We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise!”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We needed to stay in this area after a family wedding just before Christmas, and had trouble finding somewhere to stay for just one night. We had no idea where to start, so it really was simply a question of availability, and we had no idea what to expect for that night. What we found was just wonderful, and a wonderful surprise! After a busy and noisy day, we just loved the peace and quiet - big comfortable sofas in front of the fire with a whole range of newspapers to enjoy!
Breakfast was glorious and unhurried, with an impressive menu.
Service was impeccable.
Our room was superb, very comfortable indeed and with a lovely bathroom.
We shall be returning - and for more than one night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ali2636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for sharing your December experience here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your very short break with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Storrs Hall sometime in 2014 and hopefully for a little longer next time!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
There are newer reviews for Storrs Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

579 - 585 of 696 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Storrs Hall for a very relaxing few days after a hectic family Christmas and New Year. It was absolute bliss. We were upgraded to a suite after requesting a lake view room and enjoyed being pampered by wonderful staff the whole time we were there. Fred was amazing and made sure our stay was memorable, as did the wonderful young lady on reception, whose name escapes me. Breakfast in the room and afternoon tea in the lounge overlooking the lake was heaven and the food in the restaurant first class. We have stayed in many fine hotels and this was one. We plan to make this an annual event but will definitely be back again before then.

Room Tip: The suite at on the corner of the hotel is very private and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myrtlemol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your break with us back in January and we do hope to see you again, as you say, prior to the annual return date!

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Took the good lady to Storrs Hall as a birthday surprise and I cannot compliment this hotel highly enough for their attentiveness from start to finish. Prior to arriving, I asked if the hotel could arrange a glass of champagne on arrival, followed by afternoon tea, as well as something special for my partner which turned out to be a chilled bottle of bubbly in the room, complete with a beautifully handwritten postcard wishing her a 'Happy Birthday'.

The room we were allocated was a hugely spacious suite, full of character and filled with historical charm yet it didn't look dated as some hotel rooms of a similar ilk have a tendency to do.

Afternoon tea and dinner were impeccably presented, tasty and filling but not to the point of uncomfortable because you've eaten too much. Breakfast was a good old Full English and, again, filling without feeling like you were fit to burst.

Finally, the staff have to be amongst some of the most friendly, helpful people I've ever encountered in all the hotels I've ever stayed at. NOTHING was too much trouble and other hotels should take a leaf out of the way the Storrs Hall staff treat their guests.

Many thanks to everybody who made my partner's birthday weekend so special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

The team and I were delighted to be part of your partners special surprise birthday celebrations and thank you for sharing your recent experience here on Trip Advisor.

We hope that you will consider a return visit to Storrs Hall in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

IT is that good at storrs hall my sister in law and i have been over 5 times The team there can not do enough for you Every one is special in there eyes, From the great domestic girls to management Hamish and Fred have been there every time that we have been its a shame that is is out of our price range unless any deals are on then we will be there double quick Lots of love on your new venture liz and pat

Room Tip: you dont have to choose a room because all the rooms are fantastic anyway and you can usualy upgrade...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Izziwizzi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.
The team and I are delighted that you have enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

We hope to provide you with another 'offer' so we can welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I , along with our 2 daughters recently had a one night stay at Storrs Hall to celebrate my wife's birthday having spent years admiring the hotel on the many Lake Windermere cruises we have enjoyed during our many camping holidays to the Lake District . To say that we were delighted with our visit would be quite an understatement . On arrival my wife and I were given a free room upgrade and things just carried on getting better for the remainder of our stay . There was a birthday message for my wife in the room which was a lovely touch and the room itself was just wonderful with lovely views of the lake from the window . Our daughters room was smaller but no less wonderful and to be honest the view from their window was actually better than ours but that would be splitting hairs !! All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much trouble and on the morning of our departure we enjoyed a very tasty breakfast in the spotlessly clean dining area .To finally do something after many years of thinking about it always carries the risk of resulting in a disappointment but in the case of Storrs Hall all it did was exceed our expectations and now my wife and I are hoping to visit again for our wedding anniversary and our 2 daughters want to have a joint 18th and 21st birthday stay at the hotel . The visit was actually a surprise to my wife who didn't know where she was going until we actually arrived at the hotel and I would like to close by thanking everyone at Storrs Hall for making it a perfect birthday treat for her . THANKYOU !!!

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms and both were excellent , no issues at all
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with everyone here on Trip Advisor.

The team take great pride in their work and it is always wonderful to hear from our guests reflecting on their stay.

We are delighted to have been part of your special birthday stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed on valentines night for the Storrs Hall valentines special. It was perfect, the staff were all so lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious and luxurious. My partner proposed to me in our room and everyone made it extra special. So much so we are hoping to book our wedding here! I would recommend Storrs Hall to anyone looking for a luxurious day at Lake Windermere. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco-Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

What a romantic tale you have to tell!

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor and we certainly hope that we will become the venue of choice for your special day.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Stores Hall is perfect for a relaxing break in the lakes. Windermere laps onto the hotel grounds and bowness us just a few minutes away.

The rooms are set in a traditional hall and are of a good size. Renovations have been underway and the finish us good. Real fires downstairs, a charming bar and a high class restaurant.

2 things stopped thus being perfect. No music in the restaurant and bars mean atmosphere was a little difficult. There was also a lengthy wait between courses at dinner. Although offset by the high standard if the food, it did threaten to take the shine off.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.

Your comments have been noted and will be discussed, aside from this, we are pleased to hear that you will return.

Yours sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $164 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing