We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Craig Manor

Craig Manor
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Yes Paisleys is a Hotel restaurant that could do with a face lift to bring it up to date but the food was beautiful, the steak was so tender and tasty it was like putting a hot knife through butter. I've not eaten here before but I will definitely go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shriggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Embarrassing!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We decided to take some friends out for lunch and thought we'd try this place as walking distance from where we live.
It starts with a list of guest names pinned to the door of the restaurant so you know which table number you are at. The laminated carvery menu is thrown in front of you for 30 seconds to choose a starter before orders taken. When we asked if we could order drinks we were told to go back to the bar!!
Starter was okay but again staff have clearly not been trained as food dumped down. Carvery ok.
To pay you are told to go to the bar, get a slip of paper to take to another cashier.
This is an embarrassment to the lakes hospitality with service that is cringe worthy. I have no idea how they are in business but will never go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardnRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Personal service and lovely ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our birthday dinner for two. This is a timeless hotel restaurant in décor and layout. Our meal was good quality, elegant and very good value. Above all, we experienced extremely high quality and prompt personal service from all the staff. The head waiter welcomed us, oversaw our experience and put right any problem. The window table afforded a beautiful view of sundown over the mountains across Lake Windermere.
If you want trendy, this is not it, but if you are looking for a high standard, good value and adult experience where you are made to feel special, you cannot go wrong. We would happily return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Snug, intimate and fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Food 1st class!
Staff are so helpful and friendly!
Rooms clean and intimate.
Bed super comfy.
Only downside is the room 102 gets all of the noise disturbance from everyone that comes in the backdoor after 10.
Lovely view and a 2min walk to bowness and 10min walk to windermere x highly recommend x

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pieoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bit dated but lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here about 5 years ago, so coming back to the lakes we decided to come hear again. the price has gone up, but then it was 5 years! We had a lake view room and although the decor is a littel dated it was still just as lovely. I think they had put a new bathroom in. The charm of this hotel is its location, staff and its breakfast. All very friendly. We would come again. Wish it had wifi in the rooms though.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nogorni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craig Manor also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Craig Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing