We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craig Manor

Craig Manor
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

excellent hotel would love to go again .hotel is superb staff really friendly and helpful food was also excellent .its also in great location

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank caroline1971_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Usually good but not perfect this time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have dined in here many times and it is usually very good. We enjoy the little touches like ordering from the comfort of the Chesterfield sofas in the lounge and being taken to your table to have your wine waiting for you. We enjoy being asked if you want bread whilst you wait for your starter. The service is usually friendly and efficient and the food is usually of a very high standard.

On this visit, we were having a faultless meal until my wife received her steak with the pepper sauce. The steak was beautiful and the vegetables were lovely however the chef had been overly generous with the salt in the pepper sauce and that was all we could taste. We flagged this up to the waiting staff and they took it away. This meant I was eating my main course alone, and my wife subsequently had to eat her's alone as it took some time to make a new batch of sauce. I would like to add that she received the same steak back and it had obviously been rinsed of the old sauce, kept warm and put back on the plate. We know it's as it had the same cuts in it that she had made at the start of her main course.

There followed a course of poor service from the staff. Their idea of an apology was to waive the £5 surcharge for the steak which we were not happy with as finishing our meals at different times was in our opinion unacceptable in a restaurant of this standing and price tag. Very disappointing.

In other matters, the restaurant is now in our opinion, showing its age and lack of investment. The decor is in need of updating and the curtains, swags and tails need to be brought into the 21st century

Helpful?
Thank ziz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I didn't stay overnight here but we had dinner in the restaurant one evening. Whilst a little on the pricey side (dinner with wine for two comes in at around £100) the food was absolutely lovely.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Lovely Posh place... take a thick wallet. I think this is a much more upper class place than we would normally visit but it was very handy for a drink before going back to our small B&B... Amazing Views....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyLeith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bad quality, bad experience.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Not staying at the hotel, arrived as walk in guests to the restaurant. Made to feel unwelcome by the male barman. The restaurant was virtually empty yet we were forced to wait in the holding area and not allowed to proceed to a table to order food/drinks. Ordered wine from the bar (asking to try the wine added to the male barman's annoyance that we had disturbed his otherwise quite evening). The wine bottle was dumped with 2 glasses to us in the holding area, bottle still had its screw top on, zero chance of the wine being poured into our glasses. Food order was taken and we were eventually allowed to enter the forbidden realm of the restaurant in order to eat, dragging our wine glasses, bottle and the lid with us. The view was the main reason we chose to dine here but, like other reviews have said, the lake is obscured by trees and car park. Starters were good but the main, a roast dinner, arrived immediately after we'd finished the first course. We felt the roast dinner had been prepared in part straight from the freezer by Aunt Bessie, not what you'd expect when paying the kind of prices these people demand. Overall the most disappointing roast dinner we've ever had. Wanted to pay with a card, this involved being told how much they were ripping us off by at the bar, then taking the bill through to the hotel reception where the girl (who looked about as pleased to see us as the barman had originally) processed our payment through the machine. Overall very disappointed with the entire experience, would not go again, would certainly not recommend, dont think that by paying high prices you will receive high quality. The only enjoyment from the entire experience was being able to write this review.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craig Manor also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Craig Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing