We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Windemere gem...”
Review of Blenheim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blenheim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Windemere gem...”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently spent 3 glorious nights enjoying Janz and Robert's wonderful hospitality.
From the moment we were met at the door and greeted by name and a welcoming pot of tea and / or coffee, till we left with best wishes ringing in our ears, we enjoyed wonderful breakfasts with great personal service, a very comfortable lounge with great Lake views (The sunsets were stunning) and hosts who were so very helpful in helping us make the most of our short time with them in this beautiful part of the UK.
We very much appreciated the fine attention to detail in our room's authentic French furnishings and ambiance, and the calming view across the woods that we were afforded. We would recommend you explore your room options when booking, for choice of fine authentic furnishings.

Room Tip: Book early - there are great Lake views from the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJGredig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    81
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
37
210
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our last BnB after walking the Dales Way. Compared to the other places we stayed, it was very disappointing. Very overpriced and the single room that I stayed in was hardly bigger than what an ordinary bathroom is. The decor was poor and the service provided by the owners was not the most hospitable. They were not willing to move breakfast forward 15 minutes (to 7.45, hardly unreasonable) and reluctant to help with our wet gear. The croissant for breakfast was also very stale and nearly un-edable. This place is not what I would think, worthy of a 4 star AA rating, the single room is hardly fit for a child. Unfortunately a disappointing end to my walk.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here beware of the single rooms - honestly I would look elsewhere as there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Rm76226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
This is part of the same group from the review before that booked our rooms for the end of the Dales Way walk. They booked through an agent and mention that the rooms are overpriced. We do not know what the agent charged them for the rooms so we cannot comment on what they think is overpriced.

We are inspected and rated 4 stars by the AA and the AA would not have given us 4 stars if the rooms and food were not up to their independent standards. The wet boots that this man presented to us were dried overnight for him and presented to him the next day. We could hardly dry soaked boots within 15 minutes as his friend expected.

We are sorry that the writer did not enjoy himself and can only apologise if they thought that our service was below par. We do try our best to be helpful and indeed provided breakfast at 7:50 am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Blenheim Lodge is situated adjacent to the finish of the Dales Way long distance footpath.We emerged from this exhausted and drenched after all day rain to the most unhelpful/unfriendly reception I have ever received.I asked for help drying boots/clothes and was told there was none-we then asked for a slightly earlier than 8.00am breakfast to catch a train and were refused.The single rooms (I saw 2 ) were tiny with threadbare carpets and what I think was wartime utility furniture.The breakfast was the most meagre of our 8 day trip-served by the owner in filthy denims following a dog walk.Don't go near this place-there are multiple alternatives close by.I was reluctant to offer a score of one star-but cannot award less.

Room Tip: Just don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are sorry that this person felt that he had not had a good experience. It was indeed a very wet day when he and a group of three others arrived for a one-night stay at Blenheim Lodge. I personally hung up his jacket and hat in a warm and dry area in order to dry them. I also took all four pairs of boots to dry them. Unfortunately, within 15 minutes of taking this reviewer’s boots to dry, he asked to have them back because he wanted to pack them into his luggage. Also he wanted back his jacket and hat because he required them to go out again in the rain. Hence, of course, it was impossible to dry his belongings for him. The other people in the group left their boots for us to dry and by the morning, when I returned them just before breakfast, they were fine.
Our wool carpets are far from threadbare, and the furniture we have in our guest house include antique pieces. The rooms booked included a large four-poster room with panoramic lake views, and two single rooms with north lake views. The single rooms were far from tiny as claimed by the reviewer, as each includes a single bed (one had a 3’6” larger than normal single bed), a wardrobe, a chair, and a dressing chest. One has a bedside table, and another a bedside shelf. Both are ensuite.
The reviewer wanted a breakfast at 7 am. He and the others had a train to catch at just before 9 am. We ordered a taxi for their group to pick up at 8:25 am – the time they requested, giving ample time for the 5-minute ride to the train station in Windermere. Breakfast was served at 7:50 am when the group came down to the breakfast room early as discussed, and the group was able to enjoy a leisurely breakfast with time to sit and chat in the breakfast room for at least 10 minutes after finishing their food before returning to their rooms to get their luggage.
As usual, we ask our guests whether we can offer them more of anything else to eat or drink at breakfast time, but the group declined. We try our best to be as helpful as possible but it is never possible to please everyone. We have many Dales Way walkers coming to stay with us because Blenheim Lodge is the first guest house off The Dales Way, with some coming in drenched and others arriving with the sunshine. Bar the experience of this one person, our Dales Way walkers invariably find us helpful and friendly, and we often start their stay off with us with a hot cuppa and biscuits on arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Located close the lake and shops great views from some of the rooms. The hosts are extremely helpful and very accommodating. The steep walk back can be found to be difficult, but you wouldn't have those magnificent views.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bikerbabe68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our main objection to this b&b is that it was poor value for money and the website is very misleading.We are surprised by the other positive reviews and can only imagine some rooms are much better.
we stayed one night in the Blue Room and were charged £110.The website and the owner described it as a standard room with a small ensuite and pretty lake views. In fact the room was tiny...and we are both small! the ensuite was a studded partition which separated it from the bed and we were unable to dry off or dress in there it was so tiny. The room was on the ground floor and directly overlooked the car park and house opposite so it had NO privacy. Furthermore the lake was only visible by standing to the left of the window and looking far right!
Other reviewers have said breakfast was small and we echo this, plus it was served in a 45 minute window between 8.30-9.15....I mean really, why do people return there im baffled! I would add that our friends stayed at a different b&b which was much smarter for £90;oh and they served breakfast between 7.30-9.30!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank anna_liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We were expecting this review. The Blue Room is on the ground floor as stated on our website, and it has always been termed a standard double room with small shower ensuite, again as stated on our website. The ensuite has everything needful: standard shower cubicle with electric shower, sink and toilet, shelves and hooks. However, it is small, so we state that the ensuite is small.

The price of £110 for The Blue Room, as I told the lady, was because it was only a 1-night stay on a Saturday night. If they had stayed more than a night, the price would be have been reduced by at least £10, which I explained to her prior to her booking the room. I also asked her to take a look at the room online and read the description and look at the photos before booking because we like people to know what they are booking prior to doing so. This way, people can see whether our rooms are suitable for their requirements or not. All the photos she would have seen online were taken by previous guests who have kindly allowed us to use the photographs, so what one sees online is what one gets.

When she complained and asked for a larger room on arrival, we offered to refund all her money if she wanted to go elsewhere, as all our rooms were full that night. However, she elected to stay, despite her reservations.

The photo on our website shows the room overlooking the car park and house across the very quiet residential road. There are, however, lovely Lake views. (See 'View to die for' written on Tripadvisor on 11 May 2013.)

Other people have found the same room that this lady stayed in very comfortable, and one of these reviewers actually stayed a week with us. (See recent reviews: 'Weeks' written on 20 June 2013 and 'Lovely weekend break' written on 26 March 2013.)

For breakfast, we ask people to come into the dining room any time between 8:30-9:15 am at weekends. Guests may stay as long as they like, and in fact, although this lady did not come in for breakfast, her husband did, and he did not leave the breakfast room until at least 9:30 am.

We cannot comment on other B&Bs but all B&Bs are run differently and some have staff, whilst others do not, so ways of time management are going to be different. The lady did not have breakfast as she did not come into the breakfast room at all, but her husband had ordered a traditional breakfast. When asked whether we could offer him more, he declined, saying he was filled up.

Our breakfast plates are not piled high, which is perhaps what the lady wanted. Rather, we use quality local produce with hand-made meaty sausages and bacon and large farm eggs delivered fresh each morning. These quality items (not from the supermarket or cash and carry) are what make our breakfasts. If you were to read 'Lovely weekend break' and many more other reviews, you would see that in the former, the writer says that 'Breakfast was good and the owners made sure we left feeling full!'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days and 3 nights at Blenheim Lodge, and loved every second. The owners were friendly and very accomodating to us both. Our room had the most breathtaking view of lake Windemere. Our room was a lovely place to have our base and we spent an evening in our room just relaxing. The location was perfect, just a 1 minute walk from the lodge. We both looked forward to our breakfast each day which was a great way to start our day. I have and will recommend Blenheim Lodge to anyone who wants to take a breal in the Lake District. We cant wait to go back. The whole experience was first class.

Room Tip: Check internet before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I was well looked after by friendly owners. Fantastic location and lovely well equiped clean room. The food was great and the service fantastic. Staff with a wide knowledge or the area were a great help. I would definitely recommend the Blenheim Lodge to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing break in the Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#29 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Lodge

Property: Blenheim Lodge
Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blenheim Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STUNNING VIEWS FROM YOUR ROOM: Blenheim Lodge B and B sits in the heart of the Lake District National Park and boasts spectacular Lake Windermere and fell views. QUIET LOCATION AND DALES WAY WALK: Nestled in peaceful countryside, our Lake District Bed and Breakfast adjoins National Trust acres, only a minute's stroll to The Dales Way Walk leading to 4 panoramic viewpoints. BEST OF BOTH WORLDS: Hidden at the end of a cul-de-sac, Blenheim Lodge is a quiet retreat tucked away from noisy main road traffic, crowds, and late night revelers, but only a 5-minute walk to the amenities and attractions of Bowness centre and Lake Windermere, offering the best of both worlds with relaxing accommodation combined with stunning views. COMFY BEDS: Guests can be assured of a restful night's sleep with our bespoke beds, most with deep pocket sprung mattresses topped with plump pillows and fluffy duvets. LOCAL PRODUCE: Blenheim Lodge serves quality hearty butcher-made sausage and bacon. A local dairy delivers fresh milk and eggs daily. MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR STAY: Blenheim Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast, but we are more than happy to act as concierge where we can assist. Feel free to ask help with transport, guiding for hikes and angling; romantic escapes; dinner arrangements; etc. FREEBIES: We offer 2 free local fishing permits and have outside taps for walkers and anglers to clean their boots, fish and fishing tackle! There is also free WIFI and a private on-site car park. SPECIAL OFFERS: Please contact us DIRECT for any special deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, LateRooms and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blenheim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Blenheim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing