We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House Hotel
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Really pleasant stay. Lovely room and great food in the restaurant. 2 mins to waterfront, shops and bars. Would definitely stay again.
Would also recommend Masons Arms at Cartmel Fell for evening meal

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 300 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Invited by friends for a meal and drinks at the Whitehouse Hotel in the old village part of Bowness on Windermere at the end of August. The food was good (as was the wine)! however the service and presentation was excellent! Outstanding in fact. The sort of thing one would normally associate with top goumet establishments.
Cant recommend this place highly enough! Well done!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurraine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booked the hotel by ringing the Hotel direct as opposed to website, as website booking regulations stipulated 2 night minimum stay, and as we only wanted one night, John was happy to oblige.
Have to say we were surprised there was no parking facilities, and as a result we had to pay for x2 days parking on a nearby public car park which came to £13.00.
That said, the rest of our stay was fine, the check in was quick and efficient, the room was lovely and clean, and the bed was really comfy. The bathroom was modern, clean and the shower was a good one.
The breakfast was the best of all, with good choice and excellent quick service.
For £85 for a Saturday in Bowness, we think it was a good choice, and we would be happy to recommend this hotel to our friends without fear of it letting us down.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here 31st Aug and 1st Sept, in the Annexe Churchills. Room was lovely and clean and an ideal location, 3min walk to lake to board cruise and 2mins from shops and bars. Room had a view overlooking Royal Yacht Windermere club and you could also see the lake. Breakfast was really nice and lots of choice. Staff all very friendly. We parked at the top of the town on a residential street for free (about 5mins walk from hotel).

Room Tip: Room 4 Annexe Churchill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clena78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Recently took my mum for a birthday treat -We stayed in the Annexe which was apart from the main building, the room was lovely with really comfy beds and a very short walk from the lake.

The breakfast was amazing, (and you certainly got enough!) and the staff were always very helpful and couldn't do enough

I will be returning with my other half !

Thanks John we had a fab time !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsjojustjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We recently ate here and can honestly say we thought it the best restaurant that we sampled in the Lakes . The food was beautifully cooked and presented by very friendly and attentive staff . We were not rushed and the whole evening made for a great end to a break . Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatsmumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went into the White House Hotel for a drink in the bar. Big mistake! The drinks were very overpriced, some tables had not been cleared and cleaned even though no-one was sitting at them and there were dirty glasses still on the bar! We could hear a washer while we were drinking, well it could have been a dish washer but judging from the amount of dirty pots inside and out I doubt it!
The manager/owner had all his paper work on a table in the bar area, I'm guessing he uses this as his office! When he answered the telephone we could hear everything and to be honest he didn't sound terribly friendly.
We would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jillyarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
237 reviews
1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Stags Head
Stags Head
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
5.4 mi away
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Address: Robinson Place | Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $88 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing