We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Rigg Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed at Fair Rigg guest house for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Ian and Christine were lovely, welcoming and very helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and very clean with everything you could possibly need. Breakfast was delicious we throughly enjoyed it! Overall an excellent stay at Fair Rigg would def recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

A big thank you for such a brilliant review, we really do appreciate your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Fair Rigg Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Spotlessly clean, freshly-decorated, warm, quiet, very comfortable and friendly guest house just outside the town. Our room, second floor double, had views over a field and trees up the lake towards Windermere. The bed was comfortable with soft sheets and plenty of covers if it had been cold and the room was large with a sofa so we could use it like a sitting room too. The breakfast choice was extensive, plentiful and beautifully cooked. We had smoked haddock most days - very good. Christine and Ian were very helpful and full of tips for places to eat in the town. We would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of house look over the lake. Front top floor double has good views.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBFinder031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

One night stay in Fair rigg guest house is one of my favorite time in the trip to Lake district. The location is around 1 mile to town center. It's a beautiful place with reasonable price. my friends & I lived in 3 rooms. The rooms are clean & comfortable & have some space that made us feel relax. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pudpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you all enjoyed your stay. (Re: breakfast photo, the pepper on the egg was the guest's choice!).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If anyone is planning a trip to Bowness don't bother searching the internet for somewhere to stay- just book yourselves into Fair Rigg Guest House. We're glad we did! We arrived to be instantly impressed by a beautiful building in a great location with lovely views. As soon as we met Ian and Christine we felt at home. They are the perfect host and hostess. Nothing is too much trouble- whether it be them offering advice on places to eat or places to visit, or just generally ensuring that their guests are happy and enjoying their stay. We stayed in room 2. It was such a comfy room. Spacious, tastefully decorated, good views (even from the bathroom!). I should imagine all of the other rooms are equally as impressive. Everywhere throughout the Guest House is immaculate and spotlessly clean. The breakfast room was a great place to eat in-again with pleasant views. Breakfast was perfection. The selection was excellent. We both had the full English breakfast. Yummy! I also tried the waffles with maple syrup- super yummy! We would like to thank Ian and Christine for their hospitality.We will definitely be returning to Fair Rigg Guest House-soon hopefully!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 which was lovely but I should imagine that every room is lovely.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaydomol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for the great review, we really do appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After looking at what seemed like a million places to stay in the Lakes (well, perhaps half a million), Fair Rigg was eventually selected for our short break in August. It was an excellent choice. Ian and Christine were outstanding hosts and the property provided everything you needed - the bedroom was comfortably large enough (we stayed in room 2), the bathroom was modern and the breakfast was excellent (plenty of choices if you didn't fancy the cooked variety). There was WiFi and television in the rooms, as well as a handy guide book to the area, with suggestions of where to eat. It also has to be mentioned the place was spotlessly clean and in a good location to get into nearby Bowness.

What made the stay even better was the friendly help Ian offered us over where to travel while we stayed in the Lakes. While there were leaflets galore in the lobby with suggested trips and locations to visit, it was far better to have someone with local knowledge tell us about places.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your superb review, it really means a lot to us to know how much you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent trip to The Lakes and our stay at Fair Rigg. It is spotlessly clean and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room, (no.2), had lovely views and was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, a good choice of everything. I particularly enjoyed the porridge with cream and brown sugar, the fruit compote and the mushroom omelette. The walk to Bowness was fairly steep. Downhill on the way down and a taxi back if we didn't feel like making the effort. Ian offered us a lift into town one evening too! If we returned to The Lakes we wouldn't bother to look for any other accommodation. Thank you Ian and Christine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

A big thank you we really do appreciate your feedback. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We are just back home in Australia after seven weeks overseas staying in many different places and 'Fair Rigg' was our first, and what a high standard it set! The 3 nights there were perfect. Our top floor room with beautiful views was spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished with quality fixtures, fine attention to detail and thoughtful extra touches. Christine and Ian were wonderful obliging hosts who instantly made us feel welcome, had expert local knowledge and recommendations, and as well they prepared and served delicious full English breakfasts each morning offering many choices of food. We'd love to return to this b & b some day and meanwhile we recommend it in the highest terms to anyone wanting great accommodation in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review it means a lot. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and it would be lovely to see you both again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Rigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Rigg Guest House

Address: Fair Rigg Ferry View | Lake District National Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $133 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Rigg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Rigg is a beautiful period guest house in Bowness on Windermere, where Richard and Christine provide high quality, comfortable and stylish accommodation. Relax and enjoy comfortable beds in well appointed, spacious rooms with Period features and all with large en-suite bathrooms, mostly with baths. Home-made breakfasts and a warm welcome await you in the lovely surroundings of The Lake District National Park. We have free private off-road parking on site for all guests, one space for each room. Special Offers always shown on TripAdvisor and on our own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fair Rigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Rigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fair Rigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing