We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for the kids” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The World of Beatrix Potter

The World of Beatrix Potter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The characters of Beatrix Potter's stories are brought to life in this recreation of the Lakeland countryside.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
bradford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice for the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is nice place to go round with the kids, but not great value, mind you nothing is in the lakes, your round the place like a shot, but it is lovely

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank thomas240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    583
    184
    55
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Great fun - worth a visit. We would recommend to families in particular although we did enjoy.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A wonderful attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I didn't expect to enjoy this as much as I did as was thinking it may be more for children. I was very wrong, this was beautiful , interesting and a lovely trip back to my childhood. I

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank helenclaire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“not greatly taken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Perhaps to old to appreciate, I found it boring, expensive and curtailed with little or nothing of interest for me personally.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Highlander947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Bunnies galore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

You have to know and like the Beatrix Potter books to enjoy this. The models are very well made, and many small displays are just at child height. There's information alongside each one to explain more about how it came to be written, etc. There's a small garden area which houses plants identified from the books, and supplies fresh vegetables to the cafe area. There's also a display area showing more about the life of Beatrix Potter, and the area she lived and worked in including backgrounds which appear in the illustrations.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank NorthYorkshireAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The World of Beatrix Potter also viewed

 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The World of Beatrix Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing