We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$148
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elim House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$185
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$274
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$204
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveler rating
412
165
35
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
165
35
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenchalet roomschalet stylethe main housebay roomfresh fruitlake districtcumbrian breakfastevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisoneggs benedictcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 633 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2017

We had a lovely 2 night stay in this hotel during a very wet weekend in September. The hotel has a great setting on the edge of the town but within 2-3 minutes you are in the centre of the Pubs & Restaurant scene, and roughly the same walking distance to the lake.
We were staying in the outside chalet rooms, which as a bit of a motel feel but friendlier & warmer.
Our room was large with a balcony and a very comfortable big double bed, sleep was no issue at all! Bathroom amenities were also very good.
The staff & hosts are very welcoming and keen to give assistance in anyway they can, the choice at breakfast was excellent and both my wife and I couldn't believe the extent of the fresh fruit options. We had never seen anything as good as this with the different fresh berries to have with yoghurt on their own, the cooked breakfast was also really good.
We would have no hesitation in staying in this hotel again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank grinch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Thank you for this lovely review of your stay, I have passed all your comments onto the staff, thank you for your recommendation and we hope you can visit again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017

We cannot praise this hotel too highly.my wife and I have just enjoyed our twelfth visit in three years and each visit has been consistently excellent in every way.
The accommodation is always spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Dining is an absolute pleasure in a lovely restaurant with landscaped garden views.
All the staff without exception are always on top of their game and make you feel most welcome. Breakfast fully deserves it's award and dinner is always a credit to the chef and kitchen staff. We will be returning soon at the first opportunity.
David and Joan Guy.

Room Tip: any of the chalet rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davidguy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and all for all your lovely comments of previous stays, it is always a lovely feeling to welcome back our regulars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

We came to burn how garden hotel in Windermere for a mid week break jst my wife and myself as we jst been away to holyhead with the family and our grandson so we were looking for a quite relaxing time jst the two of us.
The room we got was a standard double and was in the main house part opposite the reception and restraunt and was lovely and clean and the lady at reception was informative and very welcoming and we added breakfast there and then for the Thursday morning Between 8 and 10 AM and she then took us over to our room and gave us the keys and told us the basic house rules.
The grounds are wonderful and lots of garden room's which all look wonderful and romantic the grounds are awesome we are very pleased with what we have picked so far and can't wait to discover more???
We had three nights and it was brilliant and the staff were very attentive but not intrusive they were there as you needed them the breakfast was wonderful and well worth the money we booked breakfast through the hotel not through the booking firm and it was cheaper to be honest the whole thing would have been cheaper if we went direct to the hotel but you learn by your mistakes so to say LoL if your going to Windermere then the Brun how garden hotel has the whole package you need not look any more just go direct and book your dream stay in the lakes two minutes walk from the lake and all the local attractions but yet in your own piece of paradise and like the secret garden you have it all to your self so to say many thanks to everyone at the Burn How Garden Hotel who made our break such a fantastic occasion :-)

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay, and your recommendations.
I have passed on your comments to the staff and your thanks.
We hope you will come back and see us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

I stayed here because McDonald's Old Hotel and Spa decided not to let me change my reservation, and keep my $682 instead, and Burn How turned out to be lovely with a fine room and a finer dining room, with excellent food. The bird feeder outside the window is a very nice touch. Friendly staff too.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danielbX3872ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

It is a pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay, thank you for your review, we hope that you will be able to visit us in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

Very nice rooms in the main building. The breakfast was excellent! You just need to get the timing right during peak season. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location. You are in 5 minutes either at the lake or in the towncenter.
During peak time you need to make reservations if you want to have dinner in the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shiketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you for your comments of your recent stay and we will certainly pass these onto the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews