We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views, dated decor but perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, dated decor but perfect location”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

yes, as others have mentioned, the rooms are very very dated, they could do with a massive revamp through out the entire hotel, although very expensive, it would make this hotel a lot more welcoming, and probably attract more custom. But apart from that, it's still just a room your going to sleep in for the duration of your stay so it's not the end of the world that the rooms look untouched since the 18 hundreds ... to me, what's more important is that the hotel was just 5 minutes walk to windermere. Looking up at the hotel, it looked lovely, lots of greenery, and the view from our room was lovely. Right over Windermere. So yes apart from the dated rooms, the staff where friendly, and the breakfast was lovely.

Room Tip: They all look like they have been untouched for over 50 years, so it makes no difference trying to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky_beck_bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    262
    195
    120
    130
See reviews for
117
469
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for one night to attend a dinner in the large dining room. The meal was excellent and expertly served. The hotel itself however was a bit dated and in need of a makeover in some places. It's noticeable when a big group check in that some rooms were small and dated and others were larger and well appointed. The price however was all the same, which highlighted the differences. The price was expensive at £110 per double room, but I guess this is an average price for the location.
It was disappointing to find the swimming pool was in another building, and the jacuzzi had obviously had a lot of use as there was a good scum of exfoliated skin on the surface when it was still!
All this made it an "ok" hotel, but a little less than I expected for my money.

Room Tip: Try to ask something about your room when you book, and try and negotiate a discount if you are give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend, the bed was like sleeping on a stone slab, supposed to be a double but my feet hung out the end, very small room (room 19). The heating was on full blast all night so had to keep the "balcony" door open, the balcony was shared with other rooms, anyone standing out there could see our bed.
The staff were friendly and breakfast was ok. At breakfast there were 6 or 7 staff just standing around, I think money could be better spent updating the hotel.
Had to walk across the carpark to the very small and cold pool, the changing room is unisex!
I will not be staying here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Bishop Auckland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a night away from the Hydro Hotel in Windermere. We booked this after looking through many hotels due to the fact this hotel had a pool/ Jacuzzi and sauna. We wanted central location which this was.
Upon arrival the hotel looks a little dated from the outside but the views were spectacular.
We paid £90 for B&B which is a bargain for the location.
We checked in which was easy and went up to our room, we were greeted by 7 flies buzzing around in the window. (we tried opening the windows to let them out but really struggled so we just splatted them) what a mess!!!!
The room stank of foist, we spoke with the receptionist and were told some one would sort this.
We then went for a dip, the pool was nice and clean. The Jacuzzi was filthy and the splinters in the sauna were a nice touch..... (not)
We went back to our room and the linger of fly spray masked the smell of foist for a short space of time.....
I then went to take a soak in the bath after having a look around the wonderful shops of Windermere to find the hot water tap in the bath DID NOT work!!
Gutted was not the word!!!

Breakfast in the morning was good and again the staff were great.

so over all not a great relaxing experience we wanted and we will not be back.
We fed back to the receptionist on the morning and he was great taking our feedback BUT something should have been done yesterday when we first complained.

Thanks for the friendly staff but no thanks for the awful room!!!!

Room Tip: no idea what rooms were good we didn't get offered an alternative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from the Hydro,as most folk said ,nice clean hotel. good helpful staff, yes dated but our room was very nice,great view and everything u might need.HOWEVER...if anybody reads these reviews from the hotel, may I ask WHY do you not sort the breakfast sevice out.Unless you go down at 8oc ( it starts at 8 until 9-30) you are left with a dried out cold breakfast!!! It can't be difficult to top up as guests arrive.Over and over again people have mentioned this,come on managers of the Hydro you are letting yourselves down.So give it a visit but make sure you get down at 8 for breakfast as we did after our first morning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just returned from a 2 night stay with friends at the hotel. I really can't fault it, the position is great just down the hill from Bowness, although after a long day the hill seemed much more steep, but we are over 60 so it's allowed. No check in until 3pm left our cases in reception and did some shopping, then returned for check in with the very friendly young man on reception, we had room 18, a very large lake view bay windowed room, the bed was wonderful very large, comfy and crisp White bedding. our friends had room 6, again very big. Excellent breakfasts both days, then ate out in Bowness. Returned to the hotel and went into the bar where the fire was put on for us! spent 2 pleasant nights in there. Pleasant attentive staff everywhere in the Hotel. The hotel only
had a few guests which we enjoyed. So the tv's are old fashioned, as another reviewer mentioned, they work fine.. Have already recommended it to others and will defiantly return. Thanks for a great birthday weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We got back from the Hydro yesterday and had an amazing weekend! We were there on a KGB deal and could not believe the room we got for the price we paid! yes the hotel its self is 'dated' but it’s not a bad thing its well looked after and cozy.

Room *****
Good- Our room had a huge bathroom that was very modern, there was a corner bath that they had enough hot water to fill! A large powerful shower, 2 sinks and of course a toilet. it was actually the size of a Travelodge/premier in ROOM! Down what can only be described as a corridor to the room and we found amazing views of the lake, a big beg with a nice heavy duvet on and plenty of storage.

Food***
We were the only ones for dinner on our first night and the service we received was brilliant! The food was delicious and I loved the menu and its options. BUT the breakfast didn’t look very nice and in the food room there was a garlic smell that was just too much for me first thing. We ended up having breakfast each morning over the main road at a cafe called Monties- really nice and gorgeous poached eggs.

Location *****
Views of the lake and just 2 mins away from the ferry port.

I would definitely stay here again and would have loved to give it 5 *'s but the breakfast was a real let down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Property: Windermere Hydro Hotel
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing