We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have stayed in !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2010

And I say this having travelled throughout Europe. From the welcome at reception, the bedroom through to breakfast this stay could not be bettered. An English family hotel at its best. The hotel is peaceful and somehow secluded yet only a few minutes walk from main centre of Bowness-on-Windermere. The room (in the main house) was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We did not eat in the evening but the breakfast was excellent in terms of quality food, service and surroundings. We were travelling by motorcycle but noted that car parking was plentiful and convenient (this can be a problem in Bowness-on-Windermere). I think you will have gathered I highly recommend this hotel and it's staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1200ltUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2010

The team were thrilled that you had enjoyed your stay with us, and please accept their thanks from me on their behalf for the wonderful comments that you made. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 600 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2010

this was a lovely hotel although the rooms are all set around the grounds with balconies/veranda's, so you can sit outside weather permitting, the rooms were spacious and clean. we had a choice of continental breakfast served in our room or a hot breakfast in the main building. there was such a lot of choice too, would recomend the hot breakfast as only tried this, plus lots of fruit, cereal. we booked for 4 nights but dicided to stop an extra night we enjoyed it so much. the staff were exellent too.
thanks so much for an enjoyable stay "jackie and Steve" ps they also did eve meals but a bit pricey

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2010

Thank you for all your comments in your review, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the choices for breakfast. We do try to offer all our guests varied menus for dinner, and we are sorry that you felt that there was not a menu to suit you from the four menus we offer.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

This hotel is absolutely superb. If anyone is visiting the lakes you must stay in the Burn How Hotel. Instead of a pokey hotel room guests are given their very own chalet ( More like a full suite than a room) Each chalet has its own balcony, on-suite bathroom and very large living/ sleeping area. The Hotel itself is set in beautiful grounds and breakfast is served overlooking the gardens. The staff at the hotel were all fantastic and very accommodating to our needs. Windermere lake is only a few minutes walk as is the main shopping/eating area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djba1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2010

Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, we do endeavour to make everyone have an enjoyable stay, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Hotel room was very clean. Staff could not be more helpful when we had to change rooms as there were to many stairs for my mum.Nothing was a problem for them. Breakfast was lovely. I would say the only thing was it was very hilly maybe not the best location for the elder or disabled. Thanks to the staff we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppydog111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

one of the most welcoming and charming places ive ever stayed.... the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble... when going for breakfast (which is wonderful) its a must to sit next to the large windows over looking the large garden area, and watch all the wild birds and squirrels. it may need at little visit from Laurence Llewelyn Bowen to tidy up the décor, but that's the only down side i could see, but it was extremely clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestonBex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Burn How is five minutes walk from Bowness centre so ideal for a quick break especially if you dont wish to drive anywhere. The hotel reception and restaurant/breakfast room overlook the handsome gardens which are bordered by chalets which make up the majority of the accommodation. Staff were friendly and welcoming throughout our visit and made us feel at home.

Our room was on the first floor in the main house near to the reception/restaurant . Booking new year in Bowness can be awkward as most places will hold out for a three night booking and Burn How was the only place which would take our two night reservation. Weve stayed at several of the 'best' B&B/hotels in Bowness using trip advisor as our guide. The hotel charges more than most other local accommodation but unfortunately the room didnt justify the extra cost. The bed was a standard double and the walls were grubby and needed a coat of paint. The shower was set in the bath with fixings on the bath taps, which isnt particularly user friendly. The bathroom itself was very cramped. Ive no problem paying a premium for that 'little extra' but this was all very middle of the road.

The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and staff were on hand to offer extra coffee and toast.

Overall this was a decent stay in a nice hotel. However in a competitive environment there are many places locally which charge less and have better accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vernonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for our anniversary and were very impressed. We stayed in Room 17, which is upstairs in a small one-storey block of approx 8 rooms with their own front doors, and allocated parking space.The room had been well maintained and looked recently updated, with a new bathroom (very clean with a shower over the bath), modern soft furnishings and patio doors to a balcony overlooking a garden surrounded by trees. It was completely private and although separate from the reception and restaurant, it was only 15 seconds walk away. It rained a lot while we were there (it is the Lakes after all), but I didn't mind the short dash to the restaurant as the food was simply Outstanding!! The service was also excellent, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. When we didn't make it for breakfast one morning the phone rang to ask us if we would still like to come (this was 5 mins before the end of service). I would recommend this hotel to anyone - there was a wide age range staying when we were there - but especially couples who prefer to be a bit off the beaten track whilst within easy walking distance of the town. It's a five minute walk into Bowness, or a 2 minute drive for the less mobile (bit of a steep hill coming back).

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank PixieDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $156 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing