We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Hotel
UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We recently ate here and can honestly say we thought it the best restaurant that we sampled in the Lakes . The food was beautifully cooked and presented by very friendly and attentive staff . We were not rushed and the whole evening made for a great end to a break . Would thoroughly recommend and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatsmumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    52
    48
    41
    77
See reviews for
35
183
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went into the White House Hotel for a drink in the bar. Big mistake! The drinks were very overpriced, some tables had not been cleared and cleaned even though no-one was sitting at them and there were dirty glasses still on the bar! We could hear a washer while we were drinking, well it could have been a dish washer but judging from the amount of dirty pots inside and out I doubt it!
The manager/owner had all his paper work on a table in the bar area, I'm guessing he uses this as his office! When he answered the telephone we could hear everything and to be honest he didn't sound terribly friendly.
We would not return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank jillyarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

stayed here with my Aunty on my way home to Scotland
the reception, decor and hospitality were great & the host made us feel most welcome#
thanks for a lovely stay & being so helpful
the food was fantastic compliments to the chef

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SoniaMcLay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed one night at The White House Hotel. When we arrived we immediately were greeted by the owner. Since he had a better room available he upgraded our stay to the annex. Everything was very tidy and neat, however I do not think everything was finished since the finish in the bathroom looked a bit unfinished.

The breakfast was ok, personally I do not prefer a cooked breakfast and that narrowed the selection quite a bit, would have been nice with yoghurt as an option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Locationwise this is a good place. It could be the popularity of the area, but I found the room just a too run down. The shower is too small, the carpets shabby and the room just not what I would expect forthat money.
The breakfast however was excellent - as is the restaurant area and staff friendliness.

I would try another place should I return.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob_Zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this hotel as we have stayed here previously a few years ago and new we would not be disapointed and we definately wherent we had a superb weekend in fact the hotel was so good we stayed over an extra night and was talking to our host regarding booking for another weekend in november they have quality rooms which where cleaned regulaly staff are polite and eager to help.The food is of a very high standard and could not be faulted in any way .See you in november thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrell b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We booked the White house by walking through the door and asking if they had rooms that night. The reception and bar area are tired and need an upgrade and as I was shown up to our rooms along a scruffy corridor with carpet that needed a steam clean. My heart sank, that was until the doors to our rooms were unlocked. One room had a wrought iron bedstead the other didn't, both had spotless bedding with a black throw and cushions setting off the crisp white bedding, they were roomy and had wall mounted TV's.
I slept the best I have in months apparently the beds are new and were not skimped on. The bathroom had everything to offer including complimentary toiletries but the mildew in some of the grouting in the shower let it down. Tea and coffee making facilities were in white fay bone china cups and saucers. Breakfast was a surprise with fresh kippers smoked salmon and scrambled egg amongst the choice. Server was friendly and efficient. I spoke to John the owner who purchased the White house and the one next door eleven months ago, he wanted to do more works to overhaul it completely but was loyal to pre-made bookings hence the tired bits. Would I stay here again? Most defiantly, it was comfortable, welcoming and a great place to stop to visit the lakes.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 & 2 in the old part of the hotel ( it is a listed building) apparently they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreySunburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#27 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel

Property: The White House Hotel
Address: Robinson Place | Lowside, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing