We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Market Bosworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

If you like Michelan style food in the most fabulous setting, this is one not to miss. Having travelled the world eating at some of the best restaurants, this one honestly tops the lot. Mr Hughes is in deed a master of his craft and supported by some of the nicest and courteous staff I have ever encountered in the UK. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and notably the highlight for you being the food. We do take great pride in what we serve and hope that we can welcome you back again in the future to sample more of our culinary delights.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    143
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
127
418
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here on Valentines night.
Had a beautiful room overlooking the lake. (Fabulous setting)
Ate a wonderful 5 course dinner in the restaurant, service was good, staff very friendly and helpful.
Sat in the conservatory for breakfast. (Can definitely recommend the eggs benedict!) For a romantic get away....This place ticks all my boxes!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandralily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your romantic get away with us over the Valentines weekend along with the Eggs Benedict for breakfast!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We booked this through Secret Escapes and it certainly was!! From the car park, reception, fab huge room with marvellous bathroom (although the expelair was very loud) with lovely antique furniture and a HUGE bed!! double windows over looking the lake. The bar is fab with wonderful stained glass panels. The dining room is just right, formal but not too stuffy (the maître d' was exceptional as were his staff), but the food was outstanding. I never have pudding, but not being able to face cheese, had the passion fruit soufflé with white chocolate...OMG...I actually had it 2 nights running, unheard of!! Mmmmm!! we will return hopefully in summer to see the lake and gardens. Thank you for making our stay so fab and helping life seem a little more livable.

Room Tip: We had one over looking the lake which was probably better than the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
What delightful feedback to receive- thank you.
The team and I are pleased that you were able to make the most of our Secret Escapes offer.. and the souffle by the sounds of things!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the warmer months where you suggest you will be able to enjoy the grounds and gardens.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We needed to stay in this area after a family wedding just before Christmas, and had trouble finding somewhere to stay for just one night. We had no idea where to start, so it really was simply a question of availability, and we had no idea what to expect for that night. What we found was just wonderful, and a wonderful surprise! After a busy and noisy day, we just loved the peace and quiet - big comfortable sofas in front of the fire with a whole range of newspapers to enjoy!
Breakfast was glorious and unhurried, with an impressive menu.
Service was impeccable.
Our room was superb, very comfortable indeed and with a lovely bathroom.
We shall be returning - and for more than one night!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ali2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your December experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your very short break with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Storrs Hall sometime in 2014 and hopefully for a little longer next time!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Storrs Hall for a very relaxing few days after a hectic family Christmas and New Year. It was absolute bliss. We were upgraded to a suite after requesting a lake view room and enjoyed being pampered by wonderful staff the whole time we were there. Fred was amazing and made sure our stay was memorable, as did the wonderful young lady on reception, whose name escapes me. Breakfast in the room and afternoon tea in the lounge overlooking the lake was heaven and the food in the restaurant first class. We have stayed in many fine hotels and this was one. We plan to make this an annual event but will definitely be back again before then.

Room Tip: The suite at on the corner of the hotel is very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Myrtlemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break with us back in January and we do hope to see you again, as you say, prior to the annual return date!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Took the good lady to Storrs Hall as a birthday surprise and I cannot compliment this hotel highly enough for their attentiveness from start to finish. Prior to arriving, I asked if the hotel could arrange a glass of champagne on arrival, followed by afternoon tea, as well as something special for my partner which turned out to be a chilled bottle of bubbly in the room, complete with a beautifully handwritten postcard wishing her a 'Happy Birthday'.

The room we were allocated was a hugely spacious suite, full of character and filled with historical charm yet it didn't look dated as some hotel rooms of a similar ilk have a tendency to do.

Afternoon tea and dinner were impeccably presented, tasty and filling but not to the point of uncomfortable because you've eaten too much. Breakfast was a good old Full English and, again, filling without feeling like you were fit to burst.

Finally, the staff have to be amongst some of the most friendly, helpful people I've ever encountered in all the hotels I've ever stayed at. NOTHING was too much trouble and other hotels should take a leaf out of the way the Storrs Hall staff treat their guests.

Many thanks to everybody who made my partner's birthday weekend so special.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
The team and I were delighted to be part of your partners special surprise birthday celebrations and thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We hope that you will consider a return visit to Storrs Hall in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

IT is that good at storrs hall my sister in law and i have been over 5 times The team there can not do enough for you Every one is special in there eyes, From the great domestic girls to management Hamish and Fred have been there every time that we have been its a shame that is is out of our price range unless any deals are on then we will be there double quick Lots of love on your new venture liz and pat

Room Tip: you dont have to choose a room because all the rooms are fantastic anyway and you can usualy upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Izziwizzi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

We hope to provide you with another 'offer' so we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,002 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,878 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Property: Storrs Hall
Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing