We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We Had a lovely stay over Christmas, the food was delicious and the staff could not have been
more helpful, the room had a great view over lake Windermere I would certainly recommend this
hotel a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Mine was a room View just above the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

885 - 891 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times over the years and it is affordable, in a good location and has a nice cosy bar area. We haven't eaten here at night but the breakfast is nice. Yes it could do with updating and a lick of paint here and there but it adds to the charm of the hotel! The only gripe I have is you can only pick up wifi by reception and it would be much better if you could get it in your room so you can check emails etc. i am sure we will be back again in the near future.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Beautygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Lovely hotel, very very attractive, and comfortable. Clean, well serviced each day.

Food excellent, service excellent. The buffet breakfast and desert menu a delight. Fires in the lounges most times we were there. Staff friendly yet professional.

Would return

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonjabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed here in the past and we considered it value for money, this visit did not disappoint, the staff were all polite and helpful and our room with views of the lake was comfortable and good value for the money paid. We will be returning in the future as this hotel is superbly located for all the attractions on offer in the area and is full of British character!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaun T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we paid £100 for two of us for 2 nights so was excellent value. room was reasonably although bed alittle to firm for me. Clean bathroom very small but functional , staff very friendly, breakfast good but whole place just feels unloved as others have said it is dated, and with a little love and alot of money could be great although would then cost alot more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

just got back from a 2 day break first time to bowness.had a great time. the hotel and the amenties were great. staff were
very friendly and helpful. the location was good for the shops and pubs.the room was very clean and comfy. the view from our room was fantastic over looking the lake. and the breakfast was great.will be going back soon for a bit longer.

Room Tip: room 21 overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 227dek007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Checked into this hotel for a two night bed and breakfast weekend stay arranged through booking.com for a total cost of £100. On arrival, we were greeted very pleasantly by the reception staff. Our room was , as we expected very "tired" in the way of decor but was clean and had everything we required for a two night stay. The breakfast was a buffet style affair and in our opinion, was cooked to a very high standard . Again the restaurant was a bit tired decor wise but was well laid out and was clean. The staff could not have been more helpful and efficient. We believe that this hotel is really good value for money and would quite happily stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,041 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
507 reviews
1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#16 of 20 in Windermere
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,512 reviews
2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $84 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing