We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Setting, great service”
Review of Storrs Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Storrs Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Prime, possibly the best, location on Windermere with south facing grounds sweeping down to the lake edge. Lovely C18th building with many original features in the comfortable and country house style public rooms. Relaxed ambiance, with welcoming and attentive staff. We arrived late for our three night stay and they happily produced tasty bar meals for us. We also ate in the (full!) restaurant on the Saturday night thoroughly enjoying the elegant food, which while a three course menu, also included two mini courses (amuses bouche). The portion sizes well judged so could enjoy all the subtle flavours and have room for the desserts. The menu offered interesting and surprising flavour combinations, beautifully presented which worked superbly. Also appreciated the chef is aware of the requirements of vegetarians, rather than being an afterthought token gesture. Yes, as others have commented, some of the décor in the bedrooms is a little faded - our bay windows being somewhat tatty, but the view over the grounds and lake more than made up for it. We note from the Manager's comments to other reviews they are planning refurbishment in 2014, which in our book would definitely make their review 5 star. We will return!

Room Tip: Ask for the Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I take great heart in reading your comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed our idyllic location and your overall experience within the hotel.
It is indeed very exciting times for Storrs Hall ahead with our planned refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back in due course.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 744 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

It has all been said, location great, tired hotel, good staff, breakfast was very good....very tasty bacon! Just one additional comment not made, we stayed for 4 nights and ate out every night... The dining room was as quiet as a morgue and seemed like only a set menu which was too much for me. Only discovered later that bar snacks available but even then something in between would be better...these days most people only eat 3 courses for celebration, even in holiday and a decent main in enough.
By the way the restaurant manager is very good, makes you very welcome.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DougReading_BerksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

As you mention, our refurbishment plans are afoot.
I was sorry to hear that you felt the need to dine out every evening. We are indeed very flexible with our food offering and if there was something specific that you would have liked, then our chefs would have happily created this for you, with notice.
Our main dining room is often very busy, but notably we are in the few weeks prior to Christmas and that bit quieter during the midweek. We do offer all day dining which is also reflected in our room service offering and allows an alternative to the formal option we choose to serve in our restaurant. It is a shame that you were not aware of this until perhaps too late.

Perhaps you might return in the future and witness our alterations.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed for one night with a Secret Escapes discount. The hotel is right on the lake and is in a very beautiful location with lovely, well maintained scenic grounds. the hotel is classed as a 4 star but I would really struggle with giving it a 4 star rating.
The receptionist was very friendly and efficient and the check in was speedy. We were offered lots of extras like newspapers to order, drinks, snacks. We asked about the local area and the receptionist offered us lots of information and help, offering to order taxis if we needed and giving directions and advice on the best places to eat. We requested an ice bucket and two wine glasses to be sent to our room and this was done immediately.
The reception area/lobby and the restaurant, library/games room and bar area were lovely with a real welcoming open fire and complementary newspapers and magazines.
The hotel is very 'old world' with paintings, ornaments, etc keeping the theme. There is no lift at all so making it difficult for less able bodied people to get to their room if not staying on the ground floor.
Not impressed with our room though. The room was of reasonable size but the carpets were stained and really shabby looking and went through into the bathroom (I don't think its a good idea to have carpet in the toilet/bathroom area - not hygienic at all). Again the carpet was dirty and stained in the toilet area (not nice at all), the tiles in the shower area were cracked and the shower/bath was quite stained. There was a dirty looking bath mat rolled up next to the toilet brush - deff not four star at all. The woodwork was chipped and needed a good lick of paint and the wooden windowsills were all rotten and again in need of painting.
We had a lakeside view room and I must say that it was the view that made the hotel stay. We had a beautiful peaceful view of the gardens and lake. We took a long walk around the gardens and it is very beautiful and well maintained. There is a jetty where you can take a boat.
The bed was large and very clean and comfortable. There was tea/coffee making facilities, TV, hair dryer, toiletries, TV, telephone. The furniture was old but I suppose was in-keeping with the style of the hotel.
We had drinks in the bar in the evening. The drinks were very reasonably priced for a hotel and the service was excellent. The staff were very attentive, helpful and polite and there was a good choice of food and drink on offer with a lovely roaring fire and relaxed, comfortable seating area.
Breakfast was quite a pleasurable affair. There was a small continental selection on offer which was adequate with a good choice of fresh continental meat, cheeses, cereal, Danish pastries, fruit and yoghurt and a selection of fresh fruit juices and mineral water. There was a menu for cooked breakfast which had a very good choice. My husband had the full English which was excellent and a large plate full. I had the eggs benedict which was superb and again plentiful and very well cooked and well presented. There was a selection of toast offered and choice of drinks. The breakfast service again was excellent and the staff were very attentive and polite. There were Sunday papers offered and the whole time felt unhurried and relaxing.
Check out was just as quick and efficient as the check in with very friendly, helpful staff.
I received an email on my return home from the Manager to say that they hope my stay was pleasurable and giving me special offers if I was to return. We did in fact have a very pleasant and relaxed stay at Storrs Hall. The staff, the service, the lakeside view room, beautiful grounds made our stay a good one. The food was excellent, the drinks reasonably priced, comfy clean bed, peace and quiet. Just needs a tidy up on the paintwork and get rid of the horrible carpets.

Room Tip: Deffinitely get a lakeside view room - beautiful views. Higher floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I take great heart in our customer feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience.
As a Grade II Listed Georgian Mansion Storrs Hall indeed has a great level of character and with age, character and attentive staff combined, we would like to hope that all of our guests feel relaxed and welcomed on every occasion, as you did.

I can pleasingly reassure you that the points you raise about your bedroom are soon to be eradicated with a full refurbishment programme already planned for 2014. With the full support of our owners and the guidance of a new management structure in place, Storrs Hall is soon to be refreshed and restored and moving into a new era.

We hope that you will return sometime in 2014 where you will be able to witness our many alterations.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We booked our weekend at Storrs Hall through Secret Escape and what a fantastic experience it was . Food and Service is probably the best we have ever had . The room was lovely and comfortable . Nothing was to much trouble for the staff and they attended to our every need , Freddie runs this like clockwork but all the staff wok extremely hard and always serve with a smile. We were able to take our sprocker dog which we felt privileged in such a luxurious hotel. We will certainly visit again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your experience with us along with your four legged companion.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Yesterday myself and four other family members enjoyed champagne afternoon tea overlooking the lake in one of Storrs Halls beautiful lounges. The food was outstanding. Lovely finger sandwiches, canapés and decadent luxurious desserts. The afternoon was made extra special by the stunning setting and roaring open fire. The service was extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyGolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your kind comments and are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Champagne afternoon tea with us here at Storrs Hall. The team take great heart in receiving all guest feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Storrs hall is a charming old stately home. Full of antiques it's a bit tired in decor but has old world charm and we really enjoyed our walk in the grounds overlooking lake Windermere
One thing noted - there is no proviso ion for disabled guests as no lifts to upper levels
Service was friendly and attentive and rooms we're comfortable and well appointed clean and with lovely views. Our sleep was disturbed however by a barking dog in the room next door
We ate both nights in the restaurant which was slightly chilly. Portions of food were small and quality was variable and we felt you could get better value and quality elsewhere


Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank georgina_om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the charm of Storrs Hall and our 17 acres of grounds set on the shores of Lake Windermere. I was sorry to hear that you experienced some disturbance, for which I apologise, on behalf of the dogs owners. Your feedback has been noted regarding other points and raised with the team for review.

We have many plans ahead to refurbish and restore Storrs Hall, we hope that you might return in the future, where you will be able to witness these alterations.

Yours Sincerely

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at Storrs Hall for 2 nights. We had stayed before some years ago when it was under a different management. This small mansion has one of the best settings for a hotel in the entire Lake District. It is beautiful, with grounds to wander around in and enjoy the views over Lake Windermere. We had a 3 course evening meal on our first night. It was good: £37.50 for 3 courses plus an amuse bouche and a pre dessert.
The breakfast menu was excellent with a wide and imaginative choice. I would have given it an excellent rating but it was let down by a number of things which could easily be rectified with better management of staff. The service was exceptionally slow. It didn't matter for the evening meal as we weren't rushing off anywhere but for breakfast the excellent menu was totally spoilt by the food arriving cold. I can only think it had been awaiting collection in the kitchen for far too long. The head waiter- Frederick- is a great asset to this hotel. He has a wonderful friendly manner with guests and perhaps makes them less cross than they would normally be with poor service! There seemed to be plenty of staff on so I couldn't work out where the problem was. (The table next to us complained about the wait so please don't think I just like to moan!) Also, if a guest books an evening meal, it should be automatic for the member of staff to ask if there are any dietary requirements. Good establishments do and it saves any mishaps for the chef and the guest.
Housekeeping: towels on the floor need replacing not hung back up and toiletries too are needed to be replaced. These aren't major problems to resolve and at the moment they do let the hotel down.
Carpets do need replacing but I'm sure the new management will do that. I know I've put some negative comments; they are honest ones but I would still recommend this hotel as a place to stay. It has a wonderful setting, meals can be enjoyed in the verandah which has views overlooking the lake, the staff are pleasant and it hasn't gone down the "minimalist" line as some older hotels in the Lakes have done. The room we had was a standard one but it was fine (£120 per night inc. breakfast). The better rooms are at the back of the hotel as they have a view of the Lake. Yes, as one reviewer said, there is carpet in the bathroom but our bathroom was modern and clean. Ok, there was a small crack in the sink, but it didn't matter.
It was only let down by the points I mentioned. We still had a good time there. It's just a short distance from Bowness but it has a really peaceful atmosphere. There's a real fire burning in reception and the drawing room is the kind of place you can just "flop" in. Very good place for relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a view of Windermere but are obviously more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bec011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah E, General Manager at Storrs Hall, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Many thanks for taking then time to share your Storrs Hall experience here on Trip Advisor.

It is always so gratifying to learn of our guests' enjoyment of their time and the team will take great heart from your positive feedback. Your comments have been noted and the shortfalls have been raised to avoid such happenings in the future.
There have indeed been many changes in recent months at the hotel, although the ownership is not one of them and remains the same for fifteen years. The management support company is the new addition and we are working hard with our the full support of our owners to improve and upgrade the service and overall product at Storrs in readiness for Spring 2014.

We hope that you might return again in the future where you will be sure to witness our many alterations.

Kind Regards

Sarah Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storrs Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storrs Hall

Address: Newby Bridge Road, Storrs Park, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3LG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $130 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Storrs Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star hotel, 30 bedrooms & 9 self catering lodges set in 17 acres of grounds on the shores of Lake Windermere with a Two AA Rosette award winning restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Storrs Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storrs Hall Hotel Windermere
Hotel Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall Windermere
Storrs Hall Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing