We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and Different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quirky and Different”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here July 2014 for a short leisure break. Quirky small Hotel where all the bedrooms are away from main building i.e. Reception/Bar/Restaurant. We had an upstairs chalet room that was huge with a veranda that you could sit out so ideal during the hot summer days or just open the patio doors tto let air in - you didn't feel that in the usual style hotel once in your room you were cut-off and isolated. Room was to a high standard, clean, tidy with luxury leather relaxer chairs, huge comfortabe bed and the bathroom again huge clean and with a window you could open. Couldn't fault anything about the room or the staff - breakfast cooked to order so always hot, with good selection of continental - staff very welcoming and friendly and they go back to the basics of the customer comes first - certainly not your usual Corporate Hotel. This was a good old fashioned family run hotel and certainly quirky with the unusual layout of where the rooms were in comparison to the main building but all of the rooms seemed to have their own sitting out area and each room allocated their own parking space. A genuine warm family friendly hotel with old fashioned values - highly recommend it. Close by to the centre of town - a five minute walk!

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay and your description of the hotel.
We hope that you will visit us again and enjoy another stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    150
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
110
333
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Spent two nights and wish it had been longer. My husband is disabled and the room had all the amenities required to make it a pleasant stay. If there was a downfall it was the fact the grip round the toilet was on the left side and his stroke left him with a weakness on that side. It would have been good if there had also been a grip on the right side. Apart from that the room was clean and spacious. The staff were pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. The food was the best I have tasted in a hotel with a great selection. Breakfast had a lovely selection of fresh fruit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for letting us know that you had and enjoyed your stay and would have liked to stay on.
We have noted your comment that it would be beneficial to have a support rail on the other side of the toilet as well.
We hope that you will visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with wife 10 years ago and recently went again and its still as good..! warm and friendly, clean and tidy rooms in the middle of windermere..! good price and fabulous breakfast..! lots of shops nearby so the wife was happy..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walshy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to see us again, we hope that you will be able to return sooner the next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Burn How during the first week of August and thoroughly enjoyed our week. The hotel is ideally located, being close to the town and lake, but also in a quiet area. Great for walking and cruise trips on the lake. Plenty of good restaurants in the town but best to book in advance as the best ones get booked up early.
The staff are all very attentive and friendly and they made us feel very welcome.
We were in the Mews which was very spacious and comfortable, the room is well equipped and even has a small sitting room. We did have one little issue on arrival but this was promptly dealt with by the maid. Some areas of the hotel do need some general maintenance though.
Breakfasts were extremely good and we really appreciated the plentiful fresh fruit. In fact I thought that they were among the best we have ever had! There was a good choice of evening meals and the food was beautifully cooked. The service in the restaurant was excellent as well. The bar area was an ideal place to chat to other guests about your days out. However we did think that drinks were overpriced and that this discouraged guests from using the bar which was mostly empty in the evening.
We would most definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we holiday in the Lake District again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mpandrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for your review, It is always a pleasure to pass on to the staff positive comments.
We are pleased that you were able to bring your issues up at the time and that we had the opportunity to rectify them for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Lake District and thank you for your recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Visited again, this time in summer and had a great stay. Travelled with my parents in their 80's who were staying for the 6th time. All of us very happy with everything. We were met by Dorothy on reception and she could not have done enough for us, even taking a birthday card to my parents room when I told her it was her birthday. The two rooms, in the Rose garden, clean and bright. A lovely size with a large bathroom with very good shower over large bath. Dinner on both evenings was excellent. The service from Esther and Nicki, as well as all the other staff members was very good. The menu, both light bites and al a carte delicious. Coffee and chocolates in the lounge ended the evening perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble. The same can be said for the breakfast which has a great selection of fruit, fresh and dried. Cereals, juices and continental. The full Cumbrian breakfast amazing. My mother also found the Eggs Benedict delicious. Again all members of staff super. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the shops and Lake in Bowness so perfect even for my parents. We shall definitely return.

Room Tip: Ground floor in the Rose gardens perfect as you can sit outside on the Patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
It is always a pleasure to be able to pass on such wonderful comments to the staff, especially when their names have been remembered.
Thank you for taking the time to do this and letting us know that you stay was enjoyed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel for a four night stay. On arrival we were greeted by the lady on reception and shown to our room which was in a chalet with its own parking space and a balcony overlooking the gardens. We were booked in for bed and breakfast and paid separately for the evening meals The food was excellent and the serving staff were really lovely The main building was pretty and there was a bar and lounge area leading to the restaurant All the staff were very polite and helpful Bowness town is just a few minutes walk away with lots going on The only down side to the hotel is that the rooms are not in the main building so if it is raining [which it was for most of the time] you have to take a brolly with you when you want to eat or go to the bar but having said that, everything else about The Burn How outweighs the 'wet walk' up to the main building. I would recommend this hotel which is set in a lovely location We would go again when a bit of piece and quiet is needed!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehappytravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back when some peace and quiet is needed.
Thank you for taking the time to send us your lovely review of your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Hotel is located less than 100 metres from the main lakefront at Bowness and is within striking distance of restaurants and pubs making it an ideal location. The accommodation is situate away from the main house, which provides all the other facilities. The room we stayed in (No 18) was private had its own parking spot and was a four poster with a sitting area and was well appointed overlooked the patio area. The proprietor and staff were friendly efficient and knowledgeable on top of which the breakfast was the best ive had in a long while. The juices were fresh not concentrate the fresh fruit and cereal selection was brilliant nothing was too much trouble the breakfast menu was imaginative with something for all tastes from the full grill to eggs benedict kippers scrambled egg with salmon it was excellent. We will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: When booking ask reception whats available as all rooms are different, differing in size amenities a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for a .lovely description of your stay with us, we hope that you will come back and visit us if returning to the Lakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing