We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay. Views are gorgeous.
Service (Fred in particular) was great.
We originally had a blonde lady servicing us for afternoon tea, she was very rude and dismissive when we suggested we would like to sit outside as it was 27 degrees. She rolled eyes, huffed and puffed, in the end by husband went to the bar to get our drinks as this particular waitress was clearly uninterested.
For dinner we had Fred looking after us and he was great. The food was amazing.
Our deluxe room had a lovely view if the lack but it was SO hot. Luckily the room had a fan.
We got a great deal on secret escapes. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone- it was great.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahsmith993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    135
    37
    13
    12
See reviews for
124
398
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

we stayed 2 nights in june and had a fantastic time.The staff and in particular Fred the restaurant manager made this an unforgetable experience.Our room overlooked the lake with a fantastic view of the lake.The hotel is 1 mile from Bowness but the experience was worth it the food in particular outstanding.The hotel experience would be enhanced with some easy listening background music throughout the hotel as it had a feel of a library ie in the restaurant we had to whisper to keep our conversations private.We will definately return.

Room Tip: lake view rooms are fantastic but all rooms we looked at looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have been here 11 times now once for a wedding and the others purely for pleasure. The food is excellent and the staff are the freindliest around.The rooms are good but the shower lets them down slightly. As we have a boar at the lakes this is an amazing place to stay and moor up. The picnics are highly recomended as they put a lot of effort into it with many exquisite dishes. Another criticism is that you need to bring towels when staying in the lodges. If you have a special occasion there are private rooms available to book out. A wonderful stays so far.

Room Tip: If on a honey room or a wedding stay in room 5 or 36
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at Storrs Hall Hotel. It's a beautiful place. It's situation next to the lake makes for some lovely views. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the food lovely. The room we had was great and what I expected from this hotel. Excellent service in every aspect if our stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here the last weekend in June for 2 nights to celebrate my 60th birthday and I must say what a fabulous weekend we had. The hotel staff are amongst the best I have ever come across and we have stayed in hundreds of hotels, I would like to make a special thanks to Fred the restaurant manager who went that extra mile and is a great ambassador for the hotel, the rooms are lovely and clean with great tradition character and charm. You will struggle to find a hotel on the lake with better views, the one and only thing I would suggest to the hotel owners is to have some back ground music playing as we found in the restaurant every one was whispering and you could here other people’s conversations. Other than that I can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: if you have trouble climbing stairs ask for the first floor as there is no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russ m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Just returned home from a lovely 2 nights stay in the lodges at Storrs Hall. The accomodation was just perfect for what we required - well equipped, clean and comfortable. The Hotel food was first class - a real experience and eating in the restaurant with a wonderful view of the lake is spell binding. The walks around the grounds are relaxing and great for photo opportunities too. Alot of refurbishment is taking place at Storrs Hall - and the results so far are first class - a credit to the team involved. Thank you Sarah - for making our stay memorable - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria-Crown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a delightful afternoon tea at Storrs Hall on a lovely sunny day in May.Everything was delicious,but the tiny quiches and pastries were exquisiteThe pastry quite literally melted in the mouth.The location is perfect.We had tea in theThe Orangery,which overlooks the gardens that sweep down to the lake,and then afterwards,had a stroll around the grounds to walk off a few calories

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackpooldiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,472 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Property: Storrs Hall
Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Three AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing