We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great childhood fun.”

The World of Beatrix Potter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The characters of Beatrix Potter's stories are brought to life in this recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great childhood fun.”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Took our two girls here on a wet afternoon last month. They loved it! It was busy but not crowded and there was plenty at the attraction to keep them busy for a couple of hours. Worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lupin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    607
    196
    58
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice attraction”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

First came here about 15 years ago and our kids loved it. Been back may times to visit the tea shop, because the lunches here were always excellent.
Went back a couple of weeks ago but this time with my 2 granddaughters (aged 3 and 18 months)
Cost £18 for a family ticket, which was a bit pricey but not ridiculous. Visit starts with a 10 minute film about Beatrix Potter. The two girls got a bit bored towards the end, but they seemed to enjoy it. Walked through to the main attraction, which is a winding course of displays about Beatrix Potter's stories. The girls loved it and they had a ball having their photos taken next to Mrs Tiggy Winkle, Peter Rabbit and all the other characters. Spent most of my time trying to stop my younger granddaughter from trying to be IN the displays, but I found this hilarious. The garden is a small,steep-ish terrace but nice nonetheless. You exit through the ubiquitous gift shop but this seems to be the norm for every attraction of this type.
Took about 30 minutes from start to finish, but worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PBK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Another excellent National Trust building which the most wonderful art work by Beatrix. An insight into the business premises of a bygone era. How did a 6foot plus man work in this office?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fangnaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Must See Attraction”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Visited The World Of Beatrix Potter Attraction yesterday. Was not sure what to expect and thought the gift shop would be full of expensive rubbish.

This is amazing, very informative and very well laid out. I liked how there was a mixture of exhibits making it suitable for very young children - there was a 3 year old in front of us who was utterly besotted. There were also lots of audio commentaries looking at the life of Beatrix, her writings and time at Hilltop Farm etc, all of which were very professionally done and were most informative.

The garden had a magical feel and you could touch the exhibits.

It was great that you could take photos too.

The gift shop had a vast array of good quality souvenirs all reasonably priced, absolutely no tacky goods.

The staff were lovely too.

I cant wait to go back, an absolute gem and I know you will love it too!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marnoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUSSEX ENGLAND
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We never usually visit this sort of attraction, but as it was raining, we thought it would be worth a look, it was, the models we great and the facts were really interesting..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LIN005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World of Beatrix Potter also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The World of Beatrix Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing