We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,483)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveler rating
305
428
304
197
249
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
305
428
304
197
249
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sauna and jacuzzi wowcher deal lake view bit dated lick of paint new owners weekend break lakes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Communal areas were lovely refurbished and smart. Our room though was horrific ! Damp issue, dirty bathroom and a tiny tv which would have been more suited to a caravan in 1984. Complained and was told there were no spare rooms and that the £115 we paid was acceptable. Have stayed there 3 times before so asked to speak to the manager who agreed to reduce the rate by 50% so that we could stay out to avoid being in the room with children for longer than necessary. Manager was ok and breakfast was too but part of the hotel is a dump.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank vintagefix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydrohotel1, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Vintagefix

Thankyou for your comments regarding the refurbished parts of the hotel and our breakfast team.

We are sorry that on this occasion we didn’t live up to your expectations , the hotel has only finished the first phase of its refurbishment seeing all public areas and front facing rooms fully refurbished , with some standard rooms having been soft refurbished ( repainted , new light fixtures and fitting – generally brought up to a higher standard ready for the next phase of the refurbishment). We do also have classic rooms which have not had any refurbishment as yet.

The hotel has recently been purchased with new owners planning on investing heavily in refurbishment to the hotel.

I do hope that in the future we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel , should you wish to stay with us again please contact me directly on Daniel.cowburn@thehydrowindermere.com and I will ensure you are well looked after.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2019 via mobile

Do not use this hotel, the rooms are very dated with tiny bathrooms, I am 5"4 and couldn't have a shave without having the door open. The bed mattress quality is really bad with rock solid mattresses that leave you stiff during the night. We payed to have 2 evening meals during our two night stay although only 1 was available due to a bus load of Japanese tourists turning up and taking all the tables during certain hours, I wouldn't of minded but our meals were included in the price we payed so having to pay another £50 for two meals in town wasn't very good. On complaining to management we got totally fobbed off by the male general manager who i found extremely rude and agressive in his mannerism. The hotel itself and staff need a total overhaul.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank scottfarmer1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydrohotel1, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear Scottfarmer1982

I am sorry to see that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us.

Please feel free to contact me by email – Daniel.cowburn@thehydrowindermere.com which will allow us to address the issues faced during your visit and hopefully allow us the opportunity to demonstrate our normal high standards of products and services.

I hope to hear from you

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

On arrival we were told there was no WiFi and the pool was out of action too. The rooms are very dated and wallpaper is peeling off. Our view was of rooftops and the rotten windows added to the rundown feel.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank DanMYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydrohotel1, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear DanMYork

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review, we value all guest feedback as this helps us to continually improve our products and services.
I am sorry that both the wifi and the pool were out of service due to unforeseeable circumstances.
With regards to the rooms we have only completed the first phase of the refurbishment which has seen all public areas and lake view rooms fully refurbished , we do have rooms that have been soft refurbished ( repainted , new light fixtures and fitting – generally brought up to a higher standard ready for the next phase of the refurbishment). As well as rooms that are non view and non refurbished , there is a contract in décor between the refurbished areas of the hotel and the non refurbished areas.

We have recent been purchased with new owners planning on significant investment into refurbishment.
We do hope that we may have opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to allow us to demonstrate our continually improving products and services.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

Had a fantastic three night break at the hydro hotel .staff were very friendly and helpful food very good .The steak night was particularly good value and excellent quality nice pool and jacuzzi unfortunately sauna was out of order but not a huge problem would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Suzm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydrohotel1, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear Suzm50

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about or team and our steak night offer!

Apologies again that the pool was out of order due to unforeseen circumstances , this issue has now been resolved.

I have shared your review with the hotels team members who are thrilled !

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, please do feel free to contact us directly if you would like to rebook as you do get 10% of our best available rate as a return guest.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019

On arrival car park full.
Booked this hotel to use the pool and spa which was out of order due to someone smashing glass in the pool area. Stricter rules needed I think.

Rooms were basic not the refurbished ones and corridors and restaurant area was unfinished and floors needed a good clean. See other photos posted.

Lovely glass cabinet display in the corridor had spiders living in it as did the patio door areas in the restaurant.

Staff in the restaurant did not speak good English.

Food menu was limited and the wine and food we chose was unavailable. They did their best to serve an alternative but starter was not cooked enough. Main course was cold and we waited 40 minutes for the wine and first course. This was made worse by being asked twice if we wanted a pudding before we had even had our main.

The reservations team were apologetic and we did get a refund.

Very disappointed with the whole experience as it was booked as a relaxing weekend for our wedding anniversary.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank gillianhogarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hydrohotel1, Manager at The Hydro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear gillianhogarth

Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review, as we discussed on the evening of your stay we value all guest feedback as this helps us improve our products and services moving forward.

I would like to again offer my apologies for the issues you faced during your stay and would like to assure you that your points have been addressed.

If you are ever planning on visiting the area again please feel free to contact me directly by phone or email Daniel.cowburn@thehydrowindermere.com and I will ensure that you are well looked after.

Warm regards

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews