We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris x Margaret Parry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Burn How ,the staff were excellent ,friendly and efficient.we had really good food ,the evening meal and breakfast I would certainly recommend.Burn How is an ideal base for touring the lakes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your recommendation, and your review of your stay we hope you can visit us again if you come back to the lakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
There are newer reviews for The Burn How Garden House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 574 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

The room was comfy and big with a double bed and a single bed. There was a complementary tea and coffee facilities available in the room and ironing facilities. The bathroom was large and clean. The window view opened to a garden. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILOINENPARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay and of the hotel facilities, we hope you will visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just back from our 1 night stay at this 3 star hotel. On arrival my husband did comment that the hotel looked a bit dated from the outside but once inside reception the main building which includes the bar,restaurant and lounge area we were pleasantly surprised. Our room, room 13, which was based just behind reception in a separate building was lovely, it had its own patio was spacious and had a wet room style bathroom, very modern comfortable and clean. We ate in the restaurant, for our anniversary and enjoyed a brilliant meal with service which was second to none. A nice touch was that the hotel had placed an anniversary card on the table ready for our arrival. The lay out of the hotel is like a small village of its own, with the rooms all located with in pleasant gardens, a short walk one way and you reach the lake, the otherway takes you to the village within minutes. All in all we've had a lovely anniversary weekend in our 3 star hotel and as I said before I dont know what you have to do to get at least 4 star accreditation?

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacolin1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We all enjoyed reading your review of your anniversary stay and all your lovely comments about the hotel and area.
It is always nice to be able to pass these on to the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Lovely welcoming staff. Large clean family room (a little dated) with bathroom which was all immaculately clean. Super location just a few minutes walk from the lake. Fantastic breakfast best we have had in any hotel for a long time!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 372rachel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you had an enjoyable stay and good breakfast, we hope that you will be able to return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a driving holiday around North England and it was the most comfortable place we stayed (all the hotels cost about 75 pounds per night). Everything was provided in the room, the bed was very comfortable, the room large and well-maintained and the breakfast was fantastic. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank for your recommendation and taking the time to place your review, we hope that you will vist this way again and come back to stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Recently stayed here after several return visits over the past 10 years. Was disappointed to see standards had fallen. While our room was comfortable, it could have been cleaner especially the bathroom and the floors creaked dreadfully- we could here everything going on in the room next door ! The furniture was old fashioned and worn, as was the decor. We were looking forward to the breakfast but again this was not as good as we had remembered- the overall portion size had decreased considerably, our eggs were missed off the first day and on the second day my omelette was overcooked and did not taste good, while my husbands breakfast was burnt. We didn't complain as we prefer not to but I doubt we will be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

It sadden us to read your review and that you thought that standards had dropped.
It is disappointing that you did not mention this during your stay and had given us an opportunity to rectify any problems especially since you have visited before. We hope that you will come back to visit us again and experience a better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I booked a dinner bed & breakfast package as a Christmas present for my parents. They were delighted with the hotel, room, food and surroundings. All the staff were helpful and attentive and the food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent.

Would definitely book again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaMaria185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Thank you for letting us know that your parents have enjoyed their stay with us, especially since this was a gift.
We hope that we can welcome you as well as them back to the Burn How How

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.8 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
1.6 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Burn How Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burn How Garden House Hotel

Address: Back Belsfield Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#9 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $143 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Burn How Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique Lake District hotel only two minutes stroll from Lake Windermere and the village of Bowness, is an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Burn How's unique layout is refreshingly different to most hotels; all of the bedrooms are located outside of the main building within the private grounds making the stay peaceful and relaxing for the discerning guest. You can take picturesque walks from the hotel, or cruise on Lake Windermere, and if you take the Post Knott walk and you find the hotels bench, bring back the inscription and you will have a drink on us. For the shopping magnets find a special Lakeland gift in the village only two minutes walk away. On your return from a full day, relax and meet friends or family in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar, or on pleasant summers evening sit out on the patio and take in the beautiful surroundings. Relax in the comfort of your room choosing from modern chalet style to four poster or traditional bedrooms. Most have private sun terraces. All have ensuite bathrooms, colour televisions, telephones and hot beverages. Rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the rose garden and patio, with some having disabled facilities. There is ample free parking available. Experience English and French Cuisine made only from the freshest produce and served in the style in which Burn How Garden House Hotel is famous. Three courses and coffee is around £35.00 Per person. At the end of the day relax with family and friends in the congenial atmosphere of the lounge and bar or on a pleasant summers evening take in the beautiful surroundings of the patio and gardens. Shoppers and browsers will delight in the speciality stores and attractions in nearby Windermere and Bowness. Whilst a drive over the Hard Knott pass is for the courageous with its 1 in 3 and 2.5 Gradients - but the views are spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Burn How Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn How Hotel
Best Western Bowness On Windermere
Bowness-On-Windermere Best Western
The Burn How Garden House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing