We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blenheim Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$155
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$338
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$216
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$161
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$203
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$144
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
186
84
32
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
84
32
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hilllake districtfour poster bedlangdale roombay windowlovely hostsbiscuitsfresh towelslovely roomlovely weekendfull englishbreakfast was deliciousstunning viewswedding anniversaryfew minutes walkyogurtrobert
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 325 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived to an exceedingly warm welcome, with helpful tips offered about the local area and a comforting cup of tea provided in the charming lounge. The room was very clean, beautifully presented and fully stocked as appropriate for a guest house. There were fabulous views and the four poster bed was incredible. Breakfast in the morning was served in a friendly and efficient manner, and requests for minor alterations to breakfast staples (eg, no tomato, extra egg) were graciously accepted and acted upon.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently spent 3 glorious nights enjoying Janz and Robert's wonderful hospitality.
From the moment we were met at the door and greeted by name and a welcoming pot of tea and / or coffee, till we left with best wishes ringing in our ears, we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts with great personal service, a very comfortable lounge with great Lake views (The sunsets were stunning) and hosts who were so very helpful in helping us make the most of our short time with them in this beautiful part of the UK.
We very much appreciated the fine attention to detail in our room's authentic French furnishings and ambiance, and the calming view across the woods that we were afforded. We would recommend you explore your room options when booking, for choice of fine authentic furnishings.

Room Tip: Book early - there are great Lake views from the front rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BandJGredig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our last BnB after walking the Dales Way. Compared to the other places we stayed, it was very disappointing. Very overpriced and the single room that I stayed in was hardly bigger than what an ordinary bathroom is. The decor was poor and the service provided by the owners was not the most hospitable. They were not willing to move breakfast forward 15 minutes (to 7.45, hardly unreasonable) and reluctant to help with our wet gear. The croissant for breakfast was also very stale and nearly un-edable. This place is not what I would think, worthy of a 4 star AA rating, the single room is hardly fit for a child. Unfortunately a disappointing end to my walk.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here beware of the single rooms - honestly I would look elsewhere as there are many wonderful choices in Bowness.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Rm76226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

This is part of the same group from the review before that booked our rooms for the end of the Dales Way walk. They booked through an agent and mention that the rooms are overpriced. We do not know what the agent charged them for the rooms so we cannot comment on what they think is overpriced.

We are inspected and rated 4 stars by the AA and the AA would not have given us 4 stars if the rooms and food were not up to their independent standards. The wet boots that this man presented to us were dried overnight for him and presented to him the next day. We could hardly dry soaked boots within 15 minutes as his friend expected.

We are sorry that the writer did not enjoy himself and can only apologise if they thought that our service was below par. We do try our best to be helpful and indeed provided breakfast at 7:50 am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Blenheim Lodge is situated adjacent to the finish of the Dales Way long distance footpath.We emerged from this exhausted and drenched after all day rain to the most unhelpful/unfriendly reception I have ever received.I asked for help drying boots/clothes and was told there was none-we then asked for a slightly earlier than 8.00am breakfast to catch a train and were refused.The single rooms (I saw 2 ) were tiny with threadbare carpets and what I think was wartime utility furniture.The breakfast was the most meagre of our 8 day trip-served by the owner in filthy denims following a dog walk.Don't go near this place-there are multiple alternatives close by.I was reluctant to offer a score of one star-but cannot award less.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We are sorry that this person felt that he had not had a good experience. It was indeed a very wet day when he and a group of three others arrived for a one-night stay at Blenheim Lodge. I personally hung up his jacket and hat in a warm and dry area in order to dry them. I also took all four pairs of boots to dry them. Unfortunately, within 15 minutes of taking this reviewer’s boots to dry, he asked to have them back because he wanted to pack them into his luggage. Also he wanted back his jacket and hat because he required them to go out again in the rain. Hence, of course, it was impossible to dry his belongings for him. The other people in the group left their boots for us to dry and by the morning, when I returned them just before breakfast, they were fine.
Our wool carpets are far from threadbare, and the furniture we have in our guest house include antique pieces. The rooms booked included a large four-poster room with panoramic lake views, and two single rooms with north lake views. The single rooms were far from tiny as claimed by the reviewer, as each includes a single bed (one had a 3’6” larger than normal single bed), a wardrobe, a chair, and a dressing chest. One has a bedside table, and another a bedside shelf. Both are ensuite.
The reviewer wanted a breakfast at 7 am. He and the others had a train to catch at just before 9 am. We ordered a taxi for their group to pick up at 8:25 am – the time they requested, giving ample time for the 5-minute ride to the train station in Windermere. Breakfast was served at 7:50 am when the group came down to the breakfast room early as discussed, and the group was able to enjoy a leisurely breakfast with time to sit and chat in the breakfast room for at least 10 minutes after finishing their food before returning to their rooms to get their luggage.
As usual, we ask our guests whether we can offer them more of anything else to eat or drink at breakfast time, but the group declined. We try our best to be as helpful as possible but it is never possible to please everyone. We have many Dales Way walkers coming to stay with us because Blenheim Lodge is the first guest house off The Dales Way, with some coming in drenched and others arriving with the sunshine. Bar the experience of this one person, our Dales Way walkers invariably find us helpful and friendly, and we often start their stay off with us with a hot cuppa and biscuits on arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Located close the lake and shops great views from some of the rooms. The hosts are extremely helpful and very accommodating. The steep walk back can be found to be difficult, but you wouldn't have those magnificent views.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikerbabe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews