We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub Grub”
Review of Hole in t'Wall

Hole in t'Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub Grub”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

We visited here yesterday. The portions are huge, the service is quick, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Good choice of British Pub Grub! There is an outdoor area which was very clean, the pub is child friendly. We would return!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    305
    72
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lunch in the sun”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We visited on a beautiful day and sat outside on the terrace to sample the real ales and the lunch menu. The service was great, as was the beer and the food. The pub is clean and tidy and would be a great choice on a wet day or through the winter as well. It is a little off the beaten track but well worth the effort to find it.

Helpful?
Thank Planetsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hope you're hungry!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Lovely old pub ,great service but oh the size of the portions they are huge!!!!
The quality of the food was very good though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not For Us”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

If you like, grubby old traditional British Pubs, then this is for you!

It used to be the place to go & sit out for a drink 'back in the day' when waterskiing was allowed on the lake. A coach load of Japanese tourist arrived when we we're there & pretty much took over the place.

Drinks are drinks from any pub. We didn't have any food.Just not for us. sorry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG-Lancashire-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely pub for a rainy day :)”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Popped into this pub for a drink and some food on a rainy day in Windermere last weekend. I had read the reviews on trip adviser before i went so thought i would try it out. It was packed which is always a good sign, so i found a table outside and sat and drank a lovely pint of local lager, think it was called Lakeland 5%, tasty

It is an oldy woldy pub with a decent atmosphere, taxidermy on the walls, quite dark inside but that works well with the theme.

I then decided to have some food too and went for the scampi and chips, it came very quickly indeed, and was a huge portion. Very nice.

I did notice that there was a smell coming into the back room from the toilets so hopefully this will be addressed and resolved.

On the whole a lovely experience and i would go back..

Situated in a good location right in the centre of town

thanks :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in t'Wall also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hole in t'Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing