We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fair Rigg Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We took a family trip here and had four of their rooms. Each one had it's own lovely style. I highly recommend the bedroom at the top, the view is outstanding! The couple that run the B&B were very nice and very helpful. Anything we needed or wanted to do they were ready with the answers, and if they didn't know they immediately found the answer for you. The breakfast is also outstanding. The best breakfasts I have had at a B&B yet! This is a must-stay if you are visiting the lake district. Beautiful house, outstanding breakfast, and amazing owners!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you so very much for the fantastic review you have written on Fair Rigg.

We are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 231 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had a brilliant long weekend at Fair Rigg guest house. The rooms are lovely and clean also spacious and modern. The location was really good took 15 mins gentle stroll to centre of bowness. Ian & Christine were really nice and helpful, they are there for anything you want. Breakfast was really good and varied. You would not go wrong in staying here, we will definetly go back. Keep up the good work. Maggie & Gareth Roberts

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garethmagg1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We arrived on 17th August 2012 just after 5pm. Christine greeted us and showed us to our room (room 1), explained the keys and what time breakfast was served. We collected our bags from the car, changed into suitable clothes and footwear (it was raining when we arrived!) and set off into Bowness. We turned left then right down Longtail Hill... Walking down the hill is pleasant, although a little steep but the walk back is not for the faint hearted!!! Especially after a few drinks and in almost 100% humidity!!!!! If you turn right out the gate the descent and ascent back is much more gentle.
The guest house cannot be faulted in anyway. Everywhere is spotless, the shower is lovely although my boyfriend did soak the bathroom on the first night with the shower - tip - point towards the wall!! The bed was spacious and comfortable and the view from the windows are wonderful. Clean towels are provided every day if necessary.
The breakfast selection is plentiful, both myself and my boyfriend had the cooked breakfast both mornings and the food is fantastic.
We ate at the tapas bar on the Saturday night. The food in there was wonderful and reasonably priced. We got a taxi to and from there and it was £3.50 each way. We took the boat from Bowness to Ambleside which again was lovely and we had a nice walk round Ambleside before getting some lunch at The Waterhead Bay, which was slightly more expensive pub food but no complaints to what we were served.
All in all it was a very much needed break to unwind and relax. Ian and Christine with their wonderful guest house helped us to do just that. We would most definitely return.
Thank you again
Gemma and Andy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

A great big thank you for such an amazing review you have written on Fair Rigg.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as this is what we aim for.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Fair Rigg guest house from the 5th-9th of August 2012. What a place! The B + B was clean, comfortable, and with a breakfast to die for- who could ask for more?! Ian and Christine are a lovely couple who were so warm and welcoming that we will definitely be going back again (If they'll have us!).

The rooms we had (1 + 3) were lovely, they were spotlessly clean with perfect furnishings and unbelieveably comfortable beds! The view from room 1 was especially stunning- a super green field complete with the lake district's very own sheep (Bliss!)

Also, the breakfasts need a mention. There was an extensive range of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, as well as three fruit juices. The cooked breakfast was excellent, and set you up brilliantly for your day in the lakes. Other options were available, and one day we opted for the porridge which was amazing!!

Would reccomend to anybody who wants to visit the lakes and be treated to a brilliant stay in an outstanding b + b.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your fabulous review on Fair Rigg.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, it is so good to know as this is what we aim for.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights at this B&B and found Ian and Christine very welcoming. The standards are high with exceptionally clean rooms, excellent food and a warm and friendly atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this B&B. Excellent value for money and they offered advice on the area, places to eat and local walks. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

A big thank you for the great review you have written. All your comments are really appreciated.

It was an absolute pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Fair Rigg at the beginning of our holidays for 5 nights. After our trip we wish we had spend some more time there and less at other places...It's a really impressing, old house on the outside, wonderfully modern in the inside. We had room no. 2 and were absolutely pleased with it. There was a lot of of space for all our things, a big, cosy bed and probably the best thing was the bathroom. Not only had it two windows overlooking the lake and countryside but it was also new and spotlessly clean - every day! I must admit, we were surprised by that, having made other experiences in the past concerning the word "clean". Ian was a very charming and helpful host (thanks again for cleaning our walking shoes!). Breakfast was always excellent and we especially liked the different dishes you could choose from. Thanks again for the wonderful, relaxing time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you so much for the fabulous review you have written, we are really pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

It was an absolute pleasure have you both to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just spent four nights here and could not find one fault. Spotlessly clean, in fact don't think I have ever seen such a clean room. Ian and Christine very welcoming. Breakfast was excellent with a very good choice. Do take note of the recommendations for evening meals as we found them to be spot on. Ian even tolerated my husbands walking boots as garden decorations for a couple of days. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a small friendly place to rest their head. EXCELLENT!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craney270, Owner at Fair Rigg Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

A great big thank you for the brilliant review you have written.

We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, this is all we can hope for.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
2 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#20 of 20 in Windermere
826 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
595 reviews
1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#9 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
145 reviews
1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#17 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Rigg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Rigg Guest House

Address: Fair Rigg Ferry View | Lake District National Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $144 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fair Rigg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Rigg is a beautiful period guest house in Bowness on Windermere, where Richard and Christine provide high quality, comfortable and stylish accommodation. Relax and enjoy comfortable beds in well appointed, spacious rooms with Period features and all with large en-suite bathrooms, mostly with baths. Home-made breakfasts and a warm welcome await you in the lovely surroundings of The Lake District National Park. We have free private off-road parking on site for all guests, one space for each room. Special Offers always shown on TripAdvisor and on our own website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Fair Rigg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fair Rigg Guest House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Fair Rigg Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing