We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive Disappiontment”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Blenheim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blenheim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive Disappiontment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

On first impression, contacting this guest house and viewing the website, the place looks delightful! However, this is not the case at all!
The complicated cancellation policy should have been an indicator that many have stayed here before and have not been happy not to mention that payment before arrival and before actually seeing the room was requested!
The room turned out to be tiny - it was supposed to be a meduim room with views and turned out to be a tiny room with a bed wedged in it and the samllest bathroom I have ever seen! In short I felt robbed! Also slightly trapped too, as they had taken the money and we couldn't afford to stay somewhere else too!
The breakfast left a little to be desired but I do have to say that the owners are very plesant and endeering - though not enough to ever even think of going there again!
It ia also worthy of note that the small hill they describe is actually massive and involves a great deal of effort to climb!

To summarise, it was a rip off! Don't be fooled by the fancy pictures on the website - it's shabby and run down and unless you're paying top whack for the large rooms (which are mega money!) it's really not a pleasent place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moomin235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    78
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
37
206
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at Blenheim Lodge and were extremely disappointed with the whole experience.

The Coniston room was described to us as a medium sized room however this description proved in reality to be imaginative. In fact the room was tiny and with a 4 poster bed squeezed in it was actually a struggle to move around the room at all. The bathroom was also incredibly small and it was a challenge to use the facilities in the confined space.

This Guest house is in no way luxurious, the decor is dated and tired and there is a distinct lack of facilities offered. I would expect far more when being charged nearly £100 per night. You also have to take into account that the nearest Restaurant and Bar are at the foot of an extremely steep hill, it is fine going down but coming back is a bit more of an effort!!

On the whole Blenheim Lodge is very expensive and the cost does not reflect the accommodation provided.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

My husband & I have just come back from a night at Blenheim Lodge, which we booked for our first year anniversary.

We had a lovely time! Janz & Robert were the perfect hosts & made us feel so at home.

We highly recommend the 'Attic Room' which was very beautifully decorated with Janz's own antique furniture & the comfiest bed I've ever slept in!

Fantastic views, delicious breakfast & wonderful hospitality...what more could you ask for?

  • Liked — The location - peaceful but not in the middle of nowhere.
  • Disliked — The very steep hill - I need to go on a diet!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Blenheim Lodge and couldnt have been happier with the whole experience. Extremely friendly and hard working hosts who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable and as comfortable as possible. Lovely, clean room with a view of the lake, and a new modern bathroom. The home cooked breakfasts were fantastic, lots of choice and always a perfect start to the day. The lodge does stand at the top of a hill but this only adds to its charm and makes the view even more spectacular. There is a shortcut through to Bowness which cuts out the hill and its only a few minutes walk.
Our only negative is that we couldnt stay any longer! We will defintely return in the future.
Thank you Blenheim Lodge for a wonderful stay!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank CJWBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in the 'Blue Room'. The website makes it look large and spacious where as in reality it is small and cramped. The en-suite has to be seen to be believed - not even enough room to turn round after a shower.

More should be made of the location, the walk up the hill is steep and would prove a problem to anyone not in the greatest of health.

Breakfast was generally sparse and we felt there was a lack of flexibility in that we had to choose the day before what we would want to eat. I like to have the flexibility of what I eat but this prebooking along with having to ask for anything more than 1 glass of juice or 1 piece of toast was highly annoying and looked penny pinching. With the amount they were charging they could have afforded to be far more generous..

  • Liked — The Views
  • Disliked — Size of rooms, value for money
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RossKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

Very disappointing.

The whole interior of the guest house was very tired and rundown. The pictures of the bedrooms as shown on the website are very misleading. The rooms look fresh and clean but when you actually stay in them look as if they need a facelift.

We were a group of four and received 1/2 a slice of toast each and had to ask for more and the full English breakfast was the smallest amount that could be given.

Although the owners seem like nice people, the cost of the rooms does not justify what you actually get for your money. At £98.00 per night for the Coniston and £134.00 for the Langdale I really did expect a much higher standard of accommodation and food.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liddle8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

From Holland we stay for 10 days in Blenheim. Our room The Dales Way is a very nice, French decorated room. All times very clean! The owners are hard working people to get our stay comfortable. Nice to meet them. There is a lot of choice for breakfast. Very good. Sometimes to much food (maybey normal in England?) A littlebit misery that there is about 1 hour to get in for breakfast. Nice diningroom. For walkers there are lots of possibilities to have good walks in the area. Just 5 minutes walk there are many, many restaurants. I will tell my friends about Blenheim-lodge.
Bernette & Dick

  • Liked — Interior of the room
  • Disliked — Small time for breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#25 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holmlea Guest House
Holmlea Guest House
#31 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Lodge

Property: Blenheim Lodge
Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blenheim Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STUNNING VIEWS FROM YOUR ROOM: Blenheim Lodge B and B sits in the heart of the Lake District National Park and boasts spectacular Lake Windermere and fell views. QUIET LOCATION AND DALES WAY WALK: Nestled in peaceful countryside, our Lake District Bed and Breakfast adjoins National Trust acres, only a minute's stroll to The Dales Way Walk leading to 4 panoramic viewpoints. BEST OF BOTH WORLDS: Hidden at the end of a cul-de-sac, Blenheim Lodge is a quiet retreat tucked away from noisy main road traffic, crowds, and late night revelers, but only a 5-minute walk to the amenities and attractions of Bowness centre and Lake Windermere, offering the best of both worlds with relaxing accommodation combined with stunning views. COMFY BEDS: Guests can be assured of a restful night's sleep with our bespoke beds, most with deep pocket sprung mattresses topped with plump pillows and fluffy duvets. LOCAL PRODUCE: Blenheim Lodge serves quality hearty butcher-made sausage and bacon. A local dairy delivers fresh milk and eggs daily. MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR STAY: Blenheim Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast, but we are more than happy to act as concierge where we can assist. Feel free to ask help with transport, guiding for hikes and angling; romantic escapes; dinner arrangements; etc. FREEBIES: We offer 2 free local fishing permits and have outside taps for walkers and anglers to clean their boots, fish and fishing tackle! There is also free WIFI and a private on-site car park. SPECIAL OFFERS: Please contact us DIRECT for any special deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Blenheim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Blenheim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing