated to a high standard, very clean and well resented; we were only there for the one night (big mistake!) so I think tat is why we were given a small room (no. 3), but everything was great about it despite the size - the bed was so comfortable.
Breakfast was served 8.30 to 9.30 and again to a very high standard.
You get free parking perit (£10 deposit) fro the car park literally 2 mins walk from the hotel, but they do have an area for a car to pull into to allow you to unload and load yur bags.
This was our first stay in Bowness and highly recommend it - the town is wonderful with and Lake Windermere is such beautiful. Highly recommend a stay at the White House - enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

I don't normally write reviews but had to comment on how great The Whitehouse is! Just back from a few days in the Lakes and what a great B&B, fantastic location with a great breakfast and lovely friendly staff. The room was spotlessly clean, the only thing I could critisize is that the shower cubicle was tiny! But was made up for by the powerful hot shower itself. Would highly recommend as location perfect to explore all parts of the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smellychelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stags Head
Stags Head
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#21 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: Robinson Place | Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing