We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea for Two!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Martins Tea Room & Grill

St Martins Tea Room & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bolton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tea for Two!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Lovely Scones and tea for two. Excellent food, perfect service, lovely quaint tea room. Would recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Library_Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebills, Owner at St Martins Tea Room & Grill, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, it is really appreciated.

Sorry it’s taken so long to reply.

The scones we bake have become very popular and I am glad that you enjoyed them.

Hopefully we will see you again when you are back in Bowness.

Once again, a big thank you for your feedback.

Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    62
    16
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The owner is interested in people, loves to hear their stories from around the world, and the food is well worth the visit, been there twice each time excellent

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank moley70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebills, Owner at St Martins Tea Room & Grill, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, it is really appreciated.

Sorry it’s taken so long to reply.

Having lived in various parts of the world, I love to hear customer’s stories on their travel experiences.

The world map that we have on the wall, that we ask our foreign customers to put a pin in from where they are from, has become very popular.......and is great fun.

If I could, I would serve drinks and cakes....... and chat all day........!!! :)

Thanks again for coming back and seeing us. Hopefully we will see you again when you are back in Bowness.

Once again, a big thank you for your feedback.

Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“tea time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

lovely tea room for an early cuppa and snack at lunch time or before. varied menu again good prices.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank willowpitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebills, Owner at St Martins Tea Room & Grill, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, it is really appreciated.

Hopefully we will see you again when you are back in Bowness.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but could be tweaked!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Looks nice - friendly service and good potential, but.......

Key issue - the staff started clearing away when we were still drinking!

Also - cup cakes looked lovely but more icing than cake (literally) - more cake less icing would be good

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lichfield1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebills, Owner at St Martins Tea Room & Grill, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, it is really appreciated.

I am sorry if the service was not up to your expectation, and we take onboard your comments.

Hopefully we will see you again when you are back in Bowness.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Came across the tea room at 7.30pm after a disappointing meal elsewhere and went in for a cup of tea and a scone. We were both surprised at how good the scones and home made jam were we booked our evening meal for the following day there and then. The evening meal the following day was first class once again. The owner was extremely helpful and attentive. We bought 2 jars of home made jam and will definitely go back again when we are in the area and would recommend anyone to eat there.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Baza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stebills, Owner at St Martins Tea Room & Grill, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi

Thank you for your feedback, it is really appreciated.

Sorry it’s taken so long to reply.

The scones we bake are very popular and I am glad that you enjoyed them.

Thank you for coming back and trying out our evening meal, which have again become very popular.

Hope you enjoyed the homemade jam you took away with you

Hopefully we will see you again when you are back in Bowness.

Once again, a big thank you for your feedback.

Stephen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Martins Tea Room & Grill also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to St Martins Tea Room & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing