We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveler rating
413
165
35
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
165
35
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenchalet roomschalet stylebalcony overlookingthe main housebay roomfresh fruitlake districtcumbrian breakfastevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisoneggs benedictcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 634 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2017

Lovely hotel, stayed for 3 nights and will be returning very soon. The room was large and very clean. The staff were all so lovely, friendly and so helpful. Breakfast was really good with a large range of cooked foods,cereals and fruit. The hotel is a 5 minute stroll from the town centre. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

We will look forward to your return, thank you for taking the time to review your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely place, in a great location. Room we had was spacious with a comfy bed. Breakfast was amazing with heaps of fresh fruit. We arrived having not booked, fortunately for us a room was available. After looking at the room and agreeing to the price we moved in. After a long day a shower was required, unfortunately it didn't work. Now the staff did sort out an alternative shower for us, across the car park in another building. Not at all what we paid for. They did fix the problem so we could have a shower, but the point is we'd paid for a shower to be in our room not across the car park. At the very least we should have received some form of alteration to the price as we no longer had what was agreed to. Customer care is very important and in this case it was acted on.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 30Lynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you for reviewing your stay, we were sorry to read that you felt that you had not received customer care, on checking there had not been anything passed onto reception so they could arrange an adjustment, if you would like to contact the hotel to discuss this we will be happy to talk with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Stayed 4 days in Bowness on Windemere and tried this restaurant based on TA reviews. I had soup to start which was nice, followed by the sirloin steak also nice and sticky toffee pudding which was very good. Wife had the prawns to start followed by black pork and the aforementioned sticky toffee pudding. Service was good. Food was good. Not the cheapest place to eat in Bowness on Windemere.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank blondyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you for your comments on your visit to the restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile

Have just returned from a great 2 day stay here. Very friendly staff and a great location just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Bowness. Breakfasts are truly outstanding and rival some of the best 5 star hotels I've stayed in. Would highly recommend and stay again

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank GillianLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

We hope we are able to welcome you back in the future, thank you for your review of your stay and your comments on the breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

The gardens and reception were loverly we had a room in the main house we wasnt keen smelt of old the room could have been cleener hairs in the bath and on the floor it was our 30th wedding aniversary they did grt us a card and strawberry loverly thought the breafast was dear we wont return shame really quite perfect spot but not worth the money for us over priced

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
7  Thank chrisross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

We were sorry to read that you thought the breakfast was overpriced for the array of all the fruits and cooked breakfast we offer.
You would have found the price more attractive if you had booked direct with your breakfast included in the rate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews