We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burn How Garden House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Burn How Garden House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in one of the Garden Chalets for a two night break. We are a couple in our twenties and did not see anyone else our own age at this hotel but we had a great time and the staff were very friendly and helpfully. The room was clean and had everything we needed including an iron and full size ironing board. The bed was comfy and we had a great nights sleep. The water pressure was very good in the bathroom and towels were changed daily. Breakfast was great with a good choice. Just a short walk into the centre of Bowness which has plenty of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter6168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We hope that you will visit us again if you are in the area, thank you for taking the time to send a review of you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    147
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
107
322
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The service and quality of the food served in the hotel was excellent. Equal to that of a 5 * star hotel but without the pomp and ceremony!.
The breakfast table included freshly prepared fruit salad, berries,nuts,seeds,cereal, yogurts and pastries. This was all in addition to toast, cooked breakfast or a choice from an egg menu which included smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and a choice of omelette. Amazing! Dinner was equally impressive and was cooked to perfection. We were offered a choice of luxury chocolates with our coffee. A lovely touch.
The hotel is in a nice quiet location but only a few minutes walk from Bowness. The rooms are very spacious and most over look a garden area and have their own patio which would be lovely to enjoy in the summer. We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We look forward to being able to welcome you back to stay with us in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Bowness has far too much motorized traffic and the hotel reflects this. Parking a nightmare of dinged body panels and reversing blind for oncoming traffic. Hotel a bit strange. Stayed in 'the lodge' a kind of separate house with attic rooms, other on-site chalet type rooms and other bits of accommodation all over the place. Shower very dangerous and unpredictable, bed linen not very clean (disgusting), bed like sleeping on a very large uncomfortable table. Breakfast buffet excellent but evening meal quite expensive and not really as described or very good. Decor is very tired and quite depressing, accompanied by the obligatory, far too loud, Muzak; for all the clientele with a battery budget for their hearing aids but not for modern, clean and efficient hotels, with decent parking.

Room Tip: Can't say due to the variety if buildings on-site. Maybe better than mine or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We are sorry you didn't like your room and only wish you had told us when you were here and we would have endeavoured to change your room, and acted to try to correct your problems. All our rooms have a dedicated parking space within the quiet grounds so we cannot understand your description you have made
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night dbb via travel zoo and it was great ! The service was polite and friendly, the chalet room was spacious,light and airy with all amenities, very clean, and with an outside balcony overlooking the gardens where you can sit and enjoy a nice pre-dinner glass of wine. The food was excellent, and the breakfast had a wonder full choice of fresh fruit and main choices that I,be experienced in any hotel ! Overall it was excellent and deserves patronising for the effort they make to make evrybodies stay enjoyable ! Give it a try, you won't be disappointed , and you are within a few minutes walk of the lake and bowness.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IamArkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send a review of your stay, we hope you will be able to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
355 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Only spent a night here as on our way north. Got a great dinner B&B deal and represented phenomenal value for money. Welcome on arrival excellent and staff v helpful throughout. Rooms all seem to have individual parking which was convenient. Rooms good size, quite spacious and our bathroom was newly fitted. Shower not great but more and more I find current health and safety obsession means you don't get a decent hot shower. Restaurant was excellent. Dinner and breakfast both really good and restaurant ur ant surrounded by gardens full of bird life. Situated a short stroll from the village. I would return and would recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your review and recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at the Burn How House was to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and it was made extra special by the staff. The check in was smooth and our room (15) overlooked the rose gardens with a small patio. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom spotless and with plenty of towels and toiletries.
The hotel is situated two minutes walk from the town centre and the lake. Our evening meal far surpassed our expectations, both starters of duck & prawns were delicious, while the steak & lamb mains were fabulous. We had been given a bottle of Moët as a gift and it was no trouble for it to be chilled and served with our meal which was a lovely gesture, as was the card from the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for us and we felt that everyone enjoyed working here. Breakfast was immense with fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals to help yourself to or a choice of cooked breakfast, omelette or smoked salmon. It is no surprise that they have been awarded for their efforts. To summarise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Bowness.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yune5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We hope that we can make future celebrations just a good for you if you decided to come back and visit us again, thank you for all your positive comments that you made a joy to pass on to the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have had a really special few days at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, Bowness-on-Windermere returning home to Teesside late last night (12th March). We found the management and staff so welcoming and friendly and we relaxed immediately. The facilities, ambience and atmosphere of the whole establishment suited us down to the ground! A decision to eat in the hotel proved a good one. Our evening meal was absolutely delicious and it was obvious next morning after a comfortable night why the hotel had a coveted breakfast award - so much choice from a splendid array of fruits, seeds and muesli and the breakfast itself had everything to be desired (even two eggs!) and served piping hot. After breakfast we needed a little help in planning our day. Nothing was too much trouble. We were given a lap map encompassing 'the lakes' and a print out of a walk which took us up the hill behind the hotel. It was a beautiful day. The view of Windermere was spectacular through the tracery of the trees and we were thrilled to see deer.
We were loathe to say goodbye to our beautiful room, very comfy bed and friendly, sincere and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Burn How - we will be back. Our thanks to all who made our stay so relaxing and happy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
It is so nice to read that you enjoyed the walk that was suggested to you, and that you have had a relaxing break with us here, it is always a joy to pass on comments that you have made to the staff, we look forward to welcoming you back when next in Bowness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Property: The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing