We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fruity shower foam gets you excited about taking a shower!”
Review of Blenheim Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blenheim Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Being from Singapore and after knowing that the lady Manager is from Singapore too, I confirmed the booking without second thoughts.

It was a decision I did not regret. The Lodge is a charming place with fantastic view. Manager Jaze also took extra effort to ensure our Singaporean habit is taken care off - shower facility in the en-suite bathroom. Everything we need, were very well taken care off. Manager also gave very informative tips on best touring plans.

No meals in-house other than breakfast, so be prepared for a short stroll during meal times. Wish the bed could be firmer.

Lini & Lik from Singapore

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d0(nt)ask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Blenheim Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 321 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had a very restful night at Blenheim Lodge enjoying its jaunty view of Windermere and the warm family hospitality of the owners. Perfectly situated for the Dalesway walk which quickly rewarded us with spectacular 360* views. Lots of good meals available in easy walking distance in Bowness - Porto for something a bit special.

Room Tip: Ask the owner for her excellent advice.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Me and my Husband planned our 1st trip to the Lake District to celbrate our 1st wedding Anniversary. I had no idea which area to stay in so went with friends reccommendations and looked at websites etc to make a final descision.

The website for Blenheim Lodge was very well layed out and informative, showing lots of photographs and giving the customer a general overview of all the rooms for comparison and the local area. Janz was extremely helpful from the offset, sending me emails and comparing rooms/prices etc.

On arrival we tackeled the hill (which is quite steep as others have mentioned, but well worth it at the top!) and were greeted by Robert who showed us to the room, explained about filling in a form for breakfast and told us to just ask if we needed anything.

We were staying in the Langdale room which was on the 1st floor and to the front of the B&B with beautiful panoramic views over Windermere (We hardly closed the curtains!) the website had given a very accurate photograph of both the views and the room decor. The furniture is old and antique - some people dont like this! - i find that it adds character to the room and fits the space nicely, new furniture just wouldnt look right!

The 4 poster bed is beautiful in every way.. especially the detailed wood. It is very sturdy and comfortable and the mattress did wonders for our aching muscles after walking out on the Fells.

We were provided with a lovely breakfast in the light and airy dining room... bacon cooked to perfection, with the little crispy bits round the edges! Even my husband who has quite a large appetite was satisfieed with it! you can pick from a wide range of things for breakfast (e.g on the 3rd morning we had bioled egg and toast, cooked breakfast the 1st morning) and there are cereals and juice provided.

Janz is very knowledgable on the local area and gave us a few reccommendations on places to visit/ to eat, She was able to take our bikes into the downstairs area so that they were out of the rain and secure, and provided us with clean/fresh towels every day and the room tidy and organised whilst we were out and about.

Although the hill leading up to Blenheim Lodge is fairly steep (and can be difficult to climb if not wearing appropriate footwear!) it is definatley worth it for the beautiful views that you get over the top! Alot of places that we found were on/around big hills, it is just where the place is located.

Definatley worth what we paid for the stay, as included was a comfy bed, beautiful views, cooked breakfast, free access to pool/spa, complementary toiletries/tea and coffee facilities and a lovely host!

we had a brilliant time in the Lakes and will be returning soon! :-)

Room Tip: rooms at the top of the lodge have the best views! Dont put small items on the radiator as i got...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarnyaTye2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife and Istayed at this establishment and found the accommodation was poor, it was cramped and the tek fromm the Blenhein Lodge was awful and very steep.

We will not be going there again

Room Tip: Dont go there
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artytheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This must be our fifth time of staying at Blenheim Lodge we had a great welcome from Janz and Robert, we went into the lounge on arrival for tea and biscuits with a lovely view over the Lake. We were then shown to our room which has breathtaking views over Lake Windemere. Choice of breakfast very extensive and plenty of choice, all you had to do was ask and it was available. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to anyone. Lovely hosts.

Room Tip: We always ask for a view over the Lake.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baz-cleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

My boyfriend booked us into Blenheim Lodge as a treat for our first year together. What a welcome a bubbly Janz asked if we would like to look at our room or have a cup of tea? (dont get that in large hotels) we chose tea after a long journey, we were shown to a lovely room overlooking the lake to sit and enjoy a pot of tea with biscuits. We then in our own time went to our room.... what a view from our Bay window lake views from each window. beautiful bed which we had to mention on our departure we wanted to take home we slept better in that then our own. Breakfast was lovely perfectly cooked, toast offered endlessly which as big eaters was great. Im sure if we asked for double of everything it would be given. I would say only small point i would say is parking is tight and have to move cars about if you are going to use it but everyone that stayed was happy to leave keys for cars to be moved and in fact if the car in front of ours couldnt be moved Robert offered to drive us himself to Windermere town. How accomodating!!! I dont know how much we paid as it was a surprise so i cant say value for money or not but my other half didnt complain. the whole of windermere is expensive at the end of the day. If you want a friendly homely environment for your stay where all guests feel they can chat over breakfast then i would recommend. If you want modern and big hotel type rooms this is not the place for you. I would highly recommend the sail and dine that can be organised through Blenheim Lodge John was a lovely skipper and a night to remember. thanks Allan Richardson and Samantha Sillett

Room Tip: pick the one at front with bay window not sure what it is called
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I booked a room at Blenheim lodge as a special treat looking forward to a relaxing stay in a beautiful room ... I've never been so dissapointed, from the moment I got there I was met with a shabby hotel and distasteful decor crammed into small musty rooms. It was do bad I tried to see if I could lose the money and go elsewhere but it was too late so I was stuck with an old uncomfortable bed and a horrible and stingy breakfast the next day, hated every moment I spent there and feel completely ripped off ..

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Whizzer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surpise, Manager at Blenheim Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

We do not recall anyone like this person or persons who booked a room or rooms with us:

1. The review could easily apply to any other accommodation simply by changing the name of the house.
2. The review makes no sense: the writer says that s/he ‘booked a room’ (singular), but then says that s/he was ‘crammed into small musty rooms’ (plural). There is no mention about how many people were booked in to stay at Blenheim Lodge. If it is only one person, which looks like the case as the pronouns all say ‘I’, not ‘we’, then why would one person stay in more than one room? We do not take groups in general, and certainly did not take any groups in early to mid-April.
3. The writer says, ‘I tried to see if I could lose the money and go elsewhere’, which does not make sense. If one is unhappy with a place, one would want to ask for one’s money back and LEAVE the place. Why would the person or persons wish to stay on just so as to be miserable?
4. There are NO specific details about the room or rooms. Most people complain about something specific. All our rooms are named, so we expect a complaint to be related to a room. When we send confirmation, the name of the room is mentioned in the confirmation. The adjectives used are very generalized.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Fairfield Garden Guest House
#31 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#26 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Fell Country House
Lindeth Fell Country House
#9 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#10 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blenheim Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Lodge

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $119 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blenheim Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STUNNING VIEWS FROM YOUR ROOM: Blenheim Lodge B and B sits in the heart of the Lake District National Park and boasts spectacular Lake Windermere and fell views. QUIET LOCATION AND DALES WAY WALK: Nestled in peaceful countryside, our Lake District Bed and Breakfast adjoins National Trust acres, only a minute's stroll to The Dales Way Walk leading to 4 panoramic viewpoints. BEST OF BOTH WORLDS: Hidden at the end of a cul-de-sac, Blenheim Lodge is a quiet retreat tucked away from noisy main road traffic, crowds, and late night revelers, but only a 5-minute walk to the amenities and attractions of Bowness centre and Lake Windermere, offering the best of both worlds with relaxing accommodation combined with stunning views. COMFY BEDS: Guests can be assured of a restful night's sleep with our bespoke beds, most with deep pocket sprung mattresses topped with plump pillows and fluffy duvets. LOCAL PRODUCE: Blenheim Lodge serves quality hearty butcher-made sausage and bacon. A local dairy delivers fresh milk and eggs daily. MAKING THE MOST OF YOUR STAY: Blenheim Lodge is a Bed and Breakfast, but we are more than happy to act as concierge where we can assist. Feel free to ask help with transport, guiding for hikes and angling; romantic escapes; dinner arrangements; etc. FREEBIES: We offer 2 free local fishing permits and have outside taps for walkers and anglers to clean their boots, fish and fishing tackle! There is also free WIFI and a private on-site car park. SPECIAL OFFERS: Please contact us DIRECT for any special deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Blenheim Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Blenheim Lodge Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing