We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Character Hotel with 1st Class Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel sits up a steep climb from the town and the lake. The inital view is that the hotel seems tired and univiting. But once inside the greeting was warm and welcoming. The hotel was all lit up, warm and inviting on a cold spring afternoon. The room we were allocated was on the side of the hotel, no lake view (only front facing rooms have a lake view) but was well equiped with a large bathroom, and a corner bath. It also had a walk in shower. The bed was large and comfortable. We sleep like babies. The decor around the hotel was tired in places but there were so many sitting rooms and quiet corners that the hotel seemed endless. There were signs that the hotel owners was trying to up date it. The biggest plus for the hotel are the staff, they made the visit so special. They could do enough for us, they were polite and helpful at all times. We had a 5 course meal in the restaurant that was so tasty with a wide and varied options, all for £25 a head. There is no WIFI but if you want to get away from it all the hotel is perfect. The hotel is situated well for visting the sites of the lakes. There are plenty of eating and drinking establishments in Bowness to be able to cater for all tastes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJD134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
There are newer reviews for Windermere Hydro Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 971 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of a face lift inside and out. The pool and jaccuzi are in need of a good clean and glass ornaments litter the window cills in the pool area an accident waiting to happen.

The food on the first night was good - expensive but good. Lunch on sunday was dreadful we were ill all the way home and until the following morning.

The staff on the other hand were brilliant, everyone of them that we came into contact with was exceptional. My advice don.t stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelJude54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel is in a great position,yes its up an incline but not to difficult a walk. My wife and i were given room number 164, it was a bit of a treck up stairs and along corridoors but we did'nt mind, its an old building and thats the way it was built. There is a lift but we chose not to use it as we are both fit people and did'nt think it neccessary. The room itself was cosy,clean and warm,the shower was good and the bed comfortable. The tv although not a flat screen type worked ok (not a neccessity for us). We were booked in bed & breakfast and would have to say the breakfast was great, a good choice and plentiful, a good start to the day before a good walk. Also on site is a swimming pool,sauna,jacuzzi & small gym, my wife and i made use of these on both days of our stay. The staff were all very helpful and polite and we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevoryellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

First impression is very dated dark and dismal as no lighting on, on arrival, Lift broke which incidently only starts on first floor. No help offered with luggage we had to carry all baggage up to third floor. We only paid £99 for two nights on a discount website so the fact we looked over old neglected rooftops in a very dingy attic room was just about acceptable. On the plus side the bedding was immaculate, the bathroom was spotless and the breakfast which was included in the price was first class. So if you want to see the Lakes and surrounding area with a view to returning i suppose its a excellent way to try before you buy. Hotel VERY popular with the elderly !!

Room Tip: Rooms 86 & 87 looked fabulous, Front of hotel you can see the Lakes in the distance.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madalaine1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Ideal spot, very tatty and careworn inside and out. Breakfast was frozen sausages and margarine. Buffet style, no one to tell you how to get breakfast just a case of guessing, dead flowers on the tables. Didnt eat dinner because breakfast was so poor. Bare minimum of coffee and tea sachets in the room and really cheap 'happy shopper' type toiletries in the bathroom, cheapest on the market. This may have been us unlucky but we got woken up early every morning because we were in a tiny room under 2 rooms and a corridor and if felt like a herd of elephants were on top. From 5.30 am.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allysocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend having 3 rooms booked in total. The hotel could not have offered better service. Yes, our room was dated but it was clean and the hotel are in the process of refurbishing the rooms. My parents had room 58 and that was recently refurbished and was excellent.

The hotel offers good value for money an dis considerably cheaper than several other 3 star hotels in Bowness.

The family room we had was effectively 2 rooms - the main room had a king size bed and then through an archway was a bunk bed for the children. Close enaough to hear but far enough that you could sit and talk / have a drink without disturbing them

Room Tip: The lake view rooms have been upgraded
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I arrived at the Hydro Hotel with two other couples to be presented with simply dreadful accommodation the rooms were not clean, quite dated and one so smelly and damp the couple simply refused to sit never mind sleep in it. All three couples decided to check out a request none of the staff appeared surprised by in fact it seemed a regular occurrence. All three couples had a very enjoyable stay at the Bellsfied Hotel just around the corner.

Room Tip: Of the three rooms I saw all were appalling.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hydro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hydro Hotel

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $87 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windermere Hydro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Windermere Hydro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hydro Bowness On
Hotel Windermere Hydro
Windermere Hydro Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing