We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Great Service”

St Martins Tea Room & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We were greeted by very friendly and attentive staff. Food was fresh, hot, tasty and plentiful. We took cakes home that were delicious. Coffee was good and we will return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    62
    17
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice cup of tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Popped in for a quick cup of tea based on trip advisor reviews. The place was busy (a recommendation in itself). It was a good cup of tea, served by friendly staff. I liked the 'mis-matched' china. Not the cheapest, but not the most expensive.
We intended to pop back another time to sample the cakes but the tea room was closed for a few days (notice on the door saying they were busy 'making, baking and moving') and we just didn't get the chance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“family meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

As mentioned in a previous comment, the cakes are NOT HOMEMADE. I am a baker and it is very obvious, should not be sold as homemade. Average food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bethany r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level Contributor
90 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Coffee and scones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Called in today having read the many good reviews.
We both opted for scones. With cream. A real treat was the offer of different jams which as my other half has an aversion to strawberry was lovely. may I say however that I had the strawberry jam & it was delicious.
The owners were pleasant and courteous. The lattes were lovely.
Did seem a little expensive at nearly £12 for the 2 coffees & scones but very nice.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Very nice little place. Welcoming staff, free juice for kids, little basket of toys for them to play with and lovely homemade cakes/scones. My children had tomato and pesto soup with a bun (apparently delicious), lemon cake (apparently fantastic!). My friend had a toastie which came with a lovely fresh salad and homemade coleslaw and crisps. I had a Greek salad which was delicious! I asked for plain balsamic vinegar or glaze as I don't like oil or dressings so the Chef ran straight out and bought some! Lovely owner/chef who made us feel very welcome and nothing too much trouble. Took some carrot cake and a fruit scone home as was too full and they were delicious too (although was surprised that take out was no cheaper than eat in).

Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Martins Tea Room & Grill also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to St Martins Tea Room & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing