We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RATHER KNAFF”
Review of Blenheim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blenheim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hi, stayed at the Lodge in May 2013. The website is very misleading. The rooms look glorious when in fact they are small, tatty, dirty, and need refurbishing. We booked a room for £100 per night. The room was very small and the en-suite was a cupboard! We asked to be moved to another room and were told by the lady owner, we would have to pay another £10 because the other room was bigger...we refused and were eventually moved to the attic. Again, a very disappointing room. The road up to the hotel was a very steep hill. Disabled people be beware. Now for the breakfast....it was appauling; toast rack half fall, cheap floppy toast. Cheap orange juice, likewise the English breakfast. Very disappointing stay. Was booked for 2 nights, checked out after one night. On arrival, was not welcomed by the man owner - thought he was the handyman because on trying to gain entry to b&b; he shouted over "keep knocking"...someone will come out. Why did he not show us in as owner. Extremely unhelpful. Was cold too - heating not adequate.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
13  Thank Sheri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Alas, we think that the person writing this review has the wrong place altogether! She says that she travelled with family but we do not have family rooms in the attic of our guest house. We have instead a single bedroom and a double room. It is difficult to comment on the other aspects of this review as Blenheim Lodge does not have such family rooms as she is mentioning. In fact, at Blenheim Lodge, we do NOT have any family rooms at all. We only have two rooms which can be used for double, twin or triple occupancy which are larger than the attic rooms and are on the first floor of the house, but NO family rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 322 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here last weekend with our elderly parents. They enjoyed the stay as did we. Rooms are somewhat cramped but that's just the way the lodge is structured. The rooms themselves are very tidy and decorated / furnished tastefully. The ensuites are again small but serve the purpose very well.
The location and the steep climb up could be an issue but both my parents managed the climb, albeit slowly, a few times.
The views from the hotel are great and parking ample.
I think what tips the lodge from a 3 1/2 to a 4 are the owners. Both Robert & Janz were very helpful without being overtly so.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alokrajani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent two nights in Blenheim Lodge in the Blue Room on the ground floor. A very comfortable room, small but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was lovely on both mornings and well organised. Rob and Janz are very accommodating and made us feel very welcome.
Janz also explained the short cut to the town cutting off the main hill which was very well received!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda0365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Robert and Janz very welcoming and accommodating throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed well presented, tasty, locally sourced breakfasts. Our room, the Blue Room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the Lake. We slept well. We were fortunate to spend our last night in the Langdale with a bay window and a view of the Lake and sunset from the comfortable four poster bed.
The Lodge was within 5 minutes walking distance to the town.
Thank you very much for a lovely stay, we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon_Jan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Thank you Rob and Janz for making our second stay at Blenheim Lodge as fantasic as it was the first time. The scrambled egg was excelllent. The room was immaculate as usual. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until the sad day when we had to leave to come home.
Can't wait to see you again soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth-Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I do not normally write reviews but the high level of hospitality shown to us during our stay at Blenheim Lodge,definitely deserved positive feedback.

A group of 4 of us stayed at Blenheim Lodge for the May Bank Holiday and Janz and Robert went out of their way to make us feel comfortable whilst we were there and even before when I was booking the accommodation! They were always forthcoming with information on where to go and what to see and kindly let us play with their 2 lovely dogs even when I'm sure they were both very busy.

Breakfast was good with varied cereals and always hot and ready upon arrival to the dining room. Lots of attention to individual details like which tea or coffee each of us liked without having to ask. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, each with their own personality. The view from the hotel was gorgeous with lots of natural light and it was in a good location with easy access to public transport.

For my first time in the Lake District, I am glad that we stayed here and know that my friends and I had a lovely relaxing weekend away thanks to the lovely service we were treated too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked the blenheim lodge for a 2 night break in the lakes for our minimoon.
From the initial booking Janz was very friendly and helpful. When we arrived she showed us our room and explained how to get the lake and town centre through a short cut to miss out the very steep hill up to the lodge.
Our room the attic was very cleans and well presented. The bathroom wasn't en suite but was private to us across the hallway with a lovely large bath. The views from the room were amazing and well worth the money of booking here.(even though it was a very good price)
The breakfasts were tasty too and were always asked if we wanted anymore.
Good location to everything and all within walking distance. Overall it was a very pleasant stay and would defiantly stay there again.
We even got some chocolates from Janz with it been a minimoon:)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#30 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#26 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#10 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lingwood Lodge
Lingwood Lodge
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Lodge

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $119 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blenheim Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STUNNING VIEWS FROM YOUR ROOM: Blenheim Lodge B and B sits in the heart of the Lake District National Park and boasts spectacular Lake Windermere and fell views. QUIET LOCATION AND DALES WAY WALK: Nestled in peaceful countryside, our Lake District Bed and Breakfast adjoins National Trust acres, only a minute's stroll to The Dales Way Walk leading to 4 panoramic viewpoints. BEST OF BOTH WORLDS: Hidden at the end of a cul-de-sac, Blenheim Lodge is a quiet retreat tucked away from noisy main road traffic, crowds, and late night revelers, but only a 5-minute walk to the amenities and attractions of Bowness centre and Lake Windermere, offering the best of both worlds with relaxing accommodation combined with stunning views. COMFY BEDS: Guests can be assured of a restful night's sleep with our bespoke beds, most with deep pocket sprung mattresses topped with plump pillows and fluffy duvets. LOCAL PRODUCE: Blenheim Lodge serves quality hearty butcher-made sausage and bacon. A local dairy delivers fresh milk and eggs daily. MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR STAY: Blenheim Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast, but we are more than happy to act as concierge where we can assist. Feel free to ask help with transport, guiding for hikes and angling; romantic escapes; dinner arrangements; etc. FREEBIES: We offer 2 free local fishing permits and have outside taps for walkers and anglers to clean their boots, fish and fishing tackle! There is also free WIFI and a private on-site car park. SPECIAL OFFERS: Please contact us DIRECT for any special deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Blenheim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Blenheim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing