We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spare ribs!”
Review of The China Boat

The China Boat
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent spare ribs!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Agree with David C's review - we've lived here 11 years but ate frequently here every time we were on holiday in the area. It is tucked away behind the church so many people probably don't find it. Our particular favourites are the specials in Cantonese sauce and special in ginger and spring onion - real pieces of tangy ginger. And the spare ribs are the best we've ever had - very tasty sauce and very meaty!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieandRosieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    39
    13
    10
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Chinese Food”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The restaurant is run by a Chinese family settled about 34 years ago. Since at least one of the family is always present, the food is always authentic and of top quality. We had a good experience on day one. Therefore, we visited them the next day too. A friendly family.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Haituk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best Chinese/Cantonese in the area!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We have lived here for nearly twenty years and in that time must have tried all of the local Chinese style food restaurants. However, the China Boat is easily the best of all of them all. A friendly welcome, varied menu start you off well and the freshly prepared meals and value for money prices all add up to make the China Boat a place to visit again and again. Often overlooked as it is in "Old Bowness" behind the church, it is worth walking away form the main drag to find it. There is also a "Happy Hour" here where the menu can be sampled for very good prices.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

We found this place as we were walking around the town & decided to give it a go later on in the evening. At first we were apprehensive as it looked quiet & the interior was basic. We got talking to a couple on the next table who visit lake district every year & they told us that is the best Chinese in town. The food was great can't fault it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stubbsy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very friendly staff.!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

We found this restaurant open at lunch time (luckily) as it was entertaining a Chinese coach party. The lady who served us was most obliging and my husbands duck with pineapple was something else. I had scheuzan chicken tasty was an understatement, beautiful!! We will certainly return , thank you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hillary and Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The China Boat also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The China Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing