We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$284
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$226
$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveler rating
393
159
34
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
159
34
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenmews roomchalet stylethe main housebalcony overlookingfresh fruitpatio doorscumbrian breakfastlake districtevening mealfew minutes walkexcellent hotelroom was largewet roomvenisonmodern bathroomeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 607 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

To quickly summarize:

* Messed up our booking which luckily didn't affect our stay
* Tiny, smelly, musty rooms
* 'no kids allowed' in some room types so our families were split throughout the various buildings in the complex
* Adequate food but one of our group became violently ill after one of the meals, we suspect the hollandaise sauce.
* No TV remote in our room - to which they replied: "It will be in there somewhere, just look for it"

Avoid this place, though I suspect many hotels in the lake district suffer from the same sorts of things. Unless one hotel becomes standout, there is little incentive for hoteliers to improve anything in such a popular and busy destination.

Room Tip: Bay and Mews seem to be nice rooms that are twice the size of the family room areas, and little less musty smelling.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spharris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

It saddened us to receive such a “summarised review”
We believe from the comments made that your group was the party who arrived a DAY EARLIER than was booked on a very busy Saturday. This was your error not ours. However we managed to fit you all in but not in the rooms you had originally booked. We needed to rearrange accommodation to fit you in. Subsequently your group had to be spilt up to facilitate 6 adults and 5 children.
Two of your group were put into compact doubles because that was all we had left which are neither “smelly nor musty”. On the second day of the groups stay they were asked if they would like to move to different rooms but they said they were quite happy to stay in the rooms allocated
Due to security and health and safety, all the family rooms are located in the building near to the main house
Nothing was reported to us about a guest feeling ill.
We cannot believe that you were told to look for the remote control yourselves,
One of your guests was upgraded to one of our de-luxe rooms at no extra charge in the Mews.
None of these points were raised at check out, when all guests are asked how they enjoyed their stay before leaving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just returned from another lovely weekend at the Burn How. Comfortable nights sleep in a quiet room. Breakfast was delicious and staff very attentive. Would definitely recommend as a good central location in picturesque peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to future visits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A couple of minutes walk from the centre of Bowness and yet amazingly peaceful. Very generous room size for the four of us and didn't even have to trip over the Z-bed. The staff are delightful and friendly. Breakfast is all fresh cooked and the array of fruit and alternatives was just boggling. Evening meal was too delicious and presented very well, so not a great place to try and lose weight, but then there are plenty of activities near by and they have a mini gym available (though I can't claim I actually bothered to use it)! They even catered easily for me being Gluten Free - What more can I say, it's become a family favourite.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We hope that on your next visit you will try out the gym,.
Thank you for your review of your stay, I have passed on your comments to all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked into Burn How for one night for our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was as the photos on their website and very clean, we only had breakfast at the hotel the choice was very good. The staff we pleasant and polite.
I would definitely return to the hotel for a stay and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for recommending the hotel, and for your review on your stay. we will look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed for two nights Bed and Breakfast 27th &28th September in The Lodge. Booked on the day and was allocated a room on top floor which was very clean and comfortable.
The setting of the hotel is lovely and peaceful - an oasis away from the bustle of the village centre but only 5 minutes away.
Staff are very pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was exceptional with the best choice of fresh fruits we have ever seen in many visits to Bowness. The selection of cooked dishes was also very good.
Will return but book beforehand to allow more choice of rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
officebh, Manager at The Burn How Garden House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your last minute break with us.
Yes it is best to book beforehand as we have various types of rooms to choose from, which gives guests a range of choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews