We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fair Rigg Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$154
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lonsdale House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$198
$159
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$338
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$215
$178
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$196
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westbourne(Bowness-on-Windermere)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$229
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
216
16
3
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
216
16
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolasewing kitlake districtwholemeal toastperfect hostscotton budsfull englishkendal mint cakeexcellent accommodationvilla positanobreakfast roomtwin roomminute walk into bownessparking facilitiesrecommend staying herebreakfast was deliciouslovely weekend
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 236 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a brilliant b&b with great facilities and an even better hosts in Ian and Christine.
The guest house is spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and great views of the mountains.
The breakfasts were tasty and plentiful.
As for the comment on location, it was only a 15-20 min walk down the road. Ian even gave us a lift down to Bowness one day! We will be returning.
Thanks Ian and Christine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your great review, it is much appreciated.
It is good to know you enjoyed your stay stay with us and we look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

What a beautiful house for a B&B.! We stayed for a week in June. Well appointed big rooms with en-suites. We liked the easy chairs and table and with plenty of room you never feel that you are cooped up. very comfortable beds. The front and side rooms have very good views over the countryside towards the lake. The breakfast room is very nice with tables by the windows. Ian serves up great breakfasts.
The small problem of having to walk into town is compensated by ample parking for cars at Fair Rig, something that is not always availlable at B&Bs in town.
A good day outing without the car is to walk down to the ferry at Windermere, and take the ferry across to catch the Mountain Goat up to Hilltop and Beatrix Potters House. Then return via the footpath..downhill, to the ferry and walk back to Fair Rigg.
We will certainly stay with Ian & Christine whenever we return to the Lakes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr-harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Manager at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for the review you gave for us.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay as we know how important it is to be comfortable and rested to feel the benefit of a break away.

We really do appreciate the kind comments, it was a pleasure having you both to stay at Fair Rigg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The rooms at Fair Rigg are beautifully presented, large with good sized ensuites. Although a walk into town, the walk is lovely. The information provided by Christine and Ian about local walks and favourite restaurants in each room's information pack is very helpful. The restaurant recommended by Ian was terrific. The breakfast was great, I had the best homemade porridge of our 5 week holiday at Fair Rigg. A beautiful location with lovely views of the lake and the hills. Highly recommend for a peaceful, restful stay in beautiful surrounds.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your review we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Fair Rigg. Very clean room and bathroom, the bed was really comfy and the full english was excellent. Good value and you are looked after well by the hosts. One very small 'issue' was the location. It's only a 20 minute walk or so into B-O-W but the roads that lead there have hardly any pavements and are very dark at night with no street lighting. You can get a taxi so not a big problem and would suggest you do. Don't walk back at night, it's pretty dangerous. All in all, a great stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Sorry you had an issue with the road, there is pavement part way down then just 450 mtres without then you join the pavement again into Bowness, we usually tell our guest about the turning left just after you run out of pavement which takes you off the main road so is very safe, sorry if we didn't mention this to you, yes it is quite dark at night so a £3.50 taxi ride is the safer option, although some of our guests like to walk back so take a torch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed at Fair Rigg for 3 nights.
Our stay was perfect, lovely bedroom (room1), bed and pillows very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choices.
Thank you Ian and Christine for making us welcome in your home and hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianandcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you so very much for your amazing review, it is very much appreciated.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews