We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, wonderful service....a truly lovely weekend break”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The hotel itself was clean and tastefully presented. The views across Lake Windermere were beautiful and there are short walks around the grounds to be had also. The bedroom was very comfortable with good amenities.
The food was excellent. Dinner was a delight....nothing was too much trouble, and whilst all the staff were friendly, attentive and polite, I have to mention the excellent service and special attention provided by Fred, who attended to our every need. Breakfast was also very good.
We had a wonderful weekend break at Storrs Hall, which is wonderfully situated: walks, shopping, bars etc all within a few miles ..... it was excellent in every way!

Room Tip: We opted for a lake view which was lovely. Room 2, although I saw 3 whilst the room was being made u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team were delighted to hear that you had such a comfortable stay with us and we trust we will be able to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 721 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having read some of the previous reviews on this site, I was a little hesitant, but need not have been at all. The hotel is in a beautiful position on the edge of lake windermere and the gardens run to the very edge of the lake. We were seated in the conservatory, bathed in sunshine with a fantastic vista over the water, the staff were very polite and most welcoming. The tea itself was beautifully presented, with the usual dainty sandwiches, savoury pastry, a creme patissiere pot and a very good selection of delightful cakes. Service was efficient and polite. You could nit-pick and comment that leaves would be preferable to bags or a crisp linen serviette would feel nicer than a good quality paper one, but these minor points certainly did not affect what was a highly enjoyable and most certain to be repeated experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Storrs Hall here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you chose to experience the hotel for yourselves and enjoyed your experience. Your comments have been noted and we are actually in the process of reviewing our tea selection as it happens!

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having stayed at this hotel a couple of years ago and enjoyed the stay then we choose it again to celebrate a special occasion - we were not disappointed and would recommend the hotel very highly. We had dinner in the restaurant one of the evenings - lovely food and atmosphere with impeccable yet friendly service from all the staff.

Room Tip: As this was to mark a special birthday we choose a more expensive room - Number 5 - if you want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Storrs Hall here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed a return visit and hope that you were fond of our alterations since your last stay.

The team will be pleased to hear your feedback as they all do care very much about their roles and are very much a part of Storrs Hall itself.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from Storrs after having a wonderful time. The property has real character and charm. The views are stunning, the staff very friendly, amazing food all served very hot. Great choice at Breakfast. Particular thanks to Fred who is an asset to the Hotel and the young lady with dark wavey hair who checked us in and out. The dog loved it too!!! We will be back, thank you for looking after us.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sandra551979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing you comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team will be delighted to receive your kind words as they do all take great heart in their roles here at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My fiance, my mum, dad and I went to Storrs Hall to look for a potential wedding venue. We booked an appointment a week in advance. When we got to the hotel we were clearly not expected and were asked to wait. Two more parties both arrived, for wedding appointments at the same time as us. Other customers were waiting in reception as they were unable to check in. The poor girl on reception was trying to run all over the hotel and do everything at once. After 35 minutes we left, having not seen the hotel whatsoever. I would not be able to rely on this hotel to provide my perfect wedding. I had dreamed of having this venue since I was a small child, but it was not to be.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vicki2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

It is with great concern that we receive your comments here on Trip Advisor and I would like to express that this is not standard practice at Storrs Hall. A full investigation is being carried out.

I would very much like to discuss your recent experience in person to ensure you of our usual high standards in service delivery and ask for you to contact me directly at the hotel by phone 015394 47111 or by email; sevans@storrshall.com

Yours sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We enjoyed a one night stop over mid February. The staff were helpful and courteous and the service during our dinner was excellent. In particular, Fred the Maitre D' was superb and a credit to Storrs Hall. Our suite was comfortable and overlooked the lake. All in all, I liked staying at Storrs Hall. Great food and great staff, but for full marks, I would have liked to have seen some curtains in the beautiful ground floor rooms. I was also slightly irked to find the best seating in some of the rooms laid out and reserved yet remaining unused.
We will definately return again to this delightful Hall.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank venetiankat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, notably the dining aspect. With our apologies for reserving some of the seating areas however with our popular demand for afternoon teas and larger parties for evening reception drinks we sometimes have to allow some space for these groups.

We hope that you will consider returning to Storrs Hall in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Have just realised that I had not actually done a review of this Hotel, although it is one of my favourites. Went again this weekend, to check out what differences the new management company had made. Always impressed with the way English Lakes marketed there deals and had noticed that the new group were not as focussed on this area - I have to point out that I love to deal - Well, the Hotel was its normal comfortable, understated self (those who care don’t matter, those who matter don’t care), which both myself and my partner enjoy, as the whole point is to relax; not parade! We both really enjoyed our stay, my wife’s only complaint being was that she used to love the nibbles whilst ordering her evening meal, which was just being picky. She felt the cleaning standards had gone up, which is a very important plus.!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPS1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you have made a return visit to Storrs Hall and appreciate the alterations made so far. I am sorry to hear that you didn't get any nibbles prior to dinner as this is a usual standard of ours, I will be looking into this! As to deals, we have various options available at different times of the year and it is worth keeping an eye on our website for up to date information or signing up to our mailing list.

We hope that you will consider a further return in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,031 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $163 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing