We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night”
Review of Hole in t'Wall

Hole in t'Wall
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great night”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Called for a drink & stayed all night, live music & great atmosphere. Couldn't fault the place & bang in the centre of town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marylynnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    305
    72
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Come for the taxidermy, stay for the beer.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Excellent pub, with a genuinely interesting interior. The beer is excellent and there is a goodly choice. They also serve a Real Cider (Old Rosie) which is exactly what my wife favours. The staff were friendly and accommodating( making tea late at night, for our designated driver). Well played everybody.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusilier21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely pub.”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Great pub for sitting outside or in. Lovely staff. Did not eat here so cannot comment on food. Old rosie cider is a must. Definately a must visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethanyA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice find”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We trailed around Bowness early one evening looking for a light meal that wasn't too financially crippling and happened along Hole in't Wall. It was as others have said very quaint and the surroundings were an experience in themselves - although don't visit if you find stuffed animals creepy! My husband and I shared a huge ploughman's platter and a serving of fried Feta cheese in breadcrumbs and it was quite delicious. Because it was a sunny evening most of the patrons were outside - we had a table inside which was quite small ( the pub, not the table) and I imagine getting a table on a rainy evening would be difficult. We would definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbigailBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very quaint”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely little pub which is relatively easy to find, yet tucked away from the crowds. The atmosphere is great, the food and drink is probably leaning on the average side of things, but in all honesty it doesn't really matter given the overall experience. I will definitely visit it again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in t'Wall also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Hole in t'Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing